Face Music - Catalog - Ensemble Khan Bogd

- Chinggis Ayalguu - Vol. III - Traditional songs from Mongolia




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- next new album
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- tour projects
- Concerts
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 09-2014


- FM 50051 - P & C 2009

1. Tsagaan zagal mori, white-brown horse – short song (bogino duu) – 1:37
2. Bor boriin byalzuukhai, little yellow-brown bird – long song (suman urtiin duu) – 17:15
3. Samriin gurvan tolgoi, the mountain with the three tops – short song (bogino duu) – 3:21
4. Aranjidmaa – short song (bogino duu) – 2:26
5. Khatir – ring dance (johor dance) – 2:12
6. Uvgun shuvuu, the old bird – long song (aizam urtiin duu) – 8:21
7. Ekhiin duu – lullaby, short song (buuvein bogino duu) – 3:23
8. Saikhan khangain buga, stag of the beautiful mountains – short song (bogino duu) – 2:43
9. Bukuujuu gelgui yakhav, first love – short song, (baruun bogino duu) – 2:27
10. Shigshirgiin ai, when a horse moving fast – short song (bogino duu) – 1:38
11. Taliin tavan tolgoi, the mountain with the five tops – short song (bogino duu) – 2:35
12. Goolingoo – short song (bogino duu) – 5:43
13. Nogoon dari ekhiin Burelvaa, Burelvaa the Green Tara – magtaal (praising song) – 3:15
14. Altan noyon galuu khuu, the young golden prince Goose - fable – 9:43


The ensemble was founded in 1997. All its members have studied at the academy of music in Ulaanbaatar.

The Mongolians conferred the title Khan (Khan = King) to their highest-ranking ruler (tribal chief) of the tribes. Undur Gegeen Zanabazar was the first Bogd (1635-1723), this high-ranking Buddhist monk ruled from Urga*, the historic capital of Mongolia. He was a highly acclaimed monk and statesman, and he was also Mongolia's greatest artist. The Mongolians called their greatest khan ever, the conqueror Chinggis Khan, Bogd Ezen (Holy Lord). In the Mongolian language this designation is also used for important or holy mountains or even whole mountain ranges.

*Ulaanbaatar has had numerous names in its history. From 1639–1706, it was known as Örgöö, and from 1706–1911 as Ikh Khüree. Its Chinese name was Kulun. Upon independence in 1911, with both the secular government and the Bogd Khan's palace present, the city's name changed to Niislei Khüree. Ulaanbaatar was usually known as Urga.
When the city became the capital of the new Mongolian People's Republic in 1924, its name was changed to Ulaanbaatar ("Red Warriors" or "Red Heroes"), in honour of Mongolia's national hero Damdin Sukhbaatar, whose warriors liberated Mongolia from Ungern von Sternberg`s troops and Chinese occupation shoulder-to-shoulder with the Soviet Red Army. His statue still adorns Ulaanbaatar's central square.

There are performed short songs (bogino duu) and long songs (urtiin duu), with the female voice assuming an important role. The songs are about nature, man, animals (especially the horse) and the land of the Mongolian in general.

Urtiin duu (long song) melismatic and richly ornamented, with a slow tempo, long melodic lines, wide intervals and no fixed rhythm.
It is sung in verses, without a regular refrain and with a full voice in the highest register. The melody has a coat, which covers three octaves. This requires a strict observance of the breathing rules. The breathing is actually free, but the singer has to keep the strict rules of performance, making only the absolutely necessary breathing breaks without interrupting the melodic ornaments. The richer the voice is and the longer the singer can hold it, the more intensive is the attention paid by the audience and the more appreciated is this performance.
People usually practise these long songs while being alone in the open steppe and slowly riding along. The repertory is an expression of the liberty and the vastness of the Mongolian steppe and is used to accompany the rites of the seasonal cycles and the ceremonies of everyday life. Long songs are an integral part of the celebrations held in the round tents, and they must be sung following the strict rules of performance.
Besreg duu - the shortened one have short verses, refrains, and melodic courses full of leaps and bounds.
Bogino duu (short song) - strophic, syllabic, rhythmically tied, sung without ornaments.
Short songs are never sung at celebrations, since they are spontaneously improvised and rather satirical. They are often sung in the form of a dialogue and speak of certain friends and incidents, or they are lyrical tales about love, about everyday life and about animals, especially horses.

The Mongolian songs have a rich repertory. Music spread from ger to ger on the occasion of festivities and by way of teaching. The family or the clan meeting constituted a good opportunity to gather and sing together, the chance to learn from others, and to take home a new melody. In this way, the ancient patterns performed in various corners of Mongolia have been preserved by local masters for the whole nation.

The nomad shepherds in Mongolia, like other nomads from Central Asia, used to play string and wind instruments. The national music of Mongolia has had a rich background and a great tradition that goes back many centuries. Ensembles (orchesters) have performed at court or in the monasteries for lamaistic celebrations or in ritual ceremonies. Ensembles also play for daily rites in the ger (yurt – round tents). The morin khuur (horsehead violin or 'fiddle') (morin = horse; khuur = sound, rhyme, melody) is the most important traditional instrument for dance and to accompany songs. It is the national instrument.


