Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • History of the Horsemen




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Dzungars – Ölöts and Olöts, respectively
    – 17th and 18th centuries AC
-map sketch:


The Oirat alliance of the tribes Dörbets, Choros and Khoits (Dzungars) made several attempts in order to preserve internal peace. In the years 1616/17 and 1640 AC, respectively, the princes convened meetings to decide upon common action in regard to the Khalka, and they issued several decrees but could not succeed, however, in establishing a permanent form of co-operation among the tribes involved. For example in the year 1625 there erupted a tribal conflict among the Oirats: their nominal leader, Baibagas (died approx. in 1630 AC), the Tajishi of the Khoshut, was defeated by his brother Chokur. The other leaders, on behalf of maintaining unity, tried to conciliate and mediate at the beginning, but later on they defeated Chokur's group at the Ural River in 1630 AC. Internal and external conditions enabled the realisation of a new structure on the occasion of a meeting at the Imil River in the year 1640: Khungtaidschi-Batur founded a new Oirat state and led his horde in 1643 AC into the Ili area (Zhetysu; "seven rivers"). This Oirat group was henceforth called Dzungars (from Jüün Ghar), and they claimed suzerainty of the other groups (Dzungar Empire). His son Galdan occupied Kashgaria (Already in the Early Bronze Age, this oasis of Kashgar had been settled. – This was the time of the Akhtala culture, which was especially related to the Chust culture prevailing in the Fergana Valley. – In the first centuries after Christ, Kashgar was the centre of a powerful realm ruling great parts of the Tarim Basin as well as areas in the west of the Pamir Mountains). Galdan then focused on the Mongolian areas and their suzerains, the Quing Dynasty. In this regard, he failed. In the year 1696 AC the troops of the Qing Emperor Kangxi (1661-1722 AC) were victorious at the Tula near Zuunmod; Galdan's wife was killed, and the Khan probably committed suicide.

At the beginning of the 17th century AC, the Altan Khan pushed the Oirats still farther west, and they even invaded eastern Kazakhstan. This had disastrous effects on the inner-Asian steppes, as these, from then on, were unsettled by frequent battles and fights. Oirats then encamped in the Tarabagatai region (region Xinjiang) and conquered territories along the northern stretches of the Irtysh, Ishim and Tobol Rivers. They established trading relations with the Kazakhs and the cities along the Syrdarja. Caravas even crossed the Siberian steppes until the frontiers of the Tsardom as well as Chinese and Tibetian provinces. There were established the first outposts.

This, however, did not mean the end of the Oirat period. Galdan's nephew and enemy came into power. He made peace with China and instead attacked the Kazakhs and the Kirghiz below Tauke from 1698 onwards. In the year 1717 AC. Tsewangrabtan's army entered Lhasa (Tibet) where he killed the Choshut ruler, Lhabzang. This resulted in a victorious invasion of the Qing army in Tibet in the year 1720. Another Qing army invaded Dzungaria and was in 1720 AC so victorious at Ürümgi (Xinjiang) that Tsewangrabtan was forced to make peace in the year 1724. The Dzungars, however, were victorious against the better armoured Russian army at Zaisan in 1720. Tsewangrabtan mainly focused on his neighbours in the west, with the Kazakh population suffering most. Their defeat at the river Ajagus (at the Lake Balkhash) in the year 1718 initiated the era of the "Great Disaster". But also his relations with the Torghuts of the Khan Ayuki (ruled from 1690 to 1724 AC) were not the best – there a political marriage finally ended in conflict. His policy was further continued by Tsewangrabtan's son Galdan Tsereng (1728-1745 AC), resulting in internal conflicts and finally in the destruction of the Dzungarian Empire in the years 1754-1759 AC by the Qing Dynasty and hence peace and quiet. The Chinese had implemented the Khoit prince Amarsaana, but he then, supported by all tribes, turned against them, was defeated and finally died in exile in Tobolsk (town in the Ural Mountains). In the course of that and afterwards, respectively, the Chinese turned the encounter into a massacre, thereby slaughtering hundreds of thousands of Dzungars in order to prevent new revolts (1757/8 AC). The Ili area and the whole of todays's Xinjiang – Sinkiang territory have been part of China since then. The term "Dzungars" (this is, left wing) was then changed and prohibited by Chinese historians, from then on writing about the Ölöts and Olöts, respectively. The Chinese term for the Dzungarian empire was also used in Europe.

