Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • History of the Horsemen




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Manchu
    - 17th to 20th century after Christ
    Jurchen - 12th century after Christ
    Tungus
    Evenks, Evens
map sketch:

The Manchu originated from the Jurchens who had conquered the northeast of China in the 12th century after Christ. The name "Manchu" was officially introduced in 1635 AC by Huang-Taiji, a member of the Jianzhou-Jurchens. Nurhaci's son, Huang Taiji decided to keep the name "Manchu". Before the 17th century, their ancestors had still been a rather rural people living on hunting, fishing and – in part - cultivating land.

- Manchu alphabet

In the year 1616 AC, the Manchu leader, Nurhaci established the Late Jin Dynasty and the state Amaga Aisin Gurun or shortly Manju Gurun ("State of the Manchu"), in this way unifying the Manchu tribes. He also established the Manchu system of the Eight Banners, a military system. After Nurhaci's death, his son Hong Taiji (Taijchi = prince) changed the name to Qing Dynasty.
When Beijing was captured by Li Zicheng in 1644 AC, the Qing Empire invaded the area where the Han-Chinese were settling and made Beijing, following the city of Mukden (at the time of the litigant empires, this was a Chinese city), the new capital. For power-political reasons the first Manchurian emperors married princesses of Mongolian Grand Khans in order to show their legitimate heritage of the Mongolian Yuan Dynasty (Kubilai Khan 1279 until 1368).
In the Qing Dynasty, the most important posts of the empire were given to an Han-Chinese and a Manchurian member. In this era the Manchu tried to maintain their culture and language. In the long run, these attempts were not really fruitful as the Manchurian population more and more absorbed the Han-Chinese traditions, and, step by step, they even assumed their language. Already as early as in the 18th century AC, the Manchurian language was only seldomly spoken – even at the imperial court. The Manchurian script, however, was still used as literary language for official documents, in addition to the Chinese language, until the end of the dynasty. On the other side, however, also the Manchurian traditions and habits did influence the Han-Chinese culture in a remarkable way. A big part of the Chinese population, the so-called Han, has been Manchurianised since the 17th century in an opposing process. Many things that today are considered typical of the northern Chinese culture are indeed of Manchurian origin and hence the result of an inverted assimilation.
Although there has taken place primarily an assimilation of the Manchu into the Han culture, and although they have always seen themselves as "Chinese" (in the sense of members of the Chinese Empire), they were depicted by Chinese nationalists as "foreign" colonial power at the end of the Qing Dynasty. These picture, however, quickly ceased to exist as the new republican China after the revolution of 1911 AC integrated the Manchu into a new republican "national identity". The last Chinese emperor was also a member of the Qing Dynasty.
In 1931 the Japanese empire created a puppet state called Manchukuo in the northeast of China. Historians believe that this state had only been created in order to not only weaken China but also to decrease the enormous influence Russia had been excerting in this region since 1890. After the Second World War the territory was incorporated back into the Republic of China.
  • The Jurchen People (also Jurchens) are the ancestors of the Manchu (the name was adopted only in the 17th century after Chirst). Their language was also an old form of the Manchurian language. The script of the Jurchens was developed on the basis of the Khitan script. The Jurchens formed up in the 11th century (first note made in 1069 AC), in 1115-1125 AC they overthrew the Liao Dynasty of the Khitans also originating in Manchuria who ruled at that time in the north of China, and they finally established the Jin Dynasty.