Songs

1. Tsagaan zagal mori, white -brown horse - short song (bogino duu)
Traditional song from the Bayankhongor aimag in Southwestern Mongolia.
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, Togtokhjargal Buyankhishig: morin khuur
A girl rides with her white-brown horse through snow-covered mountain ranges to the town in order to visit her mother living there. It snows heavily, and the horse gets whiter and whiter. The girl is well dressed, and has also made up herself for this visit. When entering the house, the door creaks. The girl is happy to see her mother in her old home. She wants to visit her ageing mother more frequently in the future; actually whenever it is possible; in spring, in summer, again and again, in all seasons.

Togtokhjargal Buyankhishig: ikili, morin khuur and khun tovshuur
2. Bor boriin byalzuukhai, little yellow-brown bird - long song (suman urtiin duu)
Traditional melody from the Borjigin clan (Borjigid). The most renowned family in Inner Asia provided the ruling princes for Mongolia and Inner Mongolia and for the Kazakhs.
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, Togtokhjargal Buyankhishig: morin khuur
A little yellow-brownish bird sits in front of the house and sings.
A man misses his bride and has been drinking for the last two days and nights. His love is called Algiimaa and is of the same age as he is. She has moved far away to the Northwest, and he cannot visit her every day as he used to do.
The man sings about his love to the bride he misses, and he plans to visit her with the yellow-brown horse that would run in a smooth canter (joroo mori) and is decorated with silver harness (jiijuu silver khazaar).
3. Samriin gurvan tolgoi - short song (bogino duu)
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, Togtokhjargal Buyankhishig: morin khuur, Uyanga Gankhuya: khuuchir, Solongo Gankhuyag: yatga, denshig
Name of the mountain with the three tops (heads).
A nomad visits the girl he loves with his horse, and he rides to the mountains with the three heads where they will meet. They sit together and enjoy the beautiful time they are going to spend with each other.
This song is about the love of a young pair, which has agreed to meet there. They sing about the beautiful nature of their home country, of the landscapes and about their love.
4. Aranjidmaa - short song (bogino duu)
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, Togtokhjargal Buyankhishig: morin khuur, Uyanga Gankhuya: khuuchir, Solongo Gankhuyag: yatga, rattle
Guests are usually urged to drink three glasses of vodka at the occasion of a wedding or a party. Each person invited has to empty such a glass again and again and to issue a toast. It is obvious that at occasions like these, when there is drunk so much alcohol, wild fights are often the result.
In this song a youg women with the name Aranjidmaa sings about her loved husband who was sentenced to prison in a black yurt because he had been fighting when being drunk. .
But also the husband misses his wife, and he hopes that she will visit him soon so that he can tell her how much he loves her. It does not make sense to scream and shout, because she does love you, too, and she will visit you soon.


Uyanga Gankhuya: khuuchir
5. Khatir - ring dance (johor dance)
Traditional song from the Buryat tribe. This tribe performs this song and dances around in a circle, like horses do, faster and faster. This song, however, also has the meaning of friendship.
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, Togtokhjargal Buyankhishig: morin khuur, Uyanga Gankhuya: khuuchir, Solongo Gankhuyag: yatga
On a little space, as big as a saddlecloth.
We dance around and around ...
Only the Buryats cultivated the tradition of this ritual dance, and they wear their traditional costumes with the silver hair decoration. They do not dance uninterruptedly, but stop inbetween to chat, and they tell stories about their ancestors; in this way handing their own tradition down to the next generation. There is done a lot of dancing, singing and storytelling until the morning dawn.
6. Uvgun shuvuu , the old bird - long song (aizam urtiin duu)
Traditional melody from the Khalk tribe in Central Mongolia.
The old bird, a song by Danzanravjaa, a famous writer from the Gobi region.
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, Togtokhjargal Buyankhishig: morin khuur
This song is about man and animal living together and their respect for nature.
The summer is always the most beautiful season in which man and animals, also wild animals, and also the birds enjoy this warm season. The birds sail in the wind - like the nomads moving around, moving around with their herds in nature.
7. Ekhiin duu - lullaby - short song (buuvein bogino duu)
Lullaby from the Zakhchin tribe in Western Mongolia.
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice
This song is sung from the view of a toddler that cannot speak but watches his surroundings rather carefully.
The life of the Mongolian women is a rather hard one. In the yurt, there have to be performed a lot of daily duties which include, among others, raising and feeding the children, cooking food, feeding the animals and milking them.
Also a young mother has to perform many heavy duties (carrying water, collecting dung, firing the oven, etc.).
The little one is crying because it is hungry; at the same time the mother's breasts hurt, milk is welling. It is time to feed the baby. The young mother knows that her baby misses her.
The mother sings, sleep, my son, sleep, but the little one keeps on crying, like a little bird hungrily waiting to be fed but whose mother is still far away in the woods searching for food. Sleep, my son, sleep .....

Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice
8. Saikhan khangain buga, stag of the beautiful mountains - short song (bogino duu)
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, Togtokhjargal Buyankhishig: morin khuur, Uyanga Gankhuya: khuuchir, Solongo Gankhuyag: yatga
If a stag senses that it is rutting season, it starts to bell and in this way tries to catch attention.
In this period of time, a boy longs for the love of his mother and remembers the happy times he has spent with his mother.
9. Bukujuu gelgui yakhav, first love - short song, (baruun bogino duu)
Traditional song from Western Mongolia.
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, Togtokhjargal Buyankhishig: morin khuur, Uyanga Gankhuya: khuuchir, Solongo Gankhuyag: yatga
About first love. Many young people want to find a first love, and they also want to marry their loved one.

- Many vertebras. I want the red, choosing many men, but I only want to choose you.
- Ten vertebras. I want the white, choosing ten men, but I only want to choose you.
- Thousand vertebras. I want the brown, choosing thousand men, but I only want to choose you.
- Of all these, I only choose my loved Bukujuu.
10. Shigshirgiin ai, when a horse is moving fast - short song (bogino duu)
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, Togtokhjargal Buyankhishig: morin khuur, Uyanga Gankhuya: khuuchir, Solongo Gankhuyag: yatga, percussion
Movement of the horse, it sounds like tarap....tarap.... It sounds like the play of this drum (Shigshirgiin).
The silver head decorations of the female rider form a harmonious sound with the movement of the horse, it sounds like the melody of the steppe.
11. Taliin tavan tolgoi - short song (bogino duu)
Traditional song from the Bayankhongor aimag in Southwestern Mongolia.
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, Togtokhjargal Buyankhishig: morin khuur, Uyanga Gankhuya: khuuchir, Solongo Gankhuyag: yatga
Name of the mountain with the five tops (heads) in the southern part of the Gobi.
The husband of a Mongolian woman serves in the army. She misses him very much as five years are a very long time. For this reason, she dreams of him and of the horses in the steppe, and she thinks that she is going to marry him rather quickly when he comes back home.
The song is about the patience and discipline of a woman who waits for her lover.

Solongo Gankhuyag: yatga
12. Goolingoo - short song (bogino duu)
Traditional song from the Ikh Khüree time. Ulaanbaatar had numerous names during its history. From 1706 - 1911 there was the time of Ikh Khüree. The Chinese name of the town was Kulun.
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, Togtokhjargal Buyankhishig: morin khuur, Uyanga Gankhuya: khuuchir, Solongo Gankhuyag: yatga
In this song there are described the dreams of a young man about his love.
A young man dreams of his love Goolingoo, also when he is asleep, and he thinks about her all the time. He remembers her lovely words. During the day and no matter where he is, even in the mountains when he is with his horses and cows, she is always with him.
Old people are afraid that this is an ill omen, and, for this reason, it should only be sung for those already deceased.
13. Nogoon dari ekhiin Burelvaa, Burelvaa the Green Tara - magtaal (praising song)
(shashin turiin khundetgeliin ardiin duu)
Magtaal are sung in honour of the gods of Lamaism and the spirits of nature, heralds or in particular animals. Epic texts also contain praise songs for the mountains, the rivers, and nature in general. This is an ancient tradition still practised up to the present days by the tribes in the region of Mongol-Altai in Western Mongolia.
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, Togtokhjargal Buyankhishig: morin khuur, Uyanga Gankhuya: khuuchir, Solongo Gankhuyag: yatga, denshig, cymbals, damar
It is a praising song on the rebirth of the Green Tara. Two high-ranking Mongolian monks, who are considered to be the rebirth of the Green Tara, are honoured here in this song.
14. Altan noyon galuu khuu, the young golden prince Goose - fable
Heroic-epic song (tuuli) from the Khalk tribe in Central Mongolia.
- Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, khun tovshuur
The young, golden prince Goose has a horse with wings. (Altan noyon galuu Khan khuu).
Once upon a long time, there was a stone castle at the end of the big ocean in which there was living the young, 15 years old prince Goose. He lived in a yurt (ger), the uppermost ring of which was held together by twelve struts decorated with corals, gems, silver and gold.
One day the young prince visited his father and asked him, "Father, what is my future?" The father then answered him, "You have to take care of 20,000 horses and you have to marry your future wife. She is a member of the family of the Genghis Khan line. She has black eyes, red lips, and she has become a beautiful young women. Now it is time to go and take her home."
The prince follows his father's advice and takes this young bride home into his yurt. But he does not spend nine days with her alone, he has also taken his horse into the yurt (ger).
After some time the father visits his son and asks him, "Why don't you take your horse back to the herd? In the yurt (ger) it will only wither. If you do not need your horse, take it back to the herd, so that it can enjoy the pastures and so that the herd is thriving."
And really, today the prince admires his best horse that happily enjoys with the other horses of the herd the steppe like a free bird. Now the prince saddles his horse and rides with his horse into the steppe - as fast as the wind. His subjects admire his good horse, which has become a wonderful part of the herd and such a good horse. The prince loves his faithful horse, such as he loves his bride, and he remains happy forever.


