Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • History of the Horsemen




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Osetians – Osetia
    - 7 th century after Christ up to date
- map sketch:
The Ossetians descend from the Alans, a tribe of the Eastern Iranian Sarmatians who had immigrated to the Don and Volga area and founded a kingdom. In the late 1st century AD, first tribal groups migrated to the northern Caucasus area which had already been settled by tribes (Ingush people, Kabarday, Georgians).

The Alans were displaced by the invading Huns from the Southern Russian tribal area between 350 and 374 AD. More Alans migrated in the 7th century into the northern slopes of the Caucasus. In the 8th century AD they formed a new kingdom covering the areas of Cherkessia (today’s Krasnodar region) and northern Ossetia-Alania. In the heyday of their time, there had been established a strictly centralized monarchy with a well-organized army profiting from the trade established on the Silk Road.

In the 9th century, there developed a new Alanian state (archbishopcry) which was christianized by Byzantine missionaries (916 AD). A small group, however, turned to the Islam, to the Sunni sect, as was the case with their neighbouring tribe, the Karbady.

In the 13th century, the state was devastated by the invading Mongols. Later on, the region again was suppressed, this time by the invading Ottoman, Tartars and Persian people. Some of them retreated to the mountains, where there still may be found numerous defence and tower houses. In the 17th century AD some of them invaded Kartli (today’s Georgia) as refugees. In the 18th century Alanian Ossetia (today’s northern Ossetia) obtained its independence. Conflicts between the Crimean Khanate and the Ottoman Empire, however, forced the Ossetians into an alliance with the Russian nation. The Ossetian language belongs to the Eastern Iranian language family, such as that of their predecessors, the Alans, and the Sarmatian tribes, their relatives.

September 2010 – Albi - translated by Hermelinde Steiner - December 2010
PageTop

Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • Geschichte der Reiternomaden




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Osseten – Ossetien
    - 7. Jahrhundert n. Chr. bis heute
- Landkarten:
Die Osseten stammen von den Alanen ab, einem Stamm der ostiranischen Sarmaten, die in den Raum Don und Wolga einwanderten und ein Königreich gründeten. Im späten 1. Jahrhundert n. Chr. wanderten erste Gruppen in den nördlichen Kaukasus, wo bereits Stämme (Inguschen, Kabardiner und Georgier) siedelten.

Die Alanen wurden zwischen 350 und 374 n. Chr. von den eindringenden Hunnen aus dem südrussischen Stammesgebiet verdrängt. Weitere Alanen übersiedelten im 7. Jahrhundert n. Chr. in die Nordhänge des Kaukasus. Im 8. Jahrhundert n. Chr. formierten sie ein neues Königreich, das die Gebiete Tscherkessien (heutige Region Krasnodar) und Nord-Ossetien-Alanien umfasste. Zur Zeit ihrer Hochblüte herrschte eine streng zentralistische Monarchie mit einer gut organisierten Streitmacht, die vom Handel der Seidenstrasse profitierte.

Im 9. Jahrhundert n. Chr. entstand dann ein neuer alanischer Staat (Erzbistum), der von byzantinischen Missionaren christianisiert wurde (916 n. Chr.). Doch eine kleine Gruppe bekannte sich zum Islam, zur sunnitischen Sekte, wie ihr Nachbarstamm, die Kabardiner.

Im 13. Jahrhundert n. Chr. wurde dieser Staat von den einfallenden Mongolen verwüstet. Später stand die Region wiederum unter Druck, diesmal unter den eindringenden Ottomanen, Tartaren und Persern. Ein Teil zog sich weiter in die Berge zurück, wovon heute noch zahlreiche Verteidigungs- und Wohntürme zeugen. Im 17. Jahrhundert n. Chr. drangen einige als Flüchtlinge in Kartli (heutiges Georgien) ein. Im 18. Jahrhundert n. Chr. erlangte Alanien-Ossetien (heutiges Nord-Ossetien) seine Unabhängigkeit. Doch Auseinandersetzungen zwischen dem Khanat der Krim und dem Ottomanischen Reich zwangen die Osseten zu einer Allianz mit den Russen. Die ossetische Sprache gehört zur ostiranischen Sprachfamilie, wie jene ihrer Vorfahren, der Alanen und deren verwandten Stämme, der Sarmaten.

September 2010 – Albi - Revidiert von Hermelinde Steiner - Dezember 2010
PageTop