Face Music - Projects - Tsam Dance Mongolia
  • Traditional Dance of Buddhists - Instruments, Costumes and Masks




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


Monastic Orchestra

A monastic orchestra normally consists of twenty people, no matter whether this is a large or a small monastery. When performing the tsam, the musicians get into two lines, one behind the other. The tambourines and drummers are seated in the front row. Behind them, there are seated the wind section setting the tone as well as the cymbalists.

Instruments

- Cymbals = small sound plates (Mongolian: Tsan)
They look like small brass plates, in the middle of which there are put knob-like handgrips.

- Cymbals = large sound plates (Mongolian: also Tsan)
These are plates made from bell metall with knob-like handgrips in the centre.

Tsan

- Denshig = sound plates (they are only used in Mongolia)
These are two planished brass plates, the grips (knobs) of which are connected by a small strap. On the occasion of church services a Lama bangs two small plates against one another, thus producing a sound similar to the sound of a little bell, but significantly smoother and more melodic.


Denshig

- Kettledrums or large drums (Mongolian: Hengereg)
These are the major instruments of the orchestra. Apart from them, there are also smaller drums (Mongolian: Damar) that are tuned differently. They are remarkably broad. The drumsticks are very often bent in a S-form and sometimes have their ends in the form of the head of an elephant-seal or sea elephant.

Hengereg

Damar

- Tibetian long horn = trumpet (Mongolian: Ikh buree)
The trumpets made from copper have a length of 2 to 5 metres. They give a bloodcurdling bass note which then swells and dies away.
As the legend has it, his Indian friends gave Padmasambhava these instruments in order to offer him a replacement for the bellowing of the heavenly elephants he could not find an opportunity to listen to in Odijana where he had been invited to.

- Lavai = white shell (Mongolian: Tsagaan buree)
White shells with whorls leading from the left to the right handside are considered a lucky charm, and therefore they are very much in demand. In order to blow them, they are equipped with a mouthpiece made from brass.
According to a Lamaistic legend, Buddha himself gave this instrument to the Dragon King as a present.

Lavai

Flute made from human bones (Mongolian: Gangling)
It has a similar form like an oboe. Louver and mouthpiece are enclosed with silver or gold.
These flutes are also used as ritual objects. They should be made from femurs of human beings who had very high or low social ranking, who died of an infectious disease, or who were murder victims.
"The most magic effect, however, is said to be associated with a gangling that was manufactured from the left femur of a 16-year-old Indian who had been member of the priest caste."

Gangling

- Trumpet (Mongolian: Bishgüür)
A trumpet made from copper and decorated with rich ornaments.

Bishgüür (Mongolia) Metal trumpet (Tibet)

- Gongs
They are also made from copper and give sound by means of drumsticks.


Mask Costumes - Boots

The mask costumes are very colourful and decorated with numerous embroidered ornaments. The costumes of the deity masks are fabricated from expensive cloths, mainly from brocade or atlas silk, whereas the fabrics for the costumes of the other masks are made from wool or cotton.

- Costumes
The design of the masque costumes is rather unique. The sleeves are tapered to produce a tip, and they are cut rather loose in order to keep therein arms and other objects. The large collars (capes) fall loose, reaching beyond the shoulders. Religious symbols are sawn on the costumes in the middle of the broad aprons.

- Cape
(Mongolian: Modig)

- Apron
(Mongolian: Dodig)

The major masks wear a decorative cape over the whole costume (Ruujin), which consists of about eight pearl strings made from human or animal bones. In Mongolia there can also be found capes made from ivory. The joints are decorated with Buddhist symbols.

Ruujin

Even the boots are decorated with heads of sea monsters (Makara). These are meant to put off demons, and while dancing, the dancers try to crush their bodies by means of predetermined steps. The sole of the foot is pulled to the front top in order to not damage the soil while kicking and crushing the spirits.

Boots


Masks

The larger-than-life masks of the deities are put over the head, and they cover the whole of the face. The masks representing human beings are only facemasks of natural size.
For the production of these masks, a mass made from papier-mâché (also in Mongolia) as well as a thin and embossed copper sheet are used. In areas with larger wood resources than in the Tibetian uplands, such as in Sikkim and Bhutan, the masks are also carved from hard wood. There the humid climate would quickly destroy the paper mass. The people from Tua, on the other side, fabricate their masks from leather.

- see more about Production of masks

- see more about Dance Masks

The mask is very often combined with a wig made from the hair of yak tails. The masks are usually colourfully painted.
The colouration of mask and costume follows old tradition and is identical with Lamaistic iconography.

   
back to the Index – Projects Mongolia


Ulaanbaatar, September / October 1999 - Albi
English translation: Hermelinde Steiner

PageTop

Face Music - Projects - Tsam Dance Mongolia
  • Traditional Dance of Buddhists - Instrumente, Kostüme und Masken




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


Klosterorchester

Ein Klosterorchester besteht meistens aus zwanzig Mann, und zwar gleichgültig, ob es sich um ein grosses oder ein kleines Kloster handelt. Die Musikanten stellen sich beim Tsam-Spiel in zwei Reihen hintereinander auf. Tschinellenschläger und Trommler sitzen in der ersten Reihe. Dahinter stehen die beim Tanz tonangebenden Bläser und die Zimbelschläger.

Verwendete Instrumente

- Zimbeln = kleine Klangbecken (mongolisch: Tsan)
Sie sehen wie kleine Messingdeckel aus, in deren Mitte knopfförmige Handgriffe angebracht sind.

- Tschinellen = grosse Klangbecken (mongolisch: auch Tsan)
Das sind aus Glockenmetall angefertigte Deckel mit knopfförmigen Handgriffen in der Mitte.

