Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • History of the Horsemen




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Tangut people
    - 7 th to 13 th century after Christ

Map sketch:
- Tanguts people
- Xi Xia and Song Dynasty
- Yugurs and Tanguts people
-
Liao and Song Dynasty

The origins of the Tanguts are to be found in the 7th century AD in today’s provinces of Gansu and Ningxia, at the Great Wall south to the Ordos Plateau (steppe and desert area in today’s Inner Mongolia). At this time, this area was dominated by the Tibetans who in 680 AD still ruled the region in permanent rivalry with the Tang Chinese. One century later, in 786 AD there was still existent a Tibetan invasion. Apart from the Tibetans, they were also surrounded and neighboured by Uighurs, Tuyuhuns, Shatuo and Chinese people. Their dynasty goes back to the people of Tuoba.
Tuoba Sigong († 895 AD) and the descendents of his brothers. After the Li dynasty under Li Renfu (ruled 909-33 AD) had started its separation from China, who in the year 909 AD even stopped a Shatuo invasion and hence, for reason of personal and national safety, surrendered himself to Liang China, his son Li Yichao (ruled 933-35 AD) was again victorious against a military invasion of the Shatuo, who later on established the Tang dynasty and ruled over northern China from 923-36 AD. Li Yiyin (ruled 935-67 AD) followed his brother; he survived a revolt initiated by his relatives in 943 AD. At this time, selling horses to a China threatened by revolts and rebellions constituted an important basis of affluence. With the rise of the Song dynasty (960-1279 AD) in China, the Tanguts were faced by a problem of succession. Li Guangrui`s son (ruled 967-78 AD) was still a child, and his uncle Li Jibeng ruled in his representation. Chinese interference was terminated by a distant cousin, the adventurer Li Jiqian (†1004 AD), who just in time fled the Song and later on pushed them back step by step with the help of diverse attacks led by allied clans. It was essential that the Song dynasty further backed trade restrictions (horses, metals, salt) which upset the clans and helped Li Jiqian to attract more and more followers.

In 982 AD the Tanguts founded the empire Xi Xia and the Western Xia, respectively, in the area of today’s Chinese provinces of Gansu and Ningxia, with the centre being Yinchuan. It was a multiracial state, uniting Tanguts, Uyghurs, Chinese and Tibetans. The state’s leading class was formed by the Tanguts, descendants of the Tuoba, and the Tuyuhun. In this multinational state, there were present different forms of living: farmers and horse breeders as well as caravan traders, nomads and semi-nomads. The Tangut language belongs to the group of the Qiang languages, to the Sino-Tibetan language family. Today the Qiang constitute a minority which mainly settles in Sichuan, but which has its roots in Quinghai.