Festivities in the round tent of the princes, accompanied by music



Instruments

- Khun tovshuur - Tovshuur (string instrument)


Nomin-Erdene Battulga: female voice, khun tovshuur

The khun tovshuur is a two-stringed instrument similar to the lutes of Tuva, Altai or Kazakhstan. The body and the neck are carved from cedar wood and the body is often coated with the leather of wild animals, camels or goats. In the Mongolian area, the end of the head is formed like a swan (khun = swan) The strings are plaited with horsetail hair and tuned in the interval of a fourth. The lute is often played with a bow made of willow like the ikili a two-string fiddle.
The West Mongols use this lute to accompany the "tuuli" (heroic-epic myths) and the "magtaal" (praise songs).


- Khuuchir (string instrument)

Formerly, the nomads (called "the savages") mainly used the snake skin violin or horsetail violin. The Chinese call it "the Mongol instrument" or "Huk'in". It is tuned in the interval of a fifth and is small or middle sized.

- Morin khuur (string instrument - horse-head-violin)

The morin khuur is a typical Mongolian two-stringed instrument. The body and the neck are carved from wood. The end of the neck has the form of a horsehead and the sound is similar to that of a violin or a cello. The strings are made of dried deer or mountain sheep sinews. It is played with a bow made of willow, stringed with horsetail hair and coated with larch or cedar wood resin.

- Yatga (string instrument)

The yatga is a half-tube zither with a movable bridge. It is constructed as a box with a convex surface and an end bent towards the ground. The strings are plucked and the sound is very smooth. The instrument was considered to be sacrosanct and playing it was a rite, bound to taboos. The instrument was mainly used at court and in monasteries, since strings symbolised the twelve levels of the palace hierarchy.
Shepherds were forbidden to play the twelve-stringed zither, but they were allowed to play the ten-stringed zither, which was also used for interludes during recitations of epics.

- Denshig – small bells (percussion instrument)

They are only used in the Mongolian and Tibetian region. These are two plainished brass plates, the grips (knobs) of which are connected by means of a small band. On the occasion of services, a lama bangs the two little plates together, thereby producing a sound similar to the touch of a small bell but significantly softer and more melodic.

- Cymbals = small sound plates (Mongolian: Tsan)

They look like small brass plates, in the middle of which there are put knob-like handgrips.

- Rattle (with sheepbone)

Revised by Hermelinde Steiner


PageTop

Face Music - Catalog - Ensemble Khan Bogd

- Chinggis Ayalguu - Vol. III - Traditionelle Lieder aus der Mongolei




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


- FM 50051 - P & C 2009
more information: in German - see: Ensemble Khan Bogd


- Das Ensemble wurde 1997 gegründet. Alle Mitglieder haben an der Akademie für Musik in Ulaanbaatar studiert.

Die Mongolen gaben ihrem ranghöchsten Fürsten (Häuptling) der Stämme den Titel Khan (Khan = König). Undur Gegeen Zanabazar war der erste Bogd (1635-1723), dieser hohe buddhistische Mönch regierte von Urga*, der historischen Hauptstadt der Mongolei, aus: Er war ein gefeierter Mönch und Staatsmann, und er war auch der grösste mongolische Künstler. Ihren grössten Khan aller Zeiten, den Eroberer Dschinghis Khan, nannten sie Bogd Ezen (Heiliger Herr). In der Mongolei verwendet man die Bezeichnung Bogd auch für wichtige oder heilige Berge oder ganze Gebirgszüge.
*Ulaanbaatar ist in der Geschichte unter vielen verschiedenen Namen bekannt. 1639–1706 wurde es als Örgöö bezeichnet, von 1706–1911 als Ikh Khüree. Der chinesische Name für diese Stadt lautete Kulun.
Nach der Unabhängigkeit im Jahre 1911 wurde, da sowohl das weltliche Parlament und der Palast des Bogd Khan in der Stadt lagen, der Name der Stadt in Niislei Khüree umgewandelt. Für gewöhnlich war Ulaanbaatar als Urga bekannt.
Als die Stadt im Jahre 1924 zur Hauptstadt der neuen Mongolischen Volksrepublik gemacht wurde, änderte man ihren Namen in Ulaanbaatar ("Rote Krieger" oder "Rote Helden "), um damit den mongolischen Nationalhelden Damdin Sukhbaatar zu ehren, dessen Krieger die Mongolei - gemeinsam mit der Roten Armee der Sowjetunion - von Ungern von Sternbergs Truppen und der chinesischen Besetzung befreit hatten. Seine Statue ziert immer noch den Hauptplatz in Ulaanbaatar.

Es werden kurze Lieder (bogino duu) und lange Lieder (urtiin duu) werden vorgetragen, in denen die Frauenstimme eine wichtige Bedeutung einnimmt. Sie handeln von der Natur, den Menschen, den Tieren (vor allem dem Pferd) und dem Land der Mongolen im Allgemeinen.