In the middle of the 18th century AC, the remains of the Oirat tribes were defeated by the Chinese and also (whereas to a less extent) by the Russian and incorporated into their empires. Even today there exist some Oirat tribes living scatteredly as well as various dialects of an "Oirat" language – in western Mongolia, in China and in the Kalmyk Republic.

  • The Kalmyks, also known as "Kalmuck", "Kalmuk", or "Kalmyki", is the name given to a western Mongolian people now living primarily in the Republic of Kalmykia. The term was already used in the 14th century by Islamic historians for the Oirats and later on used by the Russians for groups of Oirats settling at the Volga. The most important Kalmyk tribes are the Dörbet, Torghut, and Khoshut. The first two tribes migrated in the early 17th century – when the Oirat confederation started to crumble away - under Khu Urluk († 1643 AC) from their original homelands in Xinjiang towards the west. In the course of this migration they moved through southern Siberia towards the Ural Mountains and settled, from 1632 AC on, initally at the left and later on also at the right side of the lower course of the Volga. The Nogai Horde already settling there was forced to flee to the Crimean Peninsula and consequently to the Kuban River. The most important Kalmyk Khan was Ayuki (he ruled 1670–1724 AC) who had attacked several Russian towns (for example, Kasan) until he was assigned the protection of the Russian frontiers by Tsar Peter I. Due to the expansion of the Cossacks, they were integrated into the Russian Tsardom in the course of the 18th century. Displeased with the Russian rulership, the Torghut migrated along the eastern shore of the Volga under Ubashi Khan (ruled from 1761–1771/5 AC) from January 1771 on back to their own homelands – suffering great losses.


Just as the other Mongolian peoples, they are also followers of Tibetian Buddhism and the tradition of shamanism. There are, however, also some Muslim Kalmyks. Their language belongs to the eastern branch of the Mongolian language division. In Xinjiang – Sinkiang (China) they still have their own script, having its origins in the Mongolian script.

The heroic epic "Dzangar" in twelve chants is one of the most important works in their language, which has been orally handed down from one generation to the next one since the 15th century.
Being nomads and semi-nomads, the Kalmyks lived on cattle breeding, fishing and, sporadically, cultivating land until the 20th century. Today they live between the rivers Volga and Don at the northwestern coast of the Caspian Sea in the Autonomous Republic Kalmykia. Traditional family life has a strong focus on cohesion and coherence. Parents, married children with families and unmarried children form a real extended family. Several of these tribal collectives establish nomad-like village collectives, with some of these, in accordance with their lineage, forming a clan. As a tradition, princes were the leaders of the different clan alliances. Apart from the higher nobility and the subordinate gentry, there were the commoners and the priesthood.

February - July 2009 – Albi - translated by Hermelinde Steiner - November 2009
PageTop

Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • Geschichte der Reiternomaden




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Dschungaren – Ölöten bzw. Olöten
    – 17. und 18. Jahrhunder n. Chr.

- Landkarten:


