Face Music – FM Suisse

 

Mongolian traditional dance masks of Buddhists – Masks dance revival




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


Text in German


The dance with masks experience a revival

At the beginning, Tsam ceremonies were held to exorcise evil. Tsam in Tibet (cham, means mask dance) had a narrative content and was once practiced in Tibet, Ladakh, Nepal, Sikkim, Bhutan, China, and Mongolia. But only in Ladakh and Bhutan and at a few remote, inaccessible monasteries it was protected from destructive politics and the impact of Western civilization. The festival fell victim to ruthless goverments.

The performance with masks and dance began to restart as the result of tourist attraction rather than religious tradition and their rituals.

In 1990 the Mongolian museums released new exhibitions with masks and costumes on the basic of old documents (they strictly follow Buddhists iconography).

Since 1989 there have been produced, by order of the Juulchinn company D. Batbold, N. Gankhuyag, Ulaankhuu and Kh. Buuveibaatar under the teaching of Lama Danzan, Lama Sereeter and with the artists Chamban Darambarar and Tsend, new masks and Tsam costumes. They all have been active in ceremonies and have themselved performed Tsam dancing in the monastery of Bogdo Gegen ("Living Buddha"). In the same period there was founded the "Ensemble Tumen Erkh", and it began to perform