    -
    Liao-Dynasty
    - Liao Dynasty - Western Xia

    - Liao Dynasty - Uyghurs & Karluks

  • Tungusic People: The term Manchurian-Tungusic peoples is a summarising denomination for all peoples with ancestors being, among others, of Manchurian-Tungusic origin. Also in Mongolia there lived groups such as the Tsaatan who may be traced back to the Manchurian-Tungusic speaking reindeer nomads. These "peoples" who were rather important in Eurasian and Chinese history, in general, were polyethnical and polyglott. The Jurchens were a confederation dominated by Manchurian-Tungusic influence prevailing the period from 1114 to 1232 AC in northern China. Their language was the literary and official language. Tungusic "equestrian peoples", in part also called Tatars (see map sketch: Yuan Dynasty) - but not identical with the Russian Tatars and the Mongolian tribe of the same name, remained a political factor in Manchuria throughout the entire Middle Ages.
    With the beginning of modern times, the Manchu experience a political rise up to the year 1911 AC in China, also presenting the Chinese emperor (Qing Dynasty).
  • Evenks – Evens, old denomination: Tungusic people; this is an indigenous people including numerous regional groups and clans. Evenk groups lived scatteredly across an area even larger than Europe. Apart from Evenks living in the majority of Siberian regions, there may be found representatives in Mongolia and in the People's Republic of China (Reindeer Evenks, Solons, Orquen people).
    Parts of the Evenks lived on reindeer breeding, hunting and fishing. In the 20th century the Evenks settled in Russia. Some of them were able to continue their traditions and customs on sovkhozes (state farms), and some groups such as the Horse Evenks and the Chinese Solons have lived on nomadic cattle breeding until now. Their traditional religion is greatly dominated by shamanism.

February - Juli 2009 – Albi - translated by Hermelinde Steiner - November 2009
PageTop

Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • Geschichte der Reiternomaden




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Mandschu
    17. bis 20. Jahrhundert n. Chr.
    Jurchen (auch Dschurdschen) - 12. Jahrhundert n. Chr.
    Tungusen
    Ewenken, Ewenen
Landkarten::


Die Mandschu stammen von den Jurchen ab, die im 12. Jahrhundert n. Chr. Nordostchina eroberten. Der Name „Mandschu“ wurde 1635 n. Chr. offiziell von Huang-Taiji, der den Jianzhou-Jurchen angehörte, eingeführt. Nurhacis Sohn Huang Taiji entschied sich, den Namen „Mandschu“ weiter zu verwenden. Vor dem 17. Jahrhundert n. Chr. waren ihre Vorfahren noch ein ländliches Volk, das sich durch Jagen, Fischerei und teilweise Landwirtschaft ernährte.

- Manchu alphabet

Im Jahre 1616 n. Chr. errichtete der Mandschu-Anführer Nurhaci die Späte Jin-Dynastie und den Staat Amaga Aisin Gurun oder kurz Manju Gurun („Staat der Mandschu“) und vereinigte dadurch die Mandschu-Stämme. Auf diese Zeit geht auch die Schaffung des Militärsystems der Acht Banner zurück. Nach dem Tod Nurhacis änderte sein Sohn Hong Taiji (Taijchi = Prinz) den Namen der Dynastie in Qing Dynastie.
Als Li Zicheng 1644 n. Chr. Beijing eroberte, griff das Qing-Reich das Siedlungsgebiet der Han-Chinesen an und machte Beijing nach Mukden (war zur Zeit der streitenden Reiche eine chinesische Stadt) zur neuen Hauptstadt. Aus machtpolitischen Gründen heirateten die ersten Mandschu-Kaiser Prinzessinen von mongolischen Grosskhanen, um ihr rechtmässiges Erbe der mongolischen Yuan-Dynastie (Kubilai Khan 1279 bis 1368) darstellen zu können.
In der Qing-Dynastie wurden alle wichtigen Ämter des Reiches mit jeweils einem han chinesischen und einem mandschurischen Mitglied besetzt. Während der Regierungszeit versuchten die Mandschu, ihre Kultur und Sprache zu erhalten. Diese Versuche waren langfristig nicht erfolgreich, weil sich die Mandschu immer mehr den Bräuchen der Han-Chinesen anpassten und auch deren Sprache nach und nach übernahmen. Bereits im 18. Jahrhundert n. Chr. wurde selbst am Kaiserhof nur noch selten Mandschurisch gesprochen. Die mandschurische Schrift wurde aber bis zum Zerfall der Dynastie neben dem Chinesischen auch weiterhin als Schriftsprache für offizielle Dokumente verwendet. Auf der anderen Seite hat auch das Mandschurische die han-chinesische Kultur in grossem Ausmass beeinflusst. Grosse Gruppen von Chinesen, die sogenannten Han, wurden in einem gegenläufigen Prozess seit dem 17. Jahrhundert n. Chr. mandschurisiert. Viele Dinge, die heute als typisch für die nordchinesische Kultur angesehen werden, sind in Wirklichkeit mandschurischen Ursprungs und damit Ergebnis einer umgekehrten Assimilierung.
Obwohl sich – in der Hauptsache – die Mandschu an die Han-Kultur assimilierten und sich selbst immer als „Chinesen“ (im Sinne von Angehörigen des Reiches der Mitte) begriffen, wurden sie gegen Ende der Qing-Dynastie von chinesischen Nationalisten als „ausländische“ Kolonialmacht dargestellt. Diese Darstellung verschwand aber schnell, weil das neue republikanische China nach der Revolution von 1911 n. Chr. die Mandschu in eine neue, republikanische „nationale Identität“ hineinkonstruierte. Sie stellten auch den letzten Kaiser der Qing-Dynastie.
1931 n. Chr. errichteten die Japaner im Nordosten Chinas einen als Mandschukuo bezeichneten Marionettenstaat. Vermutlich wurde dieser Staat nur deswegen errichtet, um damit nicht nur China sondern auch den seit 1890 starken Einfluss Russlands in der Region weiter zu schwächen. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde das Territorium ein Teil Chinas.
  • Die Jurchen (auch Dschurdschen oder Dschürdschen) waren die Vorfahren der Mandschu (der Name wurde erst im 17. Jahrhundert n. Chr. angenommen). Ihre Sprache war ebenfalls eine alte Form der Mandschu-Sprache. Eine Schrift der Jurchen wurde aus jener der Khitan entwickelt. Die Jurchen formierten sich im 11. Jahrhundert (erstmals 1069 n. Chr. erwähnt), stürzten 1115-1125 n. Chr. die damals in Nordchina regierende Liao-Dynastie der gleichfalls aus der Mandschurei stammenden Khitan und gründeten stattdessen die Jin-Dynastie.