Die Oiraten-Allianz der Stämme Dürbeten, Choros und Khoit (Dschungaren) machte mehrere Versuche, den inneren Frieden zu wahren. So beriefen die Fürsten 1616/7 und 1640 n. Chr. grosse Versammlungen ein, beschlossen ein gemeinsames Vorgehen gegen die Khalka und erliessen Verordnungen, erreichten aber keine bleibende Zusammenarbeit unter den beteiligten Stämmen. Zum Beispiel brach 1625 unter den Oiraten ein Stammeskonflikt aus: ihr nominelles Oberhaupt Baibagas (gest. ca. 1630 n. Chr.), der Tayischi der Choschuten, wurde von seinem Bruder Chokur besiegt. Die anderen Führer versuchten im Interesse der Einheit zunächst zu vermitteln, vernichteten aber schliesslich Chokurs Gruppe am Ural-Fluss (1630 n. Chr.). Die innen- und aussenpolitischen Umstände führten 1640 beim Treffen am Imil-Fluss zu einer Neuformierung: Khungtaidschi-Batur gründete einen neuen Oiratenstaat und führte seine Horde 1643 n. Chr. in das Ili-Gebiet (Siebenstromland). Diese Oiratengruppe wurde fortan auch als Dsungaren (von Jüün Ghar) bezeichnet und beanspruchte damals die Oberhoheit über die anderen Gruppen (Dschungaren-Reich). Sein Sohn Galdan besetzte Kaschgarien. (Bereits in der späten Bronzezeit war die Oase von Kaschgar besiedelt. – In dieser Zeit war hier die Aketala-Kultur verbreitete, die insbesondere Beziehungen zur in der Fergana verbreiteten Tschust-Kultur hatte. – In den ersten nachchristlichen Jahrhunderten war Kaschgar Zentrum eines mächtigen Reiches, das grosse Teile des westlichen Tarim-Beckens sowie auch Gebiete westlich des Pamir-Gebirges beherrschte). Galdan wandte dann seine Aufmerksamkeit auf die innermongolischen Gebiete und ihre Oberherren, die Quing-Dynastie. Hier scheiterte er. Im Jahr 1696 n. Chr. blieben die Truppen des Qing-Kaisers Kangxi (1661-1722 n. Chr.) an der Tula bei Zuunmod siegreich, Galdans Frau fiel und der Khan beging wohl Selbstmord.

Mit Beginn des 17. Jahrhunderts n. Chr. drängte der Altan Khan die Oiraten weiter westwärts, und sie drangen noch weiter ins östliche Kasachstan ein. Das hatte verheerende Auswirkungen auf die innerasiatischen Steppen, die nun von häufigen Kämpfen erschüttert wurden. Oiraten drangen nun auch in die Region der Tarabagatai (Xinjiang Region) ein und eroberten Gebiete entlang Irtysch, Ischim und am Tobol Fluss. Handel entwickelte sich mit den Kasachen und den Städten entlang dem Syrdarja. Karawanen zogen auch über die Sibirischen Steppen bis zur Grenze ans Zarenreich wie auch in den chinesischen und tibetischen Raum. Man gründete Aussenposten.

Die Oiratenzeit war aber noch nicht zu Ende. Galdans verfeindeter Neffe Tsewangrabtan kam an die Macht, hielt mit China zunächst Frieden und griff stattdessen ab 1698 die Kasachen und Kirgisen unter Tauke an. Im Jahr 1717 n. Chr. erschien Tsewangrabtans Armee in Lhasa (Tibet), wo er den Regenten Lhabzang der Choschuten tötete. Dies löste 1720 n. Chr. einen siegreichen Einmarsch der Qing-Armee in Tibet aus. Eine weitere Qing-Armee marschierte in die Dschungarei und siegte bei Ürümgi (Xinjiang) 1720 n. Chr., so dass Tsewangrabtan 1724 n. Chr. Frieden schliessen musste. Die Dschungaren blieben aber 1720 n. Chr. gegen die besser bewaffneten Russen bei Zaisan erfolgreich. Tsewangrabtan konzentrierte sich hauptsächlich auf die Nachbarn im Westen. Die Kasachen hatten besonders darunter zu leiden. Mit der Niederlage der Kasachen 1718 n. Chr. am Fluss Ajagus (am Balchaschsee) beginnt dort die Zeit des "Grossen Unglücks". Aber auch seine Beziehungen zu den Torguten des Khan Ayuki (reg. 1670-1724 n. Chr.) waren nicht die besten – dort endete eine politische Heirat im Konflikt. Unter Tsewangrabtans Sohn Galdan Tsereng (1728-1745 n. Chr.) setzte sich dessen Politik fort. Danach kam es zu inneren Streitigkeiten, und schliesslich brachte die Vernichtung des Dschungarenreiches 1754-1759 n. Chr. durch die Qing-Dynastie Ruhe. Und zwar hatten die Chinesen den Khoit-Fürsten Amarsanaa eingesetzt, aber der wandte sich mit Unterstützung sämtlicher Stämme anschliessend gegen sie, wurde besiegt und starb in Tobolsk (Stadt im Uralgebirge) im Exil. Dabei bzw. danach richteten die Chinesen zur Verhinderung neuer Aufstände ein Massaker unter den Dschungaren an, die Opferzahlen liegen im sechsstelligen Bereich (1757/8 n. Chr.). Das Ili-Gebiet beziehungsweise das ganze heutige Sinkiang gehört seitdem zu China. Der Begriff Dschungaren (d.h. linker Flügel) wurde künftig von der chinesischen Historienschreibung in Ölöten bzw. Olöten geändert beziehungsweise seine Benutzung verboten. Auch in Europa verwendete man die chinesische Bezeichnung für das Dschungarenreich.

