Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • History of the Horsemen




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Scythians – Scyths (Sakas – Sauromatians – Massagetae)
    - 8th to 3rd century before Christ
- map sketch: Scythians
This term denominates the horse-riding nomadic tribes settling in the 1st millennium BC in the steppe areas between the Yenisei River in Siberia and the Pannonia steppes in Hungary. Some of these groups settled down and cultivated their lands. Their language is part of the East- Iranian language family associated with the Indo-Europeans. Their martial arts skills with bows (riding bowmen) caused a lot of confusion in the fights and wars taking place at this time. They cultivated their own art style (animal style) and a death cult which found its expression in the monumental burial mounds (so-called kurgans). These Scythian tribes, who did not have a script, included also the Saka, the Sarmatians and the Massagetae as well as representatives of anonymous cultures, such as the Pasyryk culture (Altai – 4th/3rd century BC), Aldy-Bel culture in the Arzhan Valley (Tuva) or the Tagar and Tes culture in the Minusinks Basin (1st millennium until 3rd century BC near Salbyk, in the north of Abakan). It also included the Koban culture (12th to 4th century BC) in the northern Caucasus (today’s Ossetia).

Today the denomination Scythian only covers people who have immigrated to southern Russia from the 7th century BC on. They called themselves Skolotoi (=the Royal ones); the term Scyths (archer) was developed by the Greek (who gave this name to all barbarian tribes settling in the north of the Black Sea). The Persians called them Saka (Saka=barbarian steppe people). In the Byzantine chronicles, the Sarmatians, Goth and Alans were frequently called Scyths.

In the 8th century BC they invaded the areas in the north and east of the Black Sea and expelled the Cimmerians. From the 4th century BC on, they themselves were being displaced by the Sarmatians. The last and strongly Sarmatianized Scyths, however, were finally defeated and destroyed by the Goth in the second half of the 3rd century AD. In the meantime, Turkic tribes had also invaded their areas of settlement, especially in the East (Eurasia).

- more information: please see Sarmatians and Parthians

September 2010 – Albi – translated by Hermelinde Steiner - December 2010
PageTop

Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • Geschichte der Reiternomaden




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Skythen (Saken – Sauromaten – Massageten)
    - 8. bis 3. Jahrhundert v. Chr.

- Landkarte: Skythen

Mit diesem Begriff wurden Reiternomadenstämme bezeichnet, die im 1. Jahrtausend v. Chr. im Steppengürtel zwischen dem Jenissei in Sibirien und den pannonischen Steppen in Ungarn siedelten. Darunter waren Gruppen sesshaft und betrieben Ackerbau. Ihre Sprache gehört zur ostiranischen Gruppe und wird den Indoeuropäern zugeordnet. Ihre Kampftechnik mit Bogen (berittene Bogenschützen) brachte Verwirrung in die damalige Kriegsführung. Sie pflegten einen eigenen Kunststil (Tierstil) und einen Totenkult, der sich in den monumentalen Grabhügeln (sogenannten Kurganen) ausdrückte. Zu den schriftlosen skythischen Volksstämmen gehörten auch die Saken, Sauromaten und Massageten sowie Vertreter namenloser Kulturen, so z.B. die Pasyryk-Kultur (Altai – 4./3. Jahrhundert v. Chr.), Aldy-Bel-Kultur im Arschan Tal (Tuwa) oder die Tagar- und Tes-Kultur im Minussinsker Becken (1. Jahrtausend bis 3. Jahrhundert v. Chr. bei Salbyk nördlich von Abakan); ebenso die Koban Kultur (12. bis 4. Jahrhundert v. Chr.) des nördlichen Kaukasus (heutiges Ossetien).

Als Skythen im engeren Sinn werden heute Völker bezeichnet, welche ab dem 7. Jahrhundert v. Chr. in Südrussland einwanderten. Sie nannten sich selbst Skoloten (= die Königlichen), die Bezeichnung Skythen (Schütze) stammt aus griechischen Quellen (damit waren alle barbarischen Stämme, die nördlich des Schwarzen Meeres siedelten, gemeint). Die Perser nannten sie Saken (Sake = barbarischer Steppenbewohner). In den byzantinischen Chroniken werden die Sarmaten, Goten und Alanen oft als Skythen bezeichnet.

Im 8. Jahrhundert v. Chr. fielen sie in die Gebiete nördlich und östlich des Schwarzen Meeres ein und verdrängten die Kimmerer. Ab dem 4. Jahrhundert v. Chr. wurden sie zunehmend von den Sarmaten verdrängt. Die letzten, stark sarmatisierten Skythen wurden schliesslich von den Goten in der zweiten Hälfte des 3. Jahrhunderts nach Christus vernichtet. Mittlerweile drangen nun auch Turkstämme in deren angestammten Gebiete, vorab im Osten (Eurasien), vor.

- mehr: siehe unter Sarmaten und Parther - Perser

September 2010 – Albi - Revidiert von Hermelinde Steiner - Dezember 2010
PageTop