Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • History of the Horsemen




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Seljuq people
    - 8 th to 14 th century after Christ
- map sketch:
The Seljuqs were part of the Turk tribe of the Oghuz who had migrated to Transoxianian in the 8th century; they were nomads who still wandered the steppe areas, which are today Kazakhstan, as late as the 10th century. They were involved in conflicts between the Turkish Karakhanids (leaders of the Karluks) and the Persian Samanides. These established a Muslim dynasty with Iranian aristocracy ruling from 819 to 1005 AD in Transoxianian and Khorasan; its capital was Buchara. The leaders were called Emirs, but were, however, under control of the Abbaside Caliphate, the successors of the Umayyads, with their capital being Baghdad.

The Oghuz did play an important role which led to the development of political tensions among the tribes: The nomads under Seljuq and his warriors seceded from the tribal union of the Oghuz and moved on towards the west. The apical ancestor of the new dynasty was their chief Seljuq of the tribe of the Qynyk about 1000 AD. In 1034 AD they conquered Khorasan (comprising the Iran, Afghanistan, Tadzhikistan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan), and in 1040 AD they expelled the Ghaznavids in the successful battle of Dananakan (a Muslim dynasty). In 1055 AD they conquered Baghdad under Tughril and put more than hundred years of Bujid leadership to an end. In this way, the Seljuqs themselves became the protective power of the Abbaside Caliphate. They suppressed huge parts of Persia and the Iraq. Tughril Beg was awarded the title of a sultan by the Caliph of Baghdad, and he transferred the capital to Ray near today’s Tehran. At the end of the 10th century, they converted to the Islam and succeeded, by means of their “fresh power”, in reconstructing the political unity of the Islamic world. They were Sunnite Muslims. The Seljuqs ruled from 1040 to 1194 AD; they were a Turk royal dynasty who founded the Great Seljuq Empire covering the areas of the Iran, Iraq, Syria and Anatolia and some parts of the Arab peninsula. Alp Arslan (1063-1072 AD) led the Great Seljuq Empire to the climax of its power, and in 1071 AD he defeated the Byzantine Empire in the battle of Manzikert, in this way making way to the Turkish conquest of Anatolia. When the Seljuq conquered Anatolia in the 11th century, this constituted the peak of the massive migrations of the Turk people taking place from the 8th century on. Anatolia, for the very first time, became “Turkey” in European chronicles. Under the leadership of Alp Arslan and his successor Malik Schah (1072–1092 AD) and the Persian vizier Nezam al-Molk, the sultanate reached its political and cultural heydays.

In the early times the Seljuqs cultivated their Turk traditions and the literary culture of their ancestors, the Oghuz; when they had converted to the Islam, however, they discontinued to cultivate these customs. The Arab language diminished in the Middle East, and the Persian language became the official language of the Seljuqs at court. They also adopted Persian culture (literature) and administration systems. Various pieces of art, such as for example the miniature paintings or ornaments dating back to the times of the Seljuqs, have survived and display the Islamic influenced Central-Asian art typical for that time. The Seljuqs were responsible for the export of Central-Asian clothes and music – artifacts of pre-Islam in Sogdiana and Transoxianian – to Anatolia and the Iran, where they have been influencing the cultures of these regions ever since.

The murder of vizier Nezam al-Molk by the Hashashin (a militant Ismailite sect of the Middle Ages in the Orient) and the death of Sultane Malik-Schah (1092 AD) broke the waves for fights for the throne. This led in 1118 AD to the country being divided into Khorasan/Transoxianian and the Iran being split into Iran/Iraq. In the 11th century, the Sultanate Rum of the Anatolian Seljuqs was being founded in Anatolia.

Under the Sultan Sanjar ruling in Khorasan (1118–1157 AD) and Malik-Schah’s II son the leadership of the Seljuqs came to a final bloom. They suffered, however, a defeat against the Khara Khitai in 1141 AD at Samarkand and, only little later, they were overthrown. Until his death, Malik-Schah II tried in vain to re-establish the Seljuq Empire. The Khoresm shahs assumed his heritage together with soldiers of the Kipchak people and the Oghuz, having conquered Central Asia and the Iran by the end of the 12th century. In 1194 AD they disposed of the last Seljuq leader of Ray. In Anatolia, the Rum Seljuqs were suppressed by the Ilkhans after 1243 AD; their Sultanate of Konya had disintegrated by 1307 AD. The striving Ottoman stepped up to the succession of the Seljuqs in Anataolia at the beginning of the 14th century.

Members of the Seljuq family dynasty ruled in regions like the Keman (until the end of the 12th century), Syria (until the beginning of the 12th century) and Anatolia (until the beginning of the 14th century as the Sultanate of Rum) as part of the Great Seljuq Empire.  

September 2010 – Albi – translated by Hermelinde Steiner - December 2010
PageTop

Face Music - History: Horsemen – Nomads
      • Geschichte der Reiternomaden




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


  • Seldschuken
    - 8. bis 14. Jahrhundert n. Chr.
- Landkarten:
Die Seldschuken waren ein Zweig des im 8. Jahrhundert n. Chr. in Transoxanien eingewanderten türkischen Stammesverbandes der Oghusen, jener Nomaden, die noch im 10. Jahrhundert n. Chr. grösstenteils in der heutigen Kasachensteppe umherzogen. Sie waren an den Auseinandersetzungen zwischen den türkischen Karachaniden (Herrscher der Karluken) und den persischen Samaniden beteiligt. Diese bildeten eine muslimische Dynastie mit iranischem Adel, die von 819 bis 1005 n. Chr. in Transoxanien und in Chorasan regierte; Hauptstadt war Buchara. Die Herrscher betitelten sich Emire, unterstanden jedoch dem Kalifat der Abbasiden, Nachfolger der Umayyaden mit Sitz in Bagdad.