In 994 AD Xiazhou fell to the Song, but in the year 1002 AD the Tanguts were able to recapture the city of Lingzhou (today’s Lingwu), which was situated further west in the autonomous area Ningxia; this event led to the Song finally accepting peace. Lingzhou became the new capital (Yinchuan). Li Jiqian is considered the founder of the dynasty, the Taizu (emperor). In the beginning, however, he was still a subordinate of the Liao, to which he surrendered in 986 AD (marriage alliance in 989 AD). In 1003 AD he attempted to conquer the city Liangzhou (today’s Wuwei) in the province of Gansu, which at that time was ruled by P’an-lo-chih († 1004 AD), the then leader of the Tibetan Liu-ku and Che-lung. The Tibetans allied with their partners, and so Li Jiqian lost battle and life in 1004 AD. He was followed by his son Li Deming (ruled 1004-32 AD). This ruler fought against the Uyghurs in Gansu, which he finally succeeded to conquer in 1028 AD after several crusades without any success. The Liangzhou Tibetans expelled his army in 1015 AD, which then occupied Liangzhou for only a short period of time. The Tangut economy started to flourish again, and in 1007 AD the Chinese re-established trading relations. In 1026 AD there was also made provision for private markets in the border provinces. The only thing still restricted in terms of trade was salt. The third leader was Li Yuanhao (ruled 1032-48 AD) who led the Tangut empire up to its climax. The diligent and ambitious Li Demings was able to recapture Liangzhou finally in the year 1032 AD. In 1035/36 AD his warring episodes against the Tibetans (Chin-tang and the Tsung-ko-Tibetans), however, was not crowned by success. In his youth, Li Yuanhao had studied Buddhist texts, which he realized in many reform plans and projects. One of his projects was the development of a script suitable for their language, the Xixia script., by the scholar Yeli Renrong about 1036 AD. The Tangut or Xi Xia script was modelled on the Chinese and Khitan scripts. He furthermore structured the rather decentralized army organization. And, finally, he attacked Song China, by demanding equal status in the diplomatic relations and establishing his own Xia dynasty in 1038 AD. The Tanguts were victorious in the war from 1039-44 AD in three bigger battles, but they gradually lost strength, as they in addition had to fight Liao. Finally they succumbed to Li Yuanhao in an agreement of the year 1044 AD, which was elaborated in co-operation with a representative of the Song, Fan Zhongyan; he accepted the title of chu, but received relatively high tributes in the form of silk, silver and tea. The Tangut empire Xi Xia had been independent from China due to the weak Song dynasty since the 11th century; it was, however, a satellite of Chinese culture. They dominated trade and smuggling along the Silk Road, with their main trading partner being China. In 1044 AD Song China even had to pay tributes (silk, silver, tea) to the Tanguts. Li Yuanhao was then murdered in the course of family disputes and discords (degradation of the empress of the Yeli family and unresolved succession). He did not have a real successor, and the state stagnated.

- map sketch: Silk Road - topographical map – Silk Road - travel routes

The rise of the Jin empire of the Jurchen
(predecessors of the Manchu) generated some problems and difficulties for the Tanguts, and they were cut off from the profitable trade with southern China. They did, however, still dominate an important part of the Silk Road and hence constituted a profitable object of interest for the Mongols. After occupation of the capital in 1209/10 AD without any success under the leadership of Li Anquan (ruled 1206-11 AD), they were granted a rather heavy tributary peace with loss of army leadership. The tributary payments apparently were too high, as there was a big lack of camels, which sustainably damaged trade and economy. In the year 1226/27 AD the Tanguts revolted under their long-lasting chancellor Asagambu against the war-tested Mongols. In the year 1226/27 AD, the state of Xi Xia was finally devastated by the Mongols. They were victorious in an open field battle at the ice-covered Yellow River and subsequently conquered all cities and murdered their inhabitants. The last Tangut ruler was then killed after the surrender of the capital.

September 2010 – Albi - translated by Hermelinde Steiner – Januar 2011
PageTop

Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • Geschichte der Reiternomaden




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Tanguten
    - 7. bis 13. Jahrhundert n. Chr.
- Landkarte: - Tanguts
- Xi Xia and Song Dynastie
- Yugurs and Tanguts
-
Liao and Song Dynastie

