Face Music - about Artists - Ensemble Khuree Tsam
  • Dance Ensemble Khuree Tsam - Traditional Religion Dance of Buddhists




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


- Text available in German -

The dance performance with masks is a pantomime mystery play, and for this reason these performances are part of ceremonous services held by Buddhists. The word is of Tibetian origin and means "dance".

Historical development of the performances

In Tibet there have always been performed mystery plays and cult dances since time immemorial on; on these occasions, magnificent masks have been worn. On the occasion of certain religious holidays of the year such a masque is presented. Apart from this, there are also magic ceremonies (Tantrism) making use of masks, too.
The performance is supposed to be a relic from century-old rites of fertility and banishment. As far as it is possible to have a survey on early Tibetian traditions, dance performances were given on the occasion of festivities celebrating New Year and spring as well as on the occasion of midsummer festivities. In Bontum the New Year dances were seen as a symbol of the successful fight of good against evil as well as an illustration of the soon-to-come victory of spring over the dark forces, the lords of the long Tibetian winter. A very long time ago human beings and animals were sacrificed at New Year, in order to please the spirits and demons and to guarantee their favour for the days of the year to come. The followers of the Bon religion called the old Tibetian mystery play "the Dance of the Red Tiger".
In the works of Agwangchädub (a scholar and head of the monk community) there is stipulated that these masques have their origin in India where in older times special actors (in part professional actors) with masks and in the costumes of the gods and demons danced and performed dialogues.
The Indian Padmasambhava, a Buddhist teacher of religion and mystic, founded the monastery Samye in Tibet (770 A. C.). By means of the performances of the "holy dance of the masks", the mythical dance of the dreadful deities, he then tried to persuade the Pagan deities and spirits, the local lords, otherwise, so as to not harm the founders of the monastery. This was the first time dance performances took place in Tibet. In this way, the purpose of the old mystery plays was transformed into a new purpose of its own. In former times these dance performances represented the victory of light over darkness, which, however, then was turned into the triumph, the victory of Lamaism over the Pagan world of the Bon religion.
At the end of the 14th century the protest of the monk Tsongkhapa against the loose morals of the Tibetian monks led to a schism of the church. Tsongkhapa became a reformator and founded the "Sect of Virtue" ("Yellow Church", known as members wearing yellow caps), and he introduced the colour yellow for the habit of the religious order. The followers of the new church also adopted the dance performances. The original dance performance of the masks, the "tsam" as it is called nowadays, was introduced by this religious order only in the 16th century when, for the first time being, "tsam performances" took place in the monastery of the Pantschen-Lama, Taschilhumbo, in Tibet.
The Mongolian population is Lamaistic, and, for this reason, they also know tsam performances. This was also the area in which the yellow church spread. In the Mongolian monasteries Buddhist art had rather sophisticatedly developed before their destruction in the 1930ies. And among these painters, sculptors, and architects as well as skilled craftsmen, there could even be found some real masters of their art.
In the Mongolian area, the first tsam performance was given in the monastery which served as residence for Chutuktu of Urga (today Ulaanbaatar), an incarnation of the Tibetian saint Taranatha; this took place in the 16th year of the reign of the Manchurian emperor Djia-tjing (1811). Mongolian masters fabricated the costumes and masks following the description given in the work by the V. Dalai Lama on the "tsam".
On the basis of the dialogues that make up part of the dance performance, the so-called speech tsam (only the funny and human roles were allowed to speak), there was taking place a transition from the pure cult action to the form of the theatre. And the performances ceased to represent only deities and demons but rather also human beings. The dancers, in addition, were not merely monks anymore but also laymen. In this connection, there is to be made special reference to the Milaraspa dance performance (Mongolian: Milaräba Tsam).


Tsam performances in Mongolia

Milaraspa-Tsam

This "tsam" (Mongolian: Milaräba) is named after the Tibetian hermit "Mila". It is based on legends telling from the life of the famous poet and recluse of the "Red Church", "Mila with the Cotton Cloth". The tsam contains dialogues for actors, which were also put down in writing in hand-written textbooks. The best known of these textbooks is called "Dance of the Protector of the Thunderbolt".

Geser-Tsam

The God of War Geser was considered to be the partron saint of the family of the Manchurian Emperor, of the warriors and herds. He guaranteed good luck for the hunt; he was the destructor of enemies and demons. He is also called "Son of Heaven".

Well-known performances of the Geser Tsam:
- In the West, in the monastery of the holy Chutuktu Ulaguksan and in the vasall monastery of the ruler Dalai Tschoinchor-wan; these two monasteries, situated in Northern Mongolia, now the People's Republic of Mongolia, also contained a faculty for studying mystics.
- In Eastern Mongolia in the monastery of the ruler Sansaraidordschi in today's city of Tschoibalsan (Bajan-Tumen) in Eastern Aimak of today's People's Republic of Mongolia; this monastery even included a Geser temple.