    -
    Liao-Dynasty
    - Liao Dynasty - Western Xia

    - Liao Dynasty - Uigurs & Karluks

  • Tungusen: Der Begriff mandschu-tungusische Völker ist eine zusammenfassende Bezeichnung für Völker, deren Vorfahren u.a. mandschu-tungusischen Ursprungs waren. Auch in der Mongolei leben Gruppen wie z.B. die Tsaatan, die auf mandschu-tungusisch-sprachige Rentier-Nomaden zurückführen. Die in der eurasischen und chinesischen Geschichte bedeutenden "Völker" waren in der Regel polyethnisch und mehrsprachig. Eine mandschu-tungusisch geprägte Konföderation waren die Dschurdschen (Jurchen). Sie beeinflussten massgeblich die Periode von 1114 - 1234 n. Chr. in Nordchina. Ihre Sprache war Schrift- und Amtssprache. Tungusische "Reitervölker", teilweise auch Tataren (siehe Landkarte Yuan Dynastie) genannt und nicht mit den Tataren Russlands und dem gleichnamigen mongolischen Stamm identisch, blieben das ganze Mittelalter hindurch ein politischer Faktor in der Mandschurei.
    In der frühen Neuzeit erfolgte der Aufstieg der Mandschuren (Manju), die bis 1911 n. Chr. in China politisch einflussreich waren und den Kaiser stellten (Qing Dynastie).
  • Ewenken – Ewenen, alte Bezeichnung: Tungusen; dabei handelt es sich um ein aus zahlreichen regionalen Gruppen und Klans bestehendes indigenes Volk. Ewenkische Gruppen leben über ein Gebiet verstreut, das grösser als Europa ist. Ausser in der Mehrheit der Regionen Sibiriens gibt es Ewenken in der Mongolei und in der Volksrepublik China (Rentier-Ewenken, Solonen, Oroqen).
    Teile der Ewenken betrieben nomadische Rentierzucht, Jagd und Fischzucht. Im 20. Jahrhundert wurden die Ewenken in Russland sesshaft gemacht. Ein Teil konnte auf Staatsgütern (Sowchosen) traditionelle Beschäftigungen weiterführen. Andere Gruppen wie die Pferde-Ewenken und die Solonen Chinas betreiben bis heute überwiegend nomadische Viehzucht. Ihre traditionelle Religion ist stark vom Schamanismus geprägt.

Februar - Juli 2009 – Albi - Revidiert von Hermelinde Steiner - November 2009
PageTop