Albis Photo-Gallery
    • High Altai - Central Asia - Petroglyphs - Prehistoric Rock Paintings




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


Text in German

  • Below you can see great examples - click on an icon - Enjoy! © Chagat & Albi - Face Music 2004

In the High Altai, there are numerous petroglyphs (prehistoric rock paintings). Examples, as indicated in the plan below, may be found in the Russian Altai, in the Chuja Steppe - Kalbak-Tash (today partly autonomous Republic Altai), and in the Mongolian Altai in the Aimark Bayan Olgii.

On the basis of research results, there is presently assumed that there are two explanatory theories: The Indo-Iranian theory states that these rock paintings served as illustration for old texts. But there is, however, also a shamanistic interpretation, and here the petroglyphs are considered an expression of old religions and rituals. There have been made out clear interpretations of individual forms like animals, weapons, human beings, carriages etc.

Petroglyphes from prehistoric time are carefully carved in canyons at the foot of sacred peaks in the Altai Mountain range in Western Mongolia (Rock Painting). Drawings were found carved and painted on rocks as well as on cliffs. The motifs are.animals, hunting scenes, and chariots. meditation and ritual scenes of tengerisme (shamanism) of an ancient people. These depict an ancient world dominated by deer, bears, hunters, wolves, and life stock. The engravings measure from a tiny argali sheep of two centimeters, to a life-size horse in full flight. The images are often cut through oxidized rock. Making use of the colors of different layers of the rock to make the carvings stand out from their surroundings. Petroglyphes in Bayan Olgii in Western Mongolia include an image of a deer attacked by wolves, hunting scenes and scores of wild animals. Others depict more domestic scenes of yaks dragging carts, the wheels and horses flattened sideways like hieroglyphs, and two-dimensional herders on horseback.

- see more information about: Petroglyphs and motifs of early shamanism
- see more information about ancient art in Mongolia - History of Mongolian traditional art and artwork

Russian High Altai - old petroglyphs

Mongolian High Altai - petroglyphs from the
Neolithic Period (Neolithic Age) from 4000 to 1700 BC
and from the Bronze Age from 1700 to 800 BC

Russian and Mongolian High Altai -
petroglyphs from the Scythian Age from 800 to 700 BC

Mongolian High Altai -
petroglyphs of animals (representation in pairs)

Russian and Mongolian High Altai -
petroglyphs in sacred-like representation of animals

Russian High Altai -
Graffity from the Hun-Sarmatic Period - 200 BC to 700 AD

Russian High Altai -
Graffity from ethnographic field research
- Ancient Turk Period - 300 to 400 AD

Mongolian High Altai -
Graffity from ethnographic field research

In Europe

30'000 years before Christ

Naturalistic art, in which animals are to be represented in their anatomical forms and movements as naturally as possible; it is found on tools and walls in carved as well as painted representation. It is closely linked with magical rites for a successful hunt.

Paleolithic Period

The aim is survival: Big-game hunting by means of traps, but namely by means of stone tools, wooden spears, bow and arrow. Collecting fruits, berries, roots, grass and wild corn. Living in nuclear families, in camps, under rock ledges, in caves. Nomadism.

9'000 years before Christ

Art in a naturalistic tradition, but always with the aim to simplify the forms, to abstract them and to get rid of all that is not essential; but still rooted in the necessity of a realistic representation.

Mesolithic Period

The aim is survival, linked to hunting and collecting fruits. Settlement takes place in natural hiding places or season-related camps.

5'000 years before Christ

Symbolic and abstract art, characterized by the stylization of the figures. Man and the sun symbol are the main objects of representation. Scenes with symbolic content also gain narrative value. Art of mural painting, rock painting and graffity on tools made from stone and bones.

Neolithic Period

Introduction of agriculture, hence establishment of permanent dwellings. Growth of different kinds of corn. Taming of some kinds of animal. Fabricating and burning of clay vessels. Hunting to secure living. Living in extended families.

2'800 years before Christ

Symbolic art, schematic in the Neolithic tradition. Scenes also with narratice features. Compensation of figures in cult scenes. Idealized representation. Development of megaliths.

Stone-Copper Age (Aneolithic Period)

Increase of farming and cattle breeding. Hunting to secure living. Discovery of metals and their processing. Trade.

2'000 years before Christ

Schematic and figurative art aiming at resuming the representation in realistic forms. Exuberance of ritual figures and symbols. Noticeable striving for composition and holy rocks of monumental value. The phenomenons of megaliths spread. Scenes also of narrative character which depict situations of the religious as well as physical life.