Urtiin duu - langes Lied (long song), melismatisch reich verziert, langsame Tempi, lange Melodien, grosse Intervalle, hat keinen festen Rhythmus.
Es wird in Strophenform gesungen, ohne eigentlichen Refrain und mit voller Stimme und in höchster Lage. Die Melodie hat einen Mantel, man singt mehr als drei Oktaven, und sie verlangt eine strenge Einhaltung der Atmung. Die Atmung ist eigentlich frei, doch man hat sich an strenge Vortragsregeln zu halten, nämlich so wenige Pausen wie möglich zum Luft holen zu machen und keine Ornamente zu unterbrechen. Je länger und reichhaltiger die Stimme gehalten werden kann, um so grösser ist die Aufmerksamkeit der Zuhörer und umso eher erfährt man während des Auftritts hohe Annerkennung.
Die Leute üben diese langen Lieder vor allem, wenn sie in der offenen Steppe allein sind und langsam voranreiten. Das Repertoire ist Ausdruck für die Freiheit und die Weite der mongolischen Steppen und begleitet auch zyklische Riten des Jahres und Zeremonien des alltäglichen Lebens. Es bildet einen wesentlichsten Bestandteil bei Festen in den Rundzelten und unterliegt strengen Vortragsregeln.
Besreg duu - das Verkürzte Lied hat Kurzverse, Kehrreime und sprunghafte Melodieverläufe.
Bogino duu - kurzes Lied (short song) strophisch, syllabisch, rhythmisch gebunden, wird ohne Verzierungen vorgetragen.
Bei Feierlichkeiten werden niemals kurze Lieder verwendet, da diese spontan improvisiert werden und eher satirischer Natur sind. Sie haben oft Dialogform und handeln von bestimmten Freunden und Begebenheiten. Sie erzählen oft in lyrischer Form von der Liebe, dem Alltag oder von Tieren, insbesondere von Pferden.


Die mongolischen Lieder weisen ein grosses Repertoire auf. Musik verbreitete sich von Ger zu Ger anlässlich von Festen und durch Unterricht. Das Familien- oder Clan-Treffen stellte eine gute Möglichkeit dar, sich zu treffen und gemeinsam zu singen, von anderen zu lernen und eine neue Melodie mit nach Hause zu nehmen. Auf diese Weise wurden die alten Muster, die in verschiedenen Ecken der Mongolei dargebracht wurden, durch die lokalen Meister für die gesamte Nation erhalten.

Die Nomadenhirten in der Mongolei spielten, wie andere Nomaden Innerasiens, Saiten- und Blasinstrumente. Die einheimische Musik der Mongolei besitzt einen reichen Hintergrund sowie eine Jahrhunderte alte Tradition. Die Ensembles (Orchester) haben am Hof oder in den Klöstern für lamaistische Feierlichkeiten oder anlässlich von rituellen Zeremonien gespielt. Die Ensembles spielen aber auch für täglichen Rituale und Feste in den Gers (Jurte – runde Hirtenzelte). Die Morin Khuur (Pferdekopf-Geige oder "Fiddel") (morin = Pferd; khuur = Ton, Reim, Melodie) ist das wichtigste traditionelle Instrument für den Tanz und zur Begleitung von Liedern. Es stellt das Nationalinstrument dar.


