Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • History of the Horsemen




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Proto-Bulgars – Volga-Bulgarsia – Volga Bulgaria – Volga-Kama Bolghar
    - 4 th to 7 th century after Christ (Old Great Bulgaria)
    - 7th to 13th century after Christ (Volga-Bulgarian Empire)
- map sketch:
The denomination Proto-Bulgarians, Bulgars or also Hunno-Bulgars refers to a Turkic people settling at the middle course of the Volga and the Kam River. Parts of this riding people adopted Slav culture and traditions and constitute the ancestors of the today’s Bulgarians. They had their own runic script, their own calendar and their own religion, with the supreme god being the god of heaven, Tangra. They preferred to sacrifice white horses to the god of heaven. The intestines of these animals were used for soothsaying. It was an animistic religion, influenced by Shamanism  and ancestry cult. Apart from the mountains, this people also worshipped the sun and the moon and the five planets they knew at this time: Jupiter, Venus, Mercury, Mars and Saturn. Their language is called the Bolgarian language. In chronicles there may be found descriptions of compact settlements developing in the 3rd century AD.

The Proto-Bulgarians are several Turk speaking nomadic tribes from the Central-Asian area. They had united with the Black Huns in the 4th to 5th century AD. After Attila’s death and the collapse of the Hun Empire, the Proto-Bulgarians united with other Hun tribes and settled in the Pontic steppe (steppe between Volga and Dnipro) where they had fled to earlier. They were followed by Finno-Ugric tribes. And also other Turk tribes joined them; Kutrigurs, Utrigurs and Oghurs; these settled originally south of Lake Baikal, near to the Altai and Sajan mountains. In 463 AD they had been displaced from their home country by the Sabir people with whom they shared relations in their languages; the Sabir people were also a Turkic people. This new tribal alliance was established, also including the Onogurs – “Ten Tribes” (from the Volga region) as well as Alans; they were led by Imik (Attila’s son).  

In about 567 AD, the Proto-Bulgarians were defeated by the Avars. Some of them joined the Avars and accompanied them on their way westwards. The majority of the Proto-Bulgarians, Huns and other riding nomads, however, stayed on in the South Russian steppes. In 635 AD the Proto-Bulgarian Onogurs rebelled successfully under Khan Kubrat against the Avar leadership. Kubrat united the people into his Great Bulgarian Empire, establishing an alliance with Byzantium. The Great Bulgarian Empire at the northern coast of the Black Sea stretched from the Maeotis (the Sea of Azov) as far as Kuban. Phanagona was the capital at the Sea of Azov, today’s Taman. The realm was ruled by a Khan. Great Bulgaria, however, was destroyed already in the second half of the 7th century by the also invading Turkic Khazars.

Kubrat’s oldest son Batbajan (leader of the Black Bulgars) had accepted the leadership of the Khazars in 640 AD and remained in his old home country. His four brothers, however, seceded with great parts of the tribe. Those migrating north under the leadership of Kontrag founded the empire of the Volga Bulgars (White Bulgars). Although already Khan Shilki (who ruled from 855-882 AD, father of Almush) had tried to get rid of this suppressing powers, the Volga Bulgars gained their independence only with the destruction of the Khazar empire by the Kiev Rus and the Pechenegs about 966 (Pechenegs = a Turkic people, probably of Oghuz origin, were later on in the middle of the 11th century followed by the Kipchak people, also called “Cumans”). They converted to the Islam under Khan Alamush (reigned from 895-925 AD) about 922 AD and developed into a trading power between the Kiev Rus and the Islamic countries in the south. This people, however, was not expansive in a military sort of way, they focused on farming, trading and claiming their tributes from the neighbouring Finno-Ugric tribes. The realm existed until the beginning of the 13th century, when it was defeated by the Golden Hord (Khan Batu) of the Mongols. The new people of the Chuvash, Tatars, Mordvins and Bashkirs considered themselves as successors of the Proto-Bulgarian Onogurs. Others merged with the Kasan Tatars, who called themselves Bolgars = Bulgars until the late 19th century.

Those migrating south crossed the river Danube and established an alliance with the local Slav population of the Sewers and the Seven Tribes, and in 678 AD they established the Danube Bulgarian Empire. Asparuch, for this reason, is considered the founder of today’s Bulgaria on the Balkan. Until the collapse of Hungary in 895 AD, the Bulgarian Empire comprised the entire (non-Byzantine) Balkan and stretched as far north as Budapest, following the siege over the Avars.