Bronze Age

Introduction of bronze, hence increase of handicraft, trade with raw and finished goods: tools, weapons, and jewellery. Increase of farming and cattle breeding. Consolidation of private property. Construction of the carriage. Hunting. Solid settlements in villages and on poles. Extended families.

1'000 years before Christ

Continuation of symoblic art, in connection with fetishist expression. Increase of veristically narrating art in the representation of old human practices, i.e. intellectual, manual, and religious practices. Decadency as a consequence of the contact between Etruscian and Roman civilization in Europe.

Iron Age

Development of trade. Introduction of iron, hence new impetus on handicraft. Farming, cattle breeding, and hunting in mountainous areas. Solid settlements with agriculture. Mining and establishment of big trading centres. Distribution of mediterranean cultures in Europe.

English translation by Hermelinde Steiner

PageTop

Albis Photo-Gallery
    • Hochaltai - Zentralasien - Petroglyphen - Prähistorische Felszeichnungen




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


Text in German

  • Unten können Sie grossartige Beispiele sehen - klicken Sie auf ein Symbol und geniessen Sie den Anblick!
    © Chagat & Albi - Face Music 2004

Im Hochaltai sind zahlreiche Petroglyphen (vorgeschichtliche Felszeichnungen) zu finden. Beispiele dafür gibt es wie unten in der Karte eingezeichnet, im Russischen Altai, in der Chuja Steppe - Kalbak-Tasch (heute Teilautonome Republik Altai) und im Mongolischen Altai im Aimark Bajan Ölgii.

Auf der Grundlage von Forschungsergebnissen nimmt man heute allgemein an, dass es zwei Erklärungstheorien dafür gibt. Die indo-iranische Theorie besagt, dass diese Felsbilder als Illustrationen zu alten Texten dienten. Doch gib es auch eine schamanische Interpretation, und hier gelten die Petroglyphen als Ausdruck alter Glaubensvorstellungen und Rituale. Für einzelne Gattungen wie Tiere, Waffen, Menschen,Wagen usw. hat man klare Interpretationen erkannt.

Petroglyphen aus prähistorischer Zeit finden sich sorgfältig in die Felsen geritzt am Fusse der heiligen Gipfel im Altai-Gebirgszug in der westlichen Mongolei (Felszeichnungen). Es wurden Zeichnungen gefunden, die auf Gesteine wie auch auf Felsen in den Gebirgen geritzt oder gezeichnet sind. Die Motive umfassen Tiere, Jagdszenen, Wagenszenen, Szenen aus dem Bereich der Meditation und der Riten des Tengerismus (Schamanismus) eines alten Volkes. Diese Bilder zeigen eine alte Welt, die von Rehen, Bären, Jägern, Wölfen und Vieh geprägt war. Die Abbildungen sind oftmals durch oxidiertes Gestein hindurch geschnitten, wobei dabei die Farben der verschiedenen Gesteinsschichten verwendet wurden, um die Zeichnungen von ihrer Umgebung abzuheben. Petroglyphen im Bajan Ölgii in der westlichen Monglei umfassen auch die Abbildung eines von Wölfen angegriffenen Rehs, Jagdszenen sowie Gruppen wilder Tiere. Andere Bilder veranschaulichen eher häuslichere Szenen, in welchen Yaks einen Wagen ziehen, wobei die Räder und Pferde wie Hieroglyphen seitlich abgeflacht sind; auch sind Hirten auf dem Pferderücken zweidimensional dargestellt.

- siehe auch unter Archäologische Funde der Steppenkulturen Felszeichnungen und Motive des frühen Schamanismus
- siehe mehr Informationen unter – Geschichte der traditionellen Kunst und des Kunsthandwerks in der Mongolei

Russischer Hochaltai - Alte Petroglyphen

Mongolischer Hochaltai - Petroglyphen
aus dem Neolithicum (Jungsteinzeit) von 4000 bis 1700 v.Chr. und aus der Bronzezeit von 1700 bis 800 v.Chr.

Russischer und Mongolischer Hochaltai -
Petroglyphen aus der Skythenzeit von 800 bis 700 v. Chr.

Mongolischer Hochaltai-
Petroglyphen von Tieren (Paarweise Darstellung)

Russischer und Mongolicher Hochaltai -
Petroglyphen in Sakralisierter Darstellung von Tieren

Russischer Hochaltai -
Graffity aus der Hun-Sarmatischen Periode.
Zeitraum 200 v. Chr. bis 700 n.Chr.