The Dschagchar-Tsam - Erlik-Tsam

This is the "Dance of the Iron Palace". The main role in this tsam is Erlik Nomun Khan, the Lord of the Law, also known as Tshoijoo (God of Death). This is an old Mongolian name for the God of Death, which was used for Yama by the shamans in translations of Buddhist texts.

Music


While performing the tsam, the musicians get into two lines, one behind the other. The tambourines and drummers are seated in the front row. Behind them, there are seated the wind section setting the tone as well as the cymbalists.

- see more about Instruments

Mask costumes - Boots

The mask costumes are very colourful and decorated with numerous embroidered ornaments. The costumes of the deity masks are fabricated from expensive cloths, mainly from brocade or atlas silk, whereas the fabrics for the costumes of the other masks are made from wool or cotton. The design of the masque costumes is rather unique. The sleeves are tapered to produce a tip, and they are cut rather loose in order to keep therein arms and other objects. The large collars (capes - called Modig) fall loose, reaching beyond the shoulders. Colourful applications or embroidery with religious symbols are put in the middle of the broad aprons (Dodig). The major masks wear a decorative cape (Ruujin) over the whole costume, which consists of about eight pearl strings made from human or animal bones. In Mongolia there can also be found Ruujin made from ivory. The joints are decorated with Buddhist symbols.

Ruujin

Even the boots are decorated with heads of sea monsters (Makara). These are meant to put off demons, and while dancing, the dancers try to crush their bodies by means of predetermined steps. The sole of the foot is pulled to the front top in order to not damage the soil while kicking and crushing the spirits.

Boots


Masks

The larger-than-life masks of the deities are put over the head, and they cover the whole of the face. The masks representing human beings are only facemasks of natural size.
For the production of these masks, a mass made from papier-mâché (also in Mongolia) as well as a thin and embossed copper sheet are used. In areas with larger wood resources than in the Tibetian uplands, such as in Sikkim and Bhutan, the masks are also carved from hard wood. There the humid climate would quickly destroy the paper mass. The people from Tuva, on the other side, fabricate their masks from leather.

- see more about Fabrication of Masks

- see more about Dance Masks

The mask is very often combined with a wig made from the hair of yak tails. The masks are usually colourfully painted.
The colouration of mask and costume follows old tradition and is identical with Lamaistic iconography.

Dharmapala "Jamsran" - Yama "Tshoijoo"

Yama "Tshoijoo"

Namsrai - Zamindi - Makhi

Wild Boar - Tshokdshong

Shiva - Makhi

The Old White Man

The Mongolians worship the Old Man. Originally, he was the progenitor of the individual families. He is also considered the protector of the herds and the giver of the harvest. This figure may also be found in many Asian areas. He is a God of Fertility and also the symbol of a long life. Christian Burjates consider him the Holy Nikolaus, for the Shamans he is Pan, the Spirit of Earth. In the tsam he plays the role of a clown like the Chinese monk Hoschang with his children, and he distributes sweets.

Old White Man

Old White Man with Atsaras

PageTop

Face Music - about Artists - Ensemble Khuree Tsam
  • Dance Ensemble Khuree Tsam - Maskentanz aus der Mongolei




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016



Text in German


Das Tanzspiel mit den Masken ist ein pantomimisches Mysterienspiel und deshalb zählen dessen Aufführungen zu den feierlichen Gottesdiensten der Buddhisten. Das Wort ist tibetischen Ursprungs und bedeutet "Tanz".