Kubrat’s youngest sons, Kuver and Alzek, also moved westwards with their smaller tribal unions and joined the Avars in Pannonia (Hungary). In the aftermath of an unsuccessful revolt against their leaders, they separated again. In 680 AD Kuver, accompanied by parts of the Sermesianoi, descendants of the Roman provincial population in Pannonia and Roman captives who had been kidnapped and settled in Pannonia in 626 AD by the Avars, moved south. He established his settlements in the so far unsettled areas around Bitola in Macedonia, which was under Thesalonika administration; there, Kuver established a Khanate. Under Khan Malamir and Khan Presian I, the Kuver Bulgars united with the Bulgarian Empire of Asparuch.

Alzek moved further west, crossed the Alps in 667 AD and invaded the area around Ravenna in northern Italy. The Roman hospitality, however, was only faked, as the Bolghars had to fight for their lives in the course of several ambushes in the same year. For this reason, they moved further south until they finally established the duchy of Benevent. Khan Alzek was received by the Lombard king Grimoald and given the region Molise, under the premise that Alzek disclaim his title “dux” and his claim to power, as he himself, Grimoald, was the dux of Benevent.

In Bulgaria and Macedonia the Proto-Bulgarians merged with the Antes people (a people originally settling north of the Black Sea between Dnepr and Don and migrating to the Balkan peninsula in the 6th century AD) and further Slav tribes as well as with the population of the Roman province, hence establishing the people of today’s Bulgaria.

September 2010 – Albi – translated by Hermelinde Steiner - December 2010
PageTop

Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • Geschichte der Reiternomaden




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Protobulgaren – Wolgabulgaren – Volga Bulgaria – Volga-Kama Bolghar
    - 4. Jahrhundert n. Chr. bis 7. Jahrhundert n. Chr. (Grossbulgarisches Reich)
    - 7. Jahrhundert bis 13. Jahrhundert (Wolgabulgarisches Reich)
- Landkarte:
Mit Protobulgaren, Ur-Bulgaren oder auch Hunno-Bulgaren bezeichnet man ein Turkvolk, das am Mittellauf der Wolga und dem Kam-Fluss siedelte. Teile dieses Reitervolks wurden slawisiert und zählen zu den Vorfahren der heutigen Bulgaren. Sie hatten eine eigene Runenschrift, einen eigenen Kalender und eine eigene Religion, deren oberste Gottheit der Himmelsgott Tangra war. Als Opfergabe an den Himmelsgott wurden weisse Pferde bevorzugt. Mit den Eingeweiden der geopferten Tiere wurden dann Wahrsagungen erstellt. Dabei handelt es sich um eine animistische Religion, die durch Schamanismus und Ahnenkult geprägt war. Neben den Bergen wurden auch die Sonne, der Mond und die ihnen damals bekannten fünf Planeten Jupiter, Venus, Merkur, Mars und Saturn verehrt. Ihre Sprache wird als Bolgarische Sprache bezeichnet. Chroniken berichten über kompakte Siedlungen, die im 3. Jahrhundert n.Chr. entstanden.

Bei den Protobulgaren handelte es sich um mehrere turksprachige Nomadenstämme aus dem zentralasiatischen Raum. Sie hatten sich im 4. bis 5. Jahrhundert n. Chr. mit den Schwarzen Hunnen zusammengeschlossen. Nach dem Tod Attilas und dem Zerfall des Hunnenreiches liessen sich die Protobulgaren, mit weiteren Hunnen, in der pontischen Steppe (Steppe zwischen Wolga und Dnipro) nieder, wohin sie geflohen waren. Dazu kamen finno-ugrische Stämme. Ihnen schlossen sich weitere Turkstämme an, so wie die Kutriguren, Utriguren, Saguren und Oguren; diese siedelten ursprünglich südlich des Baikalsees, jenseits des Altai- und Sajangebirges. Sie waren um 463 n. Chr. von den sprachverwandten Sabiren, auch ein Turkvolk, aus ihrer Heimat nach Westen verdrängt worden. Die neue „Liga“ wurde gegründet, der auch die Onoguren - „Zehn Stämme“ (Altungaren aus der Wolgaregion) - angehörten, wie auch alanische Elemente; sie standen unter der Führung von Imik (Sohn von Attila).

Um 567 n.Chr. wurden die Protobulgaren von den Awaren besiegt. Einige schlossen sich den Awaren an und zogen mit diesen weiter westwärts. Grosse Teile der Protobulgaren, Hunnen und andere Reiternomaden verblieben aber in den südrussischen Steppen. 635 n.Chr. erhoben sich die Protobulgaren-Onoguren unter Khan Kubrat mit Erfolg gegen die Herrschaft der Awaren. Kubrat vereinte die Völker zum Grossbulgarischen Reich. Mit Byzanz verbündete er sich. Das Grossbulgarische Reich an der Nordküste des Schwarzen Meeres reichte von der Maeotis (Asowsches Meer) bis nach Kuban. Hauptstadt war Phanagona am Asowschen Meer, dem heutigen Taman. An der Spitze des Reiches stand der Khan. Das Grossbulgarische Reich wurde jedoch schon in der zweiten Hälfte des 7. Jahrhunderts n. Chr. von den ebenfalls anrückenden turkstämmigen Chasaren vernichtet.

