Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • History of the Horsemen




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- next new album
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- tour projects
- Concerts
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 04-2014


  • Alans
    - 2nd century before Christ until 13th century after Christ
- map sketch: Alans immigrations
The Alans, a tribe of the Sarmatians, survived longer than their relatives, and later on they also integrated and incorporated other cultural elements. They settled in northern Kazakhstan and in the northeastern area of the Caspian Sea from the 2nd century before Christ on. The Xiong-nu prince Chih-chih, who had fled the Chinese, settled with his tribe at the Chu River in northern Kyrgyztan and southeastern Kazakhstan. He took his toll from the Alans and other neighbouring tribes such as the Sogdians (Sogdiania was an area in Central Asia where the Sogdians, an Iranian tribe, lived). Chih-chih was murdered by the Chinese in 35 before Christ. The permanent pressure consequently resulted in the fact that a part of the Alans migrated farther to the West. Another part submitted itself to the Kangju living in neighbouring Sogdiana which, at that time, was a nomadic realm situated between Aral Sea and the Tian Shan Mountains and Lake Balkhash (swampy lake without effluent), respectively. In the late 1st century, the Alan tribes also immigrated into the Caucasian area in the north; they joined their related tribes having settled at the Caspian Sea and invaded the Parthian Empire, the Median area, Armenia, and they also forcefully entered Asia Minor. In 137 after Christ they even invaded the Roman province of Cappadocia where they were, however, beaten by governor Flavius Arrianus. Some Alans enlisted for service in the Roman Empire and consequently came to Gaul (Celtic area) and Britannia where they also founded new settlements. The Alans were the only nomadic tribe to survive an invasion by the Goth. They founded their first kingdom around 200 after Christ in the area between the Don River and the Volga, and they continued a type of culture adopted from the Sarmatians. Around 374 after Christ, some Alanian tribes were beaten and submitted by the invading Huns. Alanian warriors also participated, in alliance with the Goth people, in the Battle of Adrianopel in 378 after Christ against the Romans. In 406, some joined the Vandals (a Germanic tribe, part of the East-Germanic group) and wandered with them across the Rhine River to Spain and later on to North Africa.

In the 9th century, a new Alanian state was developed in the Kuban area and the northern Caucasus Mountains which was then christianized by Byzantine missionaries some centuries later. Upon the invasion of the Mongols in the 13th century, this state, however, disintegrated. Around 1237, the Mongols drove some thousand Alans, together with their allies, the Kipchaks (who were also called Cumans), ancestors of today's Gagauz' people (a Turk people settling in Moldavia), to Hungary. Among these was the tribe of the Jazyges, a group speaking an East Iranian language (Sarmatian tribe). Some Alans co-operated with the Mongols and even enlisted for service. In the years 1239 up to 1277, they participated in cruzades leading them to Europe and to the Song Dynasty in Southern China. The Alans also took part in the Battle of Kulikovo at the Don River in the year 1380 under Great Khan Mamai (originally a Tatarian warlord) of the Golden Horde. In the northern area of the Caucasus Mountains today there are still living descendants of the Alans: the Ossetians. This name was much more common for the Alanian population in the Caucasus Mountains.

The Alans were horsemen, originally semi-nomads, and they used to breed cattle, sheep, goats, and horses. They lived in yurts or wagons. They mainly lived on milk products and meat. Their language was part of the East-Iranian language group. In battle they used reflex bows and a long, double-edged sword as well as dagger and lance. When they finally came in contact with the Romans, they consequently settled down and spread across entire Europe during the Migration Period.

February - July 2009 – Albi – translated by Hermelinde Steiner - October 2009
PageTop

Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • Geschichte der Reiternomaden