Geschichtliche Entwicklung der Spiele

In Tibet wurden seit Urzeiten Mysterienspiele und Kulttänze abgehalten, bei denen prächtige Masken getragen werden. Zu bestimmten Festtagen des Jahres wird ein solches Maskenspiel aufgeführt. Daneben gibt es Zauberzeremonien (Tantrismus), bei denen man ebenfalls Masken verwendet.
Das Spiel ist vermutlich ein Relikt uralter Fruchtbarkeits- und Bannrituale. Soweit wir die Frühzeit Tibets überblicken können, wurden Tanzspiele anlässlich des Neujahrs- und Frühlingsfestes und auch bei der Sonnenwende gefeiert. Im Bontum galten die Neujahrstänze als Symbol des siegreichen Kampfes der Kräfte des Guten gegen das Böse und als Veranschaulichung des nahenden Sieges des Frühjahres über die dunklen Gewalten, die Herrscher des langen tibetischen Winters. Zur Neujahrszeit wurden einst Menschen und Tiere geopfert, um die Geister und Dämonen günstig zu stimmen und ihr Wohlwollen für die Tage des neuen Jahrs zu sichern. Das alttibetische Mysterienspiel wurde von den damaligen Bekennern des Bonglaubens als "Der Tanz des roten Tigers" bezeichnet.
In Schriften von Agwangchädub (ein Gelehrter und Haupt der Mönchsgemeinde, der im 19. Jahrhundert im Kloster von Urga lebte) wird erwähnt, dass diese Maskenspiele aus Indien stammen, wo im Altertum besondere Akteure (zum Teil Berufsschauspieler) mit Masken und in der Kleidung der Götter oder Dämonen tanzten und Dialoge vortrugen.
Der Inder Padmasambhava, ein buddhistischer Religionslehrer und Mystiker, gründete das Kloster Samye in Tibet (770 n. Chr.). Mit der Aufführung des "heiligen Tanzes der Masken", dem mythischen Tanz der furchteinflössenden Gottheiten, versuchte er damals, die heidnischen Götter und Geister, die Herren der Gegend umzustimmen, damit den Erbauern des Klosters kein Schaden zugefügt werde. Somit fanden erstmals Tanzspiele in Tibet statt. Damit spannte man den Sinn der alten Mysterienspiele für eigene Zwecke ein. Sollten früher die Tanzspiele den Sieg des Lichtes über die Finsternis darstellen, so wurden sie nun zum Triumph, zum Sieg des Lamaismus über die heidnische Welt des Bonglaubens.
Ende des vierzehnten Jahrhunderts kam es durch den Protest des Mönchs Tsongkhapa gegen die verlotterten Sitten der Mönche in Tibet zu einer Spaltung der Kirche. Tsongkhapa wurde zum Reformator und gründete die "Tugend-Sekte" ("Gelbe Kirche", uns bekannt als die Gelbmützen) und führte die gelbe Farbe als Ordenstracht ein. Die Anhänger der neuen Kirche übernahmen auch die Tanzspiele. Das eigentliche Tanzspiel der Masken, das "Tsam" wie es heute genannt wird, wurde von ihnen erst im 16. Jahrhundert eingeführt und zwar fanden erstmals "Tsamspiele" im Pantschen-Lama-Kloster Taschilhumbo in Tibet statt.
Die Mongolen sind Lamaisten und kennen daher das Tsamspiel ebenfalls. Hier ist auch das Verbreitungsgebiet der gelben Kirche. In den mongolischen Klöstern war die buddhistische Kunst bis kurz vor ihrer Zerstörung in den 30iger-Jahren sehr hoch entwickelt und es gab Meister unter den Malern, Bildhauern und Architekten sowie sehr geschickte Handwerker.
In der Mongolei wurde zum ersten Mal ein Tsamspiel im Kloster, welches Chutuktu von Urga (heute Ulaanbaatar), einer Inkarnation des tibetischen Heiligen Taranatha, als Residenz diente, abgehalten, und zwar im 16. Regierungsjahr des Mandschu-Kaisers Djia-tjing (1811). Die Kostüme und Masken wurden von mongolischen Meistern nach der Beschreibung des Werkes, das der V. Dalai Lama über den "Tsam" geschrieben hatte, angefertigt.
Ausgehend von den im Tanzspiel vorkommenden Wechselgesprächen, dem sogenannten Sprech-Tsam (es durften aber nur die komischen und menschlichen Rollen sprechen), fand ein Übergang von der reinen Kulthandlung zum Theater statt. Ferner kommen hier nicht mehr ausschliesslich Götter und Dämonen zur Darstellung, sondern eben auch Menschen. Zudem befinden sich unter den Tänzern nicht mehr nur Mönche, sondern auch Laien. Damit ist besonders auf das Milaraspa-Tanz-Spiel (mongolisch: Milaräba-Tsam) hinzuweisen.


Tsam-Spiele in der Mongolei

Milaraspa-Tsam

Dieser "Tsam" (mongolisch: Milaräba) ist nach dem tibetischen Eremiten "Mila" benannt worden. Ihm liegen Legenden aus dem Leben des berühmten Dichters und Einsiedlers der "roten Kirche", "Mila mit dem Baumwolltuch", zugrunde. Der "Tsam" enthält Wechselreden für die Schauspieler, welche auch in handgeschriebenen Textbüchern festgehalten wurden. Das bekannteste dieser Textbücher heisst: "Tanz des Donnerkeilbeschützers".

Geser-Tsam

Der Kriegsgott Geser galt als Schutzpatron der mandschurischen Kaiserfamilie, der Krieger und Herden. Er war der Garant für Jagdglück, der Vernichter der Feinde und Dämonen. Man nennt ihn auch "Sohn des Himmels".
Bekannte Aufführungen des Geser-Tsam:
- Im Westen, im Kloster des heiligen Chutuktu Ulaguksan und im Lehnkloster des Fürsten Dalai Tschoinchor-wan; diese beiden in der Nordmongolei, der heutigen Mongolischen Volksrepublik gelegenen Klöster hatten auch eine Fakultät zum Studium für Mystik.
- Im Osten der Mongolei im Kloster des Fürsten Sansaraidordschi in der heutigen Stadt Tschoibalsan (Bajan-Tumen) im Ost-Aimak der heutigen Mongolischen Volksrepublik; dieses Kloster besass sogar einen Geser-Tempel.