Die Anfänge der Tanguten lagen im 7. Jahrhundert n. Chr. in den heutigen Provinzen Gansu und Ningxia, an der Grossen Mauer südlich des Ordos-Plateau (Steppen- und Wüstenlandschaft in der heutigen Inneren Mongolei). Damals dominierten noch die Tibeter, die 680 n. Chr. in Konkurrenz mit den Tang-Chinesen die Region beherrschten. Hundert Jahre später, 786 n. Chr. verzeichnet man immer noch eine Invasion von Tibetern. Neben diesen hatten die Tanguten auch Uiguren, Tuyuhun, Schatuo und natürlich Chinesen als Nachbarn. Das Herrscherhaus leitete sich von den Tabgatsch ab.
Tuoba Sigong († 895 n. Chr.) und die Nachkommen seiner Brüder. Nachdem mit der Li Herrscherfamilie eine Löslösung von China mit Li Renfu (reg. 909-33 n. Chr.) begann, der 909 n. Chr. auch eine Invasion der Schatuo aufhielt und sich sicherheitshalber dem Liang-China unterwarf, behauptete sich sein Sohn Li Yichao (reg. 933-35 n. Chr.) gegen eine erneute militärische Einmischung der Schatuo, deren spätere gegründete Tang-Dynastie 923-36 n. Chr. ganz Nordchina beherrschte. Li Yiyin (reg. 935-67 n. Chr.) folgte auf seinen Bruder, der 943 n. Chr. eine Rebellion seiner Verwandten überstand. Zu dieser Zeit bildete der Pferdeverkauf ins umsturzgeplagte China eine wesentliche Wohlstandsgrundlage. Mit dem Aufstieg der Song-Dynastie (960-1279 n. Chr.) in China begann ein Nachfolgeproblem bei den Tanguten. Der Sohn von Li Guangrui (reg. 967-78 n. Chr.) war minderjährig, und sein Onkel Li Jibeng regierte für ihn. Gegen die chinesische Einmischung erhob sich ein entfernter Cousin, der Abenteurer Li Jiqian (†1004 n. Chr.), der rechtzeitig vor den Song floh und sie mittels diverser Attacken mit Hilfe verbündeter Clans schliesslich Stück um Stück zurückdrängte. Wesentlich war, dass die Song-Dynastie auf Handelsbeschränkungen (Pferde, Metall, Salz) setzte, was die Clans erbitterte und Li Jiqian Zulauf verschaffte.

Die Tanguten gründeten um 982 n. Chr. das Reich Xi Xia bzw. das Westliche Xia im Raum der heutigen chinesischen Provinzen Gansu und Ningxia mit Zentrum Yinchuan. Es war ein Vielvölkerstaat, bewohnt von Tanguten, Uiguren, Chinesen und Tibetern. Die Führungsspitze des Staates bildeten die Tanguten, Nachkommen der Tabgatsch und der Tuyuhun. Es gab in ihrem Staat entsprechend verschiedene Lebensformen: sowohl Ackerbauern, Pferdezüchter als auch Karawanenhändler, Nomaden und Halbnomaden. Die tangutische Sprache gehörte zur Gruppe der Qiang-Sprachen, zum Sinotibetischen. Die Qiang sind heute eine Minderheit, die vor allem in Sichuan leben, ursprünglich aber aus Quinghai stammen.