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Alanen – Alans
    - 2. Jahrhundert v. Chr. bis 13. Jahrhundert n. Chr.
- Landkarte: Wanderbewegungen der Alanen – Alans immigrations
Die Alanen, ein Stamm der Sarmaten, existierten als Stammesverband länger als ihre Verwandten und nahmen in späterer Zeit auch andere Kulturelemente in sich auf. Sie siedelten ab dem 2. Jahrhundert v. Chr. im nördlichen Kasachstan und im Nordosten des Kaspischen Meeres. Der vor den Chinesen flüchtende Hsiung-nu-Fürst Chih-chih liess sich mit seinem Stamm am Fluss Tschu ("chu" genannt) im nördlichen Kirgistan und südöstlichen Kasachstan nieder. Er hob Tribut von den Alanen und anderen benachbarten Stämmen, wie auch von den Sogdiern (Sogdien war ein Gebiet in Mittelasien, wo die Sogdier, ein iranischer Stamm, lebten), ein. Chih-chih. wurde 35 v. Chr. von den Chinesen ermordet. Ein stetiger Druck führt dazu, dass im 1. Jahrhundert n. Chr. ein Teil der Alanen weiter nach Westen abwanderte. Ein anderer Teil unterwarf sich den in Sogdien benachbarten Kang-Kü, damals ein Nomadenreich zwischen Aralsee und dem Tianshangebirge bzw. Balchasch-See (Sumpf-See ohne Abfluss). Im späten 1. Jahrhundert n. Chr. wanderten Alanenstämme auch nördlich in den Kaukasus ein, unternahmen mit ihren am Kaspischen Meeres siedelnden verwandten Stämmen Raubzüge ins Partherreich und nach Medien, Armenien, und drangen auch in Kleinasien ein. 137 n. Chr. drangen sie sogar in die römische Provinz Kappadokien ein, wurden jedoch vom dortigen Statthalter Flavius Arrianus besiegt. Einige traten in römischen Dienst und kamen nach Gallien (Gebiet der Kelten) und Britannien, wo sie auch Siedlungen gründeten. Die Alanen waren die einzigen Nomadenstämme, die eine Goteninvasion überlebten. Sie gründeten um 200 n. Chr. in der Region zwischen Don und Wolga ein erstes Königreich und pflegten eine von den Sarmaten übernommene Kultur. Um 374 n. Chr. wird ein Teil von den einfallenden Hunnen besiegt und unterworfen. Alanische Krieger waren in der Schlacht von Adrianopel 378 n. Chr. mit den Goten gegen die Römer beteiligt. 406 n. Chr. schlossen sich einige den Wandalen (Vandalen) an (germanisches Volk, gehörte zur ostgermanischen Gruppe) und zogen mit ihnen über den Rhein nach Spanien und später nach Nordafrika.

Im 9. Jahrhundert n. Chr. entstand im Kuban-Gebiet und im Nordkaukasus ein neuer Alanenstaat, der wenige Jahrzehnte später von byzantinischen Missionaren christianisiert wurde. Mit dem Einfall der Mongolen im 13. Jahrhundert n. Chr. wurde dieser Staat zerschlagen. Um 1237 n. Chr. wurden einige Tausend zusammen mit Kyptschaken (auch Kumanen oder Kunen genannt), Vorfahren der heutigen Gagausen (ein Turkvolk, das in Moldawien siedelte), mit denen sie verbündet waren, von den Mongolen nach Ungarn vertrieben; auch der Stamm der Jazygen, eine ostiranische Sprache sprechende Gruppe (Sarmatenstamm), wurde vertrieben. Einige Alanen kooperierten mit den Mongolen und traten in deren Dienst. In den Jahren 1239 bis 1277 n. Chr. nahmen sie an Feldzügen in Europa und in die Song Dynastie in Südchina teil und waren an der Schlacht von Kulikowo am Don im Jahr 1380 n. Chr. unter Grosskhan Mamai (ursprünglicher tatarischer Kriegsfürst) der Goldenen Horde beteiligt. Im Nordkaukasus leben heute Nachfahren der Alanen: das Volk der Osseten. Dieser Name wurde für die alanische Bevölkerung im Kaukasus gebräuchlicher.

Die Alanen waren ein Reitervolk, ursprünglich Halbnomaden und betrieben Viehzucht, hielten Schafe, Ziegen und Pferde. Sie lebten in Jurten oder Wagen. Ihre Nahrung waren Milchprodukte und Fleisch. Ihre Sprache gehört zur ostiranischen Sprachgruppe. Im Kampf verwendeten sie den Reflexbogen und ein langes, zweischneidiges Schwert sowie Dolch und Lanzen. Kontakte zu den Römern führten dazu, dass sie sesshaft wurden und sich im Laufe der Völkerwanderung über ganz Europa verteilten.

Februar - Juli 2009 – Albi - Revidiert von Hermelinde Steiner - Oktober 2009
PageTop