Russischer Hochaltai -
Graffity aus Ethnogrpahischen Feldforschungen
- Altturkperiode - 300 bis 400 n.Chr.

Mongolischer Hochaltai -
Graffity aus Ethnographischen Feldforschungen

In Europa

30'000 Jahre vor Chr.

Naturalistische Kunst, welche Tiere in ihren anatomischen Formen und Bwegungen möglichst naturgetreu wiedergeben will; kommt auf Geräten und Wänden in geritzen und gemalten Darstelllungen vor. Sie ist eng verbunden mit magischen Riten zur Begünstigung der Jagd.

Altsteinzeit (Paläolithikum)

Üeberlebenswirtschaft: Grosstierjagd mit Fallen, namentlich aber Steingeräten, hölzernen Wurfspeeren, Pfeil und Bogen. Sammeln von Früchten, Beeren, Wurzeln, Gräsern und wilden Getreiden. Leben in Kern- oder wenig ausgedehnten Kleinfamilien, in Zeltlagern, unter Felsüberhängen, in Höhlen. Nomadentum.

9'000 Jahre vor Chr.

Kunst in natrualistischer Tradition aber bestrebt, die Formen zu vereinfachen, zu abstrahieren und auf wenige Zeichen zu verwesentlichen, doch weiterhin verwurzelt in der Notwendgkeit naturgetreuer Widergabe.

Mittelsteinzeit (Mesolithikum)

Überlebenswirtschaft, verbunden mit Jagd und Sammeln von Früchten. Niederlassungen in natürlichen Unterschlüpfen oder jahreszeitlichen Lagern.

5'000 Jahre vor Chr.

Symbolische, abstrakte Kunst, gekennzeichnet durch die Stilisierung der Figuren. Der Mensch wird zusammen mit dem Sonnensymbol zum Hauptgegenstand der Datstellung. Szenen mit Symbolghalt gewinnen auch erzählerischen Wert. Kunst der Wandmalerei, Felszeichnungen und Graffiti auf Geröten aus Stein und Knochen.

Jungsteinzeit (Neolithikum)

Einführung der Landwirtschaft, infolgedessen Errichtung von ständigen Niederlassungen. Züchtung der Getreidesorten. Zähmung einiger Tierarten. Konstruktion landwirtschaflicher Geräte. Viehzucht. Herstellen und Brennen von Lehmgefässen. Ausübung der Jagd als Unterhaltstätigkeit. Leben in Grossfamilien.

2'800 Jahre vor Chr.

Symbolische Kunst, schematisch in der neolithischen Tradition. Szenen auch mit erzählerischem Charakter. Figuren-Kompensationen in Kultszenen. Idealförmige Darstellungen. Entwicklung der Megalithen.

Stein-Kupferzeit (Aneolithikum)

Zunahme von Ackerbau und Viehzucht. Jagd als Unterhaltsquelle. Entdeckung der Metalle und ihrer Verarbeitung. Handel.

2'000 Jahre vor Chr.

Schematische und figurative Kunst, bestrebt, die Darstellung in realistischer Formen wiederaufzunehmen. Überschwang von kultischen Figuren und Symbolen. Auffallendes Streben nach Komposition und heiligen Felsen von monumentalem Wert. Verbreitung des Phänomens der Megalithen. Szenen mit auch erzählendem Charakter, welche Momente aus dem religiösen wie materiellen Leben schildern.

Bronzezeit

Einführung der Bronze, daher Zunahme der handwerklichen Tätigkeit, des Handels mit rohen und fertigen Erzeugnissen: Werkzeuge, Waffen, Schmuckgegenstände. Zunahme von Ackerbau und Viehzucht. Konsolidierung des Privatbesitzes. Konstruktion des Karrens. Jagd. Feste Siedlungen in Dörfern und auf Pfählen. Grossfamilien.

1'000 Jahre vor Chr.

Fortdauer der symbolischen Kunst, verbunden mit fetischistischen Äusserungen. Zunahme der veristisch erzählenden Kunst in Darstellungen alter menschlichen Tätigkeiten, intellektueller, manueller, religiöser Art. Fortdauer der Tradition des Ritzens. Dekadenz infolge der Begegnung mit der etruskischen und römischen Zivilisation in Europa.

Eisenzeit

Entwicklung des Handels. Einführung des Eisens, daher neuer Aufschwung des Handwerks. Ackerbau, Viehzucht und Jagd in Berggegenden. Feste Siedlungen mit Landwirtschaft. Bergbau und der Anlage grosser Handelsplätze. Verbreitung der Meditereanen Kulturen in Europa.

PageTop