- Denshig = Klangbecken (sie werden nur in der Mongolei verwendet)
Das sind zwei ausgebeulte Messingteller, deren Griffe (Knäufe) durch einen kleinen Riemen verbunden sind. Bei den Gottesdiensten schlägt ein Lama zwei Tellerchen gegeneinander, was einen dem Anschlag eines Glöckchens ähnlichen Ton erzeugt, der aber bedeutend weicher und melodischer ist.

Denshig


- Pauken oder grosse Trommeln (mongolisch: Hengereg)
Das sind die Hauptinstrumente des Orchesters. Daneben gibt es auch kleinere, auf mongolisch Damar genannte Trommeln, die verschieden abgestimmt sind. Sie sind bemerkenswert breit. Die Trommelschlegel sind oft s-förmig gebogen und enden manchmal in einem See- oder Meerelefantenkopf.

Hengereg

Damar

- Tibetisches Langhorn = Trompete (mongolisch: Ikh buree)
Die aus Kupfer gearbeiteten Trompeten haben eine Länge von zwei bis fünf Metern. Sie geben einen schauerlichen Basston, den man langsam an- und abschwellen lässt.
Nach einer Legende wurden Padmasambhava diese Instrumente von seinen indischen Freunden verehrt, um ihm einen Ersatz für das Brüllen der himmlischen Elefanten zu bieten, das zu hören er in Odijana, wohin man ihn eingeladen hatte, keine Gelegenheit fand.

- Lavai = weisse Muschel (mongolisch: Tsagaan buree)
Weisse Muscheln, deren Windungen von links nach rechts verlaufen, werden als Glückssymbol angesehen und sind deshalb besonders gesucht. Um auf ihnen blasen zu können, werden sie mit einem Messingmundstück versehen.
Eine lamaistische Legende besagt, dass Buddha selbst dieses Instrument dem Drachenkönig geschenkt habe.

Lavai

Flöte aus Menschenknochen (mongolisch: Gangling)
Ihrer Form nach gleichen sie einer Oboe. Schallöffnung und Mundstück sind in Silber oder Gold eingefasst.
Sie finden auch als Kultgegenstand Verwendung. Man soll sie aus den Oberschenkelknochen von Menschen anfertigen, die entweder einem sehr hohen oder sehr niederen Stand angehören, an einer ansteckenden Krankheit starben oder einem Mörder zum Opfer fielen.
"Die grösste magische Wirkung besitzt aber angeblich ein Gangling, den man aus dem linken Oberschenkelknochen einer sechzehnjährigen, der Priesterkaste angehörenden Inderin, anfertigte."

Gangling

- Trompete (mongolisch: Bishgüür)
Eine aus Kupfer hergestellte und reich mit Ornamenten verzierte Trompete.

Bishgüür (Mongolia) Metal trumpet (Tibet)

- Gongs
Sie sind ebenfalls aus Kupfer und werden mit Schlegeln zum erklingen gebracht.


Maskenkostüme und Stiefel

Die Maskenkostüme sind sehr farbig und mit zahlreichen gestickten Ornamenten verziert. Die Kostüme der Göttermasken werden aus kostbaren Stoffen, zumeist aus Brokat- oder Atlasseide angefertigt, während die Stoffe für die Kostüme der anderen Masken meist aus Wolle oder Baumwolle sind.

- Maskenkleid
Der Schnitt der Maskenkleider ist eigenartig. Die Aermel laufen an ihrem Ende in einen Spitz aus und sind weit geschnitten, damit darin Waffen und andere Gegenstände aufbewahrt werden können. Die riesigen Kragen (Schulterumhänge) fallen bis über die Schultern. In der Mitte der breiten Schürzen werden religiöse Symbole aufgenäht.

- Schulterumhang (mongolisch: Modig)

- Schürze (mongolisch: Dodig)

Die wichtigen Masken tragen über dem ganzen Gewand einen Schmuckumhang (Ruujin), der aus etwa acht Schnüren mit Perlen aus Menschen- oder Tierknochen besteht. In der Mongolei gibt es auch solche, die aus Elfenbein gefertigt sind. An den Verbundstellen sind buddhistische Symbole angebracht.

Ruujin

Sogar die Stiefel werden mit Köpfen von Meerungeheuern (Makara) verziert. Diese sollen die bösen Geister abschrecken und beim Tanz wird mit den vorgeschriebenen Schritten versucht, deren Körper zu zermalmen. Die Fusssohle wird dabei vorn nach oben gezogen, damit beim Treten und Zermalmen der Geister die Erde nicht beschädigt werden kann.

Stiefel



Masken

Die überlebensgrossen Masken der Gottheiten werden über den Kopf gestülpt und bedecken das ganze Gesicht. Die Masken, welche Menschen darstellenden, sind nur Gesichtsmasken von natürlicher Grösse.
Zur Anfertigung der Masken wird sowohl eine Masse aus Papiermaché (auch in der Mongolei), wie auch dünnes, getriebenes Kupferblech verwendet. In Gegenden, in denen es mehr Holz gibt als im tibetischen Hochland, so in Sikkim und Bhutan, sind die Masken aus hartem Holz geschnitzt. Dort würde das feuchte Klima die Papiermasse bald zerstören. Die Tuwiner hingegen fertigen ihre Masken aus Leder an.

- mehr Informationen zu Maskenherstellung

- mehr Informationen zu Tanz Masken

Zur Maske wird oft eine Perücke aus Yakschwanzhaar getragen. Die Masken sind meist bunt bemalt.
Die Farbgebung bei Maske und Gewand entspricht alter Überlieferung und deckt sich mit der lamaistischen Ikonographie.

   
back to the Index – Projects Mongolia

 

Ulaanbaatar, September / Oktober 1999 - Albi

PageTop