Kubrats ältester Sohn Batbajan (Führer der Schwarzen Bulgaren) hatte sich 640 n.Chr. den Chasaren unterworfen und blieb in der alten Heimat. Seine vier Brüder aber spalteten sich mit bedeutenden Stammensteilen ab. Die nordwärts Ziehenden unter Führung von Kontrag gründeten das Reich der Wolgabulgaren (Weisse Bulgaren). Obgleich sich schon der Khan Shilki (Regierungszeit 855-882 n Chr., Vater von Almusch) von dieser Vormundschaft zu befreien suchte, wurden die Wolgabulgaren wahrscheinlich erst mit der Zerstörung des Chasarenreiches durch die Kiewer Rus und den Petschenegen um 966 unabhängig (Petschenegen = ein Turkvolk, wahrscheinlich oghusischer Herkunft, wurden später Mitte des 11. Jahrhundert n. Chr. von den Kiptschaken, „auch Kumanen genannt“, abgelöst). Sie nahmen unter Khan Alamusch (Regierungszeit 895-925 n Chr.) um 922 n.Chr. den Islam an und entwickelten sich zu einer Handelsmacht zwischen der Kiewer Rus und den islamischen Ländern im Süden. Dieses Volk war aber militärisch nicht expansiv, man beschränkte sich auf Ackerbau, Handel und die Tribute von benachbarten finno-ugrischen Stämmen. Das Reich existierte bis Anfang des 13. Jahrhunderts, als es von der Goldenen Horde (Khan Batu) der Mongolen besiegt wurde. Das neue Volk der Tschuwaschen, Tataren, Mordwinen und Baschkiren sieht sich als Nachfolger der Protobulgaren-Onoguren. Ein anderer Teil verschmolz mit den Kasan-Tataren, die sich noch bis ins späte 19. Jahrhundert als Bolgaren = Bulgaren bezeichneten.

Die südwärts ziehenden Teile unter Asparuch überquerten die Donau und verbündeten sich mit der lokalen slawischen Bevölkerung der Seweren und den Sieben Stämmen und errichteten 678 n.Chr. das Donaubulgarische Reich. Asparuch gilt daher als Gründer des heutigen Bulgarien auf dem Balkan. Bis zum Einbruch von Ungarn 895 n. Chr. umfasste das Bulgarenreich den gesamten (nicht-byzantinischen) Balkan und reichte im Norden nach dem Sieg über die Awaren bis nach Budapest.

Die beiden jüngsten Söhne Kubrats, Kuver und Alzek, zogen mit ihren kleineren Stammesverbänden ebenfalls Richtung Westen und schlossen sich in Pannonien (Ungarn) den Awaren an. Nach einer misslungenen Revolte gegen die Stammesführung trennten sich ihre Wege wieder. 680 n. Chr. zog Kuver Richtung Süden, zusammen mit Teilen der Sermesianoi, Nachfahren der römischen Provinzialbevölkerung in Pannonien und den von den Awaren 626 n.Chr. verschleppten und in Pannonien angesiedleten römischen Gefangenen. Er liess sich im unbesiedelten Gebiet um Bitola in Makedonien nieder, das zur byzantinischen Verwaltung Thesalonika gehörte, wo Kuver ein Khaganat errichtete. Unter Khan Malamir und Khan Presian I. vereinigten sich die Kuverbulgaren mit dem Bulgarenreich von Asparuch.

Alzek zog weiter westlich, überquerte 667 n.Chr. die Alpen und zog nach Norditalien in die Gegend um Ravenna ein. Die Gastfreundschaft der Römer war nur eine Tarnung. Im selben Jahr mussten die Bulgaren bei mehreren Hinterhalten um ihr Überleben kämpfen. Daher zogen sie immer weiter südwärts, bis sie schliesslich das Herzogtum Benevent errichteten. Khan Alzek wurde vom Langobardenkönig Grimoald empfangen, und es wurde ihm die Region Molise zugesprochen, aber nur unter der Voraussetzung, dass er auf seinen Titel „dux“ und den Herrschaftsanspruch verzichtet, da Grimoald selbst dux von Benevent war.

In Bulgarien und Mazedonien verschmolzen die Protobulgaren vor allem mit den Anten (ein Volksstamm, der ursprünglich nördlich des Schwarzen Meeres zwischen Dnepr und Don siedelte und im 6. Jahrhundert n. Chr. auf die Balkanhalbinsel übersiedelte) und weiteren slawischen Stämmen sowie mit der römischen Provinzialbevölkerung zum heutigen Volk der Bulgaren.

September 2010 – Albi - Revidiert von Hermelinde Steiner - Dezember 2010
PageTop