Das Dschagchar-Tsam - Erlik-Tsam

Das ist der "Tanz des Eisernen Palastes". Die Hauptfigur in diesem "Tsam" ist Erlik Nomun Khan, der Gesetzeskönig, der auch Tshoijoo (Todesgott) genannt wird. Hierbei handelt es sich um den alten, von den Schamanen benutzten, mongolische Namen für den Todesgott, der bei Übersetzungen buddhistischer Texte für Yama eingesetzt wurde.


Musik


Die Musikanten stellen sich beim Tsam-Spiel in zwei Reihen hintereinander auf. Tschinellenschläger und Trommler sitzen in der ersten Reihe. Dahinter stehen die beim Tanz tonangebenden Bläser sowie die Zimbelschläger.

- mehr Informationen zu verwendete Instrumente

Maskenkostüme und Stiefel

Die Maskenkostüme sind sehr farbig und mit zahlreichen gestickten Ornamenten verziert. Die Kostüme der Göttermasken werden aus kostbaren Stoffen, zumeist aus Brokat- oder Atlasseide angefertigt, während die Stoffe für die Kostüme der anderen Masken meist aus Wolle oder Baumwolle sind. Der Schnitt der Maskenkleider ist eigenartig. Die Ärmel laufen am Ende in einen Spitz aus und sind weit geschnitten, damit darin Waffen und andere Gegenstände verwahrt werden können. Die riesigen Kragen (Schulterumhänge - Modig genannt) fallen bis über die Schultern. Auf die breiten Schürzen (Dodig) werden in der Mitte farbige Applikationen oder Stickereien mit religiösen Symbolen angebracht. Die bedeutenden Masken tragen über dem ganzen Gewand einen Schmuckumhang (Ruujin), der aus etwa acht Perlenschnüren aus Menschen- oder Tierknochen besteht. In der Mongolei gibt es auch Ruujin, die aus Elfenbein gefertigt sind. An den Verbundstellen sind buddhistische Symbole angebracht.

Ruujin

Sogar die Stiefel werden mit Köpfen von Meerungeheuern (Makara) verziert. Diese sollen die bösen Geister abschrecken und beim Tanz wird mit den vorgeschriebenen Schritten versucht, deren Körper zu zermalmen. Die Fusssohle wird dabei vorn nach oben gezogen, damit beim Treten und Zermalmen der Geister die Erde nicht beschädigt werden kann.

Stiefel



Masken

Die überlebensgrossen Masken der Gottheiten werden über den Kopf gestülpt und bedecken das ganze Gesicht. Die Masken, welche Menschen darstellenden, sind nur Gesichtsmasken von natürlicher Grösse.
Zur Anfertigung der Masken wird sowohl eine Masse aus Papiermaché (auch in der Mongolei), wie auch dünnes, getriebenes Kupferblech verwendet. In Gegenden, in denen es mehr Holz gibt als im tibetischen Hochland, so in Sikkim und Bhutan, sind die Masken aus hartem Holz geschnitzt. Dort würde das feuchte Klima die Papiermasse bald zerstören. Die Tuwiner hingegen fertigen ihre Masken aus Leder an.

- mehr Informationen zu Maskenherstellung

- mehr Informationen zu Tanz Masken

Zur Maske wird oft eine Perücke aus Yakschwanzhaar getragen. Die Masken sind meist bunt bemalt.
Die Farbgebung bei Maske und Gewand entspricht alter Überlieferung und deckt sich mit der lamaistischen Ikonographie.

Dharmapala "Jamsran" - Yama "Tshoijoo"

Yama "Tshoijoo"

Namsrai - Zamindi - Makhi

Wild Boar - Tshokdshong

Shiva - Makhi

Der Weisse Alte - Old White Man

Die Mongolen verehren den alten Mann. Er ist ursprünglich der Ahnherr der Geschlechterverbände. Er gilt auch als Hüter der Herden und Spender der Ernte. Die Figur lässt sich in vielen Gebieten Asiens nachweisen. Er ist ein Fruchtbarkeitsgott und auch Symbol für ein langes Leben. Christliche Burjaten sehen in ihm den Heiligen Nikolaus, bei den Schamanisten ist er Pan, der Geist der Erde. Im Tsam spielt er eine Clownrolle wie der chinesische Mönch Hoschang mit seinen Kindern und verteilt Süssigkeiten.

Old White Man

Old White Man with Atsaras

PageTop