Die Oghusen spielten eine bedeutende Rolle, was zu politischen Spannungen unter den Stämmen führte: Die zu Seldschuk gehörenden Nomaden und seine Krieger lösten sich aus dem Stammesverband der Oghusen und wanderten weiter nach Westen. Namensgeber einer neuen Dynastie war ihr damaliger Häuptling Seldschuk des Stammes der Qynyk um 1000 n. Chr. Sie eroberten 1034 n. Chr. Chorasan (umfasste den Iran, Afghanistan, Tadschikistan, Usbekistan und Turkmenistan) und verdrängten 1040 n. Chr. mit der siegreichen Schlacht von Dananakan die Ghaznawiden (eine muslimische Dynastie). 1055 n. Chr. zogen sie unter Tughril in Bagdad ein und beendeten die über hundertjährige Schutzherrschaft der Bujiden. Damit wurden die Seldschuken nach dem Sturz selbst Schutzmacht über das Abbasiden-Kalifat. Sie unterwarfen grosse Teile Persiens und den Irak. Tughril Beg erhielt vom Kalifen von Bagdad den Titel eines Sultans verliehen und verlegte die Hauptstadt nach Ray in der Nähe des heutigen Teheran. Gegen Ende des 10. Jahrhunderts n. Chr. traten sie zum Islam über und schafften mit ihrer „frischen Kraft“ die Wiederherstellung der politischen Einheit der islamischen Welt. Sie waren sunnitische Muslime. Die Seldschuken herrschten 1040-1194 n.Chr. und waren eine türkische Fürstendynastie, die das Reich der Grossseldschuken begründeten, das sich über Mittelasien, über den Iran, Irak, Syrien, Anatolien und über Teile der arabischen Halbinsel erstreckte. Alp Arslan (1063-1072 n. Chr.) führte das Reich der Grossseldschuken zum Höhepunkt seiner Macht und besiegte 1071 n.Chr. in der Schlacht von Manzikert das Byzantinische Reich und leitete damit eine türkische Eroberung Anatoliens ein. Die Landnahme Anatoliens durch die Seldschuken im 11. Jahrhundert bildete den Gipfel der massiven Wanderungen der Türk-Völker, die ab dem 8. Jahrhundert erfolgte. Anatolien wurde in europäischen Quellen erstmals zur „Türkei“. Unter Alp Arslan und seinem Nachfolger Malik Schah (1072–1092 n. Chr.) sowie dem persischen Wesir Nezam al-Molk erreichte das Sultanat seinen politischen und kulturellen Höhepunkt.

Die Seldschuken pflegten vor allem in der Frühzeit türkische Traditionen und die angestammte literarische Kultur ihrer oghusischen Vorfahren, die sie aber nach der Bekehrung zum Islam grösstenteils aufgaben. Die arabische Sprache bildete sich im Nahen Osten zurück, und das Persische entwickelte sich zur Hofsprache der Seldschuken. Sie übernahmen auch die persische Kultur (Literatur) und deren Verwaltungssystem. Verschiedene Kunstwerke wie z. B. Miniaturmalerei oder Ornamente aus der Zeit der Seldschuken sind erhalten geblieben und spiegeln die für die damalige Zeit typische, islamisch-geprägte zentralasiatische Kunst wieder. Die Seldschuken waren auch hauptsächlich für den Export zentralasiatischer Kleidung und Musik – Zeugnisse des vorislamischen Sogdien und Transoxanien – nach Anatolien und Iran verantwortlich, welche bis heute die Kulturen dieser Regionen stark beeinflussen.

Mit der Ermordung des Wesirs Nezam al-Molk durch die Assassinen (eine militante ismailitische Sekte des Mittelalters im Orient) und dem Tod von Sultan Malik-Schah (1092 n. Chr.) brachen bald Thronkämpfe aus. Diese führten 1118 n. Chr. zur Teilung des Reiches in Chorasan/Transoxanien und ein Spaltung des Irans in ein Iran/Irak. Im 11. Jahrhundert entstand in Anatolien das Sultanat Rum der anatolischen Seldschuken.

Unter dem in Chorasan regierenden Sultan Sandschar (1118–1157 n. Chr.) und dem Sohn Malik-Schahs II. hatte die Herrschaft der Seldschuken eine letzte Blüte. Allerdings erlitten sie 1141 n. Chr. bei Samarkand eine Niederlage gegen die Kara Kitai und wurden wenig später gestürzt. Malik-Schah II. versuchte bis zu seinem Tod vergeblich, das Seldschukenreich wieder aufzurichten. Die Choresm-Schahs traten mit Söldnern der Kiptschaken und Oghusen sein Erbe an und eroberten bis Ende des 12. Jahrhunderts Mittelasien und den Iran. 1194 n. Chr. beseitigten sie den letzten Seldschuken-Herrscher von Ray. In Anatolien gerieten die Rum-Seldschuken nach 1243 n. Chr. unter die Herrschaft der Ilchane; ihr Sultanat von Konya löste sich bis 1307 n. Chr. auf. Die aufstrebenden Osmanen traten zu Beginn des 14. Jahrhunderts das Erbe der Seldschuken in Anatolien an.

Angehörige der seldschukischen Familiendynastie herrschten in Regionen wie dem Keman (bis zum Ende des 12. Jahrhunderts), Syrien (bis zum Anfang des 12. Jahrhunderts) und Anatolien (bis zum Anfang des 14. Jahrhunderts als das Sultanat von Rum) als Teil des Grossseldschukenreichs.

September 2010 – Albi - Revidiert von Hermelinde Steiner - Dezember 2010
PageTop