Lieder

1. Tsagaan zagal mori, ein weiss-braunes Pferd - kurzes Lied
Traditionelles Lied aus Bajanchongor aimag in der südwestlichen Mongolei.
- Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice, Buyankhishig Togtokhjargal: morin khuur
Ein Mädchen reitet mit seinem weiss-braunen Pferd durch das verschneite Gebirge in die Stadt, um dort ihre Mutter zu besuchen. Es schneit heftig, und das Pferd wird immer weisser. Sie hat sich gut gekleidet und für diesen Besuch auch zurecht gemacht. Beim Öffnen der Holztür knarrt diese. Das Mädchen ist glücklich, ihre Mutter im alten Heim anzutreffen. Sie will ihre alternde Mutter noch oft besuchen, eigentlich immer, wenn es möglich ist: im Frühling, im Sommer, immer wieder und zu allen Jahreszeiten.
2. Bor boriin byalzuukhai, gelb -brauens Vögelchen - langes Lied
Traditionelle Melodie vom Borjigin-Clan (Borjigid). Diese allgemein bekannte Familie Mittelasiens lieferte die herrschenden Prinzen für die Äussere und Innere Mongolei und die Kasachen.
Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice, Buyankhishig Togtokhjargal: morin khuur
Ein kleines, gelb-braunes Vögelchen sitzt vor dem Hause und singt.
Ein Mann vermisst seine Braut und drinkt deswegen seit zwei Tagen und Nächten. Seine Geliebte trägt den Namen Algiimaa und ist gleichen Alters wie er. Sie ist weit weg nach Nordwesten umgezogen und er kann sie nicht mehr täglich besuchen.
Der Mann singt über seine Liebe zur vermissten Braut und plant sie mit dem gelb-braunen Pferd zu besuchen, das in einem ruhigen Galopp zu gehen pflegt (Joroo mori) und mit Silber behangenem Kopfgeschirr geschmückt ist (jiijuu silver khazaar).
3. Samriin gurvan tolgoi - kurzes Lied
- Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice, Buyankhishig Togtokhjargal: morin khuur, Gankhuya Uyanga: khuuchir, Gankhuyag Solongo: yatga, denshig
Name des Gebirges mit den drei Spitzen (Köpfen).
Ein Nomade besucht seine Geliebte mit dem Pferd und reitet zu den Bergen mit den drei Köpfen, wo er sich mit ihr trifft. Sie sitzen zusammen und geniessen gemeinsam die glückliche Zeit, die sie nun zusammen verbringen.
Dieses Lied erzählt von der Liebe eines jungen Paares, das sich miteinander verabredet hat. Sie singen über die Schönheit der Natur ihrer Heimat, deren Landschaften und über ihre Verliebtheit.
4. Aranjidmaa - kurzes Lied
- Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice, Buyankhishig Togtokhjargal: morin khuur, Gankhuya Uyanga: khuuchir, Gankhuyag Solongo: yatga
Gäste werden bei einer Hochzeit oder bei einem Fest bei ihrer Ankunft angehalten, drei Gläser Schnaps zu trinken. Jeder Eingeladene muss immer wieder ein Glas austrinken und dazu einen Toast aussprechen ("Anstossen"). Deshalb kommt es bei solchen Anlässen, bei denen so viel getrunken wird, immer wieder zu wilden Schlägereien.
In diesem Lied singt eine junge Frau namens Aranjidmaa über den geliebten Ehemann, der wegen Prügelns in angetrunkenem Zustand nun in einem schwarzen Ger in Haft gehalten wird.
Doch auch der Mann vermisst seine Gattin und hofft, dass sie ihn bald besuchen kommt, damit er ihr seine Liebe bezeugen kann. Es nützt nichts zu schreien, sie liebt dich ja auch und wird dich bald besuchen.
5. Khatir - Ringtanz (Johor Tanz)
Traditionelles Lied vom Stamm der Burjaten. Diese singen dieses Lied und tanzen dazu im Kreis, wie Pferde sich bewegen, schneller immer schneller. Dieses Lied hat aber auch die Bedeutung von Freundschaft.
- Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice, Buyankhishig Togtokhjargal: morin khuur, Gankhuya Uyanga: khuuchir, Gankhuyag Solongo: yatga
Auf kleinem Raum, so gross wie eine Satteldecke.
Tanzen wir schön rundum ...
Nur die Burjaten pflegen diesen Ritualtanz und tragen dazu ihre traditionellen Trachten mit dem silbernen Kopfschmuck. Sie tanzen nicht durchgehend, schwatzen dazwischen und erzählen sich Geschichten über ihre Vorfahren und geben somit ihre Traditionen an die nächste Generation weiter. Es wird getanzt, gesungen und bis zum Sonnenaufgang erzählt.
6. Uvgun shuvuu, der alte Vogel - langes Lied
Traditionelle Melodie vom Khalk-Stamm aus der Zentralmongolei.
Der alte Vogel, ein Lied von Danzanrawjaa, einem berühmten Schriftsteller aus der Gobiregion.
- Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice, Buyankhishig Togtokhjargal: morin khuur
Das Lied erzählt vom Zusammenleben von Mensch und Tier und ihrem Respekt gegenüber der Natur.
Der Sommer ist jeweils die schönste Zeit, in welcher sich Menschen und Tiere, auch wilde Tiere, und eben die Vögel an dieser warmen Jahreszeit erfreuen. Die Vögel gleiten im Wind daher und machen es den umherziehenden Nomaden gleich, die mit ihren Herden in der Natur umherziehen.
7. Ekhiin duu, Wiegelied - kurzes Lied
Wiegenlied vom Stamm Tsachtschin (Zakhchin) in der Westmongolei.
- Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice
Erzählt wird von einem Kleinkind, das noch nicht sprechen kann, aber seine Umwelt eingehend betrachtet.
Mongolische Frauen haben ein hartes Leben. Im Ger muss täglich viel Arbeit erledigt werden. Neben dem Erziehen und Versorgen der Kinder gehören auch das Kochen und Füttern der Tiere sowie das Melken dieser dazu.
Auch eine junge Mutter hat schwere Arbeiten zu erledigen (Wasser tragen, Dung einsammeln, Ofen anheizen etc.).
Das Kleine weint, weil es Hunger hat, gleichzeitig schmerzen der Mutter die Brüste, die Milch quillt an. Zeit, das Baby zu stillen. Die junge Mutter weiss, dass ihr Baby sie vermisst.
Die Mutter singt, schlaf, mein Sohn, schlaf, doch das Kleine schreit weiter, wie ein kleines Vögelchen, das hungrig ist und auf das Futter wartet, dessen Mutter aber noch weit entfernt im Wald nach Nahrung sucht. Schlaf, mein Sohn, schlaf.....
8. Saikhan khangain buga, Hirsch des schönen Gebirges - kurzes Lied
- Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice, Buyankhishig Togtokhjargal: morin khuur, Gankhuya Uyanga: khuuchir, Gankhuyag Solongo: yatga
Wenn ein Hirsch die Brunst spürt, beginnt er zu „röhren“ und macht dadurch auf sich aufmerksam.
Zu einer solchen Zeit sehnt sich ein Knabe sehnsüchtig nach Mutterliebe und erinnert sich an die glücklichen Zeiten, die er mit seiner Mutter zusammen verbrachte.
9. Bukuujuu gelgui yakhav, erste Liebe - kurzes Lied
Traditionelles Lied aus der westlichen Mongolei.
- Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice, Buyankhishig Togtokhjargal: morin khuur, Gankhuya Uyanga: khuuchir, Gankhuyag Solongo: yatga
Über die erste Liebe. Viele junge Leute wünschen sich, ihre erste Liebe zu gewinnen und diese auch zu heiraten.