Mitte des 18. Jahrhundert n. Chr. wurden die letzten Reste der Oiratenstämme von den Chinesen und (in geringerem Masse) auch von den Russen besiegt und in ihre Reiche angeschlossen. Noch heute existieren verstreut oiratische Stämme und unterschiedliche Dialekte einer "oiratischen" Sprache - in der westlichen Mongolei, in China und in der Kalmückischen Republik.

  • Die Kalmücken, auch Kalmüken oder Kalmyken geschrieben, sind ein westmongolisches Volk, das heute vor allem in Kalmückien siedelt. Der Begriff wurde bereits im 14. Jahrhundert von islamischen Historikern für die Oiraten verwendet und später von den Russen für an der Wolga siedelnde Splittergruppen der Oiraten übernommen. Die wichtigsten Stämme der Kalmücken sind die Dürbeten, Torguten und Choschuten. Die ersten beiden Stämme zogen im frühen 17. Jahrhundert – als sich die Oiraten-Konföderation auflöste – unter Khu Urluk († 1643 n. Chr.) von ihrer ursprünglichen Heimat in Xinjiang aus westwärts. Dabei wanderten sie durch das südliche Sibirien erst in Richtung Ural, um sich ab 1632 n. Chr. zuerst links, dann auch rechts der unteren Wolga niederzulassen. Die Nogai Horde, die hier bereits siedelte, drängten sie zur Flucht, und diese flohen anschliessend in die Krim und an den Kuban Fluss. Der bedeutendste Khan der Kalmücken war Ayuki (reg. 1670–1724 n. Chr.), der einzelne russische Städte (z.B. Kasan) angriff, bis er von Zar Peter I. mit dem russischen Grenzschutz betraut wurde. Durch die Expansion der Kosaken gingen sie im Laufe des 18. Jahrhunderts n. Chr. im russischen Zarenreich auf. Unzufrieden mit der russischen Herrschaft wanderten die Torguten östlich der Wolga unter Ubaschi Khan (reg. 1761–1771/5 n. Chr.) ab Januar 1771 n. Chr. unter starken Verlusten wieder zurück ins alte Stammland.

Sie sind wie andere mongolische Völker Anhänger des Tibetischen Buddhismus und der Schamanentradition. Daneben gibt es auch muslimische Kalmücken. Ihre Sprache zählt zu den westmongolischen Sprachen. In Sinkiang (China) schreiben sie noch heute ihre eigene Schrift, die von der mongolischen Schrift abgeleitet ist.

Zu den bedeutendsten Werken ihrer Sprache gehört das aus dem 15. Jahrhundert mündlich überlieferte Heldenepos Dzangar in zwölf Gesängen.
Als Nomaden und Halbnomaden lebten die Kalmücken bis ins 20. Jahrhundert von Viehzucht, Fischfang und vereinzelt Ackerbau. Sie leben heute zwischen Wolga und Don an der Nordwestküste am Kaspischen Meer in der Autonomen Republik Kalmükien. Entsprechend stark ist der traditionelle Familienbund auf Zusammenhalt ausgerichtet. Eltern, verheiratete Kinder mit Familien und unverheiratete Kinder bildeten die Grossfamilie. Mehrere dieser Sippenverbände bildeten nomadische Dorfverbände, von denen wiederum mehrere entsprechend ihrer Abstammungslinien einen Klan bildeten. Traditionell standen Fürsten den verschiedenen Klan-Bündnissen vor. Neben diesem Hochadel und dem ihm nachrangigen niederen Adel gab es die Gemeinen sowie einen Priesterstand.

Februar - Juli 2009 – Albi - Revidiert von Hermelinde Steiner - November 2009
PageTop