994 n. Chr. verloren sie zwar Xiazhou an die Song, konnten aber 1002 n. Chr. die westlicher gelegene Stadt Lingzhou (heute Lingwu) im Autonomen Gebiet Ningxia zurückerobern, was die Song schliesslich zum Frieden zwang. Lingzhou wurde neue Hauptstadt (Yinchuan). Li Jiqian gilt als Dynastiegründer, als Taizu (Kaiser). Er war aber zunächst noch den Liao untergeordnet, denen er sich 986 n. Chr. unterwarf (Heiratsallianz 989 n. Chr.). 1003 n. Chr. versuchte er, die Stadt Liangzhou (heute Wuwei) in der Provinz Gansu einzunehmen, die von P’an-lo-chih († 1004 n. Chr.), dem damaligen Führer der tibetischen Liu-ku und Che-lung, kontrolliert wurde. Die Tibeter traten für ihre Verbündeten ein und brachten Li Jiqian 1004 n. Chr. um Sieg und Leben. Ihm folgte sein Sohn Li Deming (reg. 1004-32 n. Chr.). Dieser Herrscher ging gegen die Uiguren in Gansu vor, das er nach mehreren erfolglosen Feldzügen 1028 n. Chr. erobern konnte. Die Liangzhou-Tibeter vertrieben 1015 n. Chr. seine Armee, welche Liangzhou deshalb nur kurzzeitig besetzt hielten. Die Wirtschaft der Tanguten belebte sich weiterhin, 1007 n. Chr. liessen die Chinesen wieder Handel zu, 1026 n. Chr. wurden auch private Märkte in den Grenzprovinzen erlaubt. Nur beim Salzhandel hatte man wenig Chancen. Der dritte Herrscher war Li Yuanhao (reg. 1032-48 n. Chr.), welcher das Tangutenreich zum Machthöhepunkt führte Der ehrgeizige Li Demings konnte im Winter 1032 n. Chr. schliesslich Liangzhou erobern. Danach ging er 1035/36 n. Chr. erfolglos gegen die Tibeter (Chin-tang bzw. die Tsung-ko-Tibeter) vor. In seiner Jugend studierte Li Yuanhao buddhistische Texte, was sich nun in vielen Reformvorhaben niederschlug. Eine davon war die Entwicklung einer für ihre Sprache geeigneten Schrift, der Xixia-Schrift, durch den Gelehrten Yeli Renrong um 1036 n. Chr. Das Alphabet der Tanguten oder Xi Xia genannt entwickelte sich aus der Schrift der Chinesen und der Khitan. Im Weiteren disziplinierte er die recht dezentral organisierten Armee. Schliesslich legte er sich mit dem Song China an, indem er im diplomatischen Verkehr eine Gleichstellung mit dem Liao-Kaiser forderte und 1038 n. Chr. seine eigene Xia-Dynastie ausrief. Die Tanguten siegten im Krieg 1039-44 n. Chr. in drei grösseren Schlachten, erschöpften aber ihre Kräfte, zumal auch die Liao gegen sie standen. Schliesslich gab sich Li Yuanhao in dem 1044 n. Chr. mit dem Vertreter der Song, Fan Zhongyan, ausgehandelten Vertrag mit dem Titel chu zufrieden, erhielt aber relativ hohe Tributzahlungen an Seide, Silber und Tee. Das Tangutenreich Xi Xia war aufgrund der Schwäche der Song-Dynastie seit dem 11. Jahrhundert n. Chr. von China unabhängig, aber ein Satellit der chinesischen Kultur. Sie beherrschten den Handel und Schmuggel entlang der Seidenstrasse, ihr Haupthandelspartner war aber China. 1044 n.Chr. musste das Song-China sogar Tributzahlungen (Seide, Silber, Tee) an die Tanguten leisten. Li Yuanhao wurde im Zusammenhang mit Familienstreitigkeiten (Degradierung der ersten Kaiserin aus der Yeli-Sippe und ungeklärte Nachfolgefrage) ermordet. Er hatte keinen gleichwertigen Nachfolger, und der Staat stagnierte.

Der Aufstieg des Jin-Reiches der Jurchen (Vorfahren der Mandschu) brachte die Tanguten in Schwierigkeiten und schnitt sie vom einträglichen Handel mit Südchina ab. Gleichwohl kontrollierten sie noch einen bedeutenden Abschnitt der Seidenstrasse und stellten damit ein lohnendes Ziel für die Mongolen dar. Nach einer erfolglosen Belagerung der Hauptstadt 1209/10 n. Chr. unter Li Anquan (reg. 1206-11 n. Chr.) wurde ihnen ein schwerer Tributfrieden mit Heeresfolge auferlegt. Die Tribute waren offenbar zu hoch, denn es gab einen grossen Mangel an Kamelen, was Handel und Wirtschaft nachhaltig schädigte. Im Jahr 1226/27 n. Chr. rebellierten die Tanguten unter ihrem langjährigen Kanzler Asagambu gegen die kriegserprobten Mongolen. Im Jahr 1226/27 n. Chr. wurde der Staat Xi Xia von den Mongolen endgültig besiegt. Sie blieben in einer offenen Feldschlacht auf dem vereisten Gelben Fluss siegreich und eroberten anschliessend sämtliche Städte und massakrierten deren Einwohner. Der letzte Tangutenherrscher wurde nach der Kapitulation der Hauptstadt hingerichtet.

September 2010 – Albi - Revidiert von Hermelinde Steiner – Januar 2011
PageTop