- Viele Wirbelknochen. Ich will das Rote, viele Männer wählen, aber ich will dich wählen.
- Zehn Wirbelknochen. Ich will das Weisse, zehn Männer wählen, aber ich will nur dich.
- Tausend Wirbelknochen. Ich will das Braune, tausend Männer wählen, aber ich will nur dich.
- Von all diesen, ich wähle nur meinen lieben Bukuujuu.
10. Shigshirgiin ai, wenn ein Pferd sich schnell bewegt - kurzes Lied
- Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice, Buyankhishig Togtokhjargal: morin khuur, Gankhuyag Uyanga: khuuchir, Gankhuyag Solongo: yatga, percussion
Lauf des Pferdes, es klingt wie tarap.... .tarap.... Es klingt wie das Spiel dieser Trommel (Shigshirgiin).
Die Silberbehänge des Kopfschmuckes der Reiterin bilden mit dem Lauf des Pferdes einen harmonierenden Klang, es klingt wie die Melodie der Steppe.
11. Taliin tavan tolgoi - kurzes Lied
Traditionelles Lied aus Bajanchongor aimag in der südwestlichen Mongolei.
- Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice, Buyankhishig Togtokhjargal: morin khuur, Gankhuya Uyanga: khuuchir, Gankhuyag Solongo: yatga
Name des Gebirges mit den fünf Spitzen in der Südgobi (Köpfen).
Der Ehemann einer Mongolin ist im Militärdienst. Sie vermisst ihn sehr, denn fünf Jahre sind eine lange Zeit. Daher träumt sie von ihm und den Pferden in der Steppe und denkt, dass sie ihn schnell heiraten will, wenn er zurück kommt.
Das Lied erzählt von der Geduld und Disziplin einer Frau, die auf ihren Geliebten wartet.
12. Goolingoo - kurzes Lied
Traditionelles Lied aus der Zeit Ikh Khüree. Ulaanbaatar hatte während seiner Geschichte zahlreiche verschiedene Namen. Die Zeit von Ikh Khüree reichte von 1706 - 1911. Der chinesische Name für die Stadt lautete Kulun.
- Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice, Buyankhishig Togtokhjargal: morin khuur, Gankhuya Uyanga: khuuchir, Gankhuyag Solongo: yatga
In diesem Lied werden die Träume eines Jünglings zur Geliebten beschrieben.
Ein Jüngling träumt von seiner Geliebten Goolingoo, auch wenn er schläft, und er denkt andauernd an sie. Er erinnert sich an ihre lieblichen Worte. Tagsüber und überall, auch in den Bergen bei den Pferden und Kühen ist sie immer bei ihm.
Alte Leute denken dabei, dies sei ein schlechtes Omen, weshalb es nur für Verstorbene gesungen werden sollte.
13. Nogoon dari ekhiin Burelvaa, Burelvaa der Grüne Tara - Magtaal (Loblied)
(shashin turiin khundetgeliin ardiin duu).
Loblieder (Magtaal) werden zu Ehren der lamaistischen Götter und Naturgeister, Helden oder einzelner Tiere gesungen. Epentexte enthalten auch Lobgesänge an Berge, Flüsse, die Natur im Allgemeinen. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine uralte Tradition, wie sie auch heute noch von den Stämmen im Raume des Mongol-Altai im Westen der Mongolei lebendig gehalten wird.
- Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice, Buyankhishig Togtokhjargal: morin khuur, Gankhuya Uyanga: khuuchir, Gankhuyag Solongo: yatga, denshig, cymbals, rattle
Ein Loblied auf die Wiedergeburt der Grünen Tara. Zwei hochrangige mongolische Mönche, die als Wiedergeburt der Grünen Tara gehalten werden, werden hier in diesem Lied geehrt.
14. Altan noyon galuu khuu, der junge goldene Fürst Gans - Fabel
Episches Heldenlied (tuuli) vom Stamm der Khalk in der Zentralmongolei.
- Battulga Nomin-Erdene: female voice, khun tovshuur
Der junge, goldene Fürst Gans hat ein Pferd mit Flügeln. (Altan noyon galuu Khan khuu).
Vor langer Zeit stand am Ende des grossen Ozeans eine steinerne Burg, in welcher der junge, noch fünfzehnjährige Prinz Gans lebte - in einem Ger, dessen oberer Ring mit zwölf Streben gehalten wird, die mit Korallen, Edelsteinen, Silber und Gold verziert sind.
Eines Tages besuchte der junge Prinz seinen Vater und fragt ihn: "Worin liegt meine Zukunft?" Der Vater antwortet ihm darauf: "Du hast 20.000 Pferde zu versorgen und deine zukünftige Braut zu ehelichen. Sie stammt aus der Familie der Dschinghis Khan Linie. Sie hat schwarze Augen, rote Lippen und ist eine wunderschöne junge Frau geworden. Es wird nun an der Zeit, sie zu holen.“
Der Prinz geht, wie sein Vater ihm geraten hat, und holt sich diese junge Braut ins Ger. Doch verbringt er neun Tage nicht nur bei ihr allein, sondern hat auch sein Pferd ins Ger genommen.
Nach einer Weile besucht der Vater seinen Sohn und fragt ihn: „Warum bringst du dein Pferd nicht zur Herde zurück? In deinem Heim verkümmert es ja nur. Wenn du dein Pferd nicht brauchst, so bring es zur Herde zurück, damit es sich mit den anderen Pferden auf der Weide wohl fühlen kann und die Herde gut gedeiht."
Tatsächlich bewundert heute der Prinz sein bestes Pferd, wie es sich in der Herde wohl fühlt und sich glücklich wie ein freier Vogel in der Steppe vergnügt. Nun sattelt der Prinz sein Pferd und reitet mit ihm wie der Wind in die Steppe hinaus. Die Untertanen bewundern sein gutes Pferd, das sich so gut in der Herde gehalten hat und nun ein gutes Pferd geworden ist. Der Prinz liebte sein treues Pferd, wie auch seine treue Braut und lebt glücklich und zufrieden.


Instrumente


- Khun tovshuur - Tovshuur
(Saiteninstrument)

Die "Khun tovshuur" ist ein zweisaitiges lautenartiges Saiteninstrument, ähnlich der tuwanischen, altaischen und kasachischen Laute. Korpus und Hals werden aus Zedernholz geschnitzt. In der Mongolei wird das Kopfende wie ein Schwan geformt (khun = Schwan). Der Korpus wird oft mit weichem Leder von Wildtieren, Kamel- oder Ziegenfell überzogen. Die Saiten sind aus Pferdeschwanzhaaren gewunden. Die beiden Saiten werden im Abstand einer Quarte gestimmt. Die Laute wird häufig mit einem Bogen aus dem Holz einer Weide gespielt, wie dies bei der Ikili, einer zweisaitigen Geige, der Fall ist.
Die Westmongolen verwenden diese Laute zur Begleitung von "tuuli" (heroischepische Sagen) und "Magtaal" (Loblieder).

- Khuuchir (Saiteninstrument)

Schlangenhaut-Geige oder Rosshaar-Geige - ein Streichinstrument, das vorab von den Nomaden (genannt "die Wilden") verwendet wurde. Die Chinesen nennen es "Mongolen-Instrument" oder "Huk'in". Es ist im Intervall einer Quint gestimmt und besitzt eine kleine oder mittlere Grösse.

- Morin khuur (Saiteninstrument - Pferdekopf-Geige)

Die Pferdekopf-Geige ist ein typisch traditionelles, zweisaitiges Instrument der Mongolen. Der Boden und der Hals sind aus Holz gefertigt. Das Ende des Halses hat die Form eines Pferdekopfes, und der Klang ist vergleichbar mit dem einer Violine oder eines Cellos. Die Saiten werden aus getrockneten Hirsch- oder Bergschafsehnen gewunden. Es wird mit einem Bogen gespielt, der aus Weidengerte gefertigt wird und mit Pferdeschwanzhaaren bespannt ist, die mit Lärchen- oder Zederholzharz bestrichen wird.

- Yatga (Saiteninstrument)

Eine gestrichene Wölbbrettzither mit beweglichen Stegen. Sie besteht aus einem schmalen, gewölbten, hohlen Holzkorpus und einem flachen Holzboden. Die Saiten werden gezupft, und ihr Ton ist sehr sanft. Das Instrument galt als heilig, und sein Spiel war an Rituale und Tabus gebunden. Es wurde vorwiegend am Hofe und in Klöstern verwendet, da die Saiten die zwölf Stufen der Palasthierarchie symbolisierten.
Das Spiel dieser zwölfsaitigen Zither war den Hirten vorerst verboten, ihnen war nur das Spielen der Zehnsaitigen gestattet, mit der auch Epen vorgetragen wurden.

- Denshig – kleine Klangbecken (Schlaginstrument)

Diese werden nur im Gebiet der Mongolei und Tibet gespielt. Dabei handelt es sich um zwei ausgebeulte Messingteller, deren Griffe (Knäufe) durch einen kleinen Riemen verbunden sind. Bei den Gottesdiensten schlägt ein Lama zwei Tellerchen gegeneinander, was einen dem Anschlag eines Glöckchens ähnlichen Ton erzeugt, der aber bedeutend weicher und melodischer ist.

- Zimbeln = kleine Klangbecken (mongolisch: Tsan)

Sie sehen wie kleine Messingdeckel aus, in deren Mitte knopfförmige Handgriffe angebracht sind.

- Rassel (aus Schafsknochen)

Revidiert durch Hermelinde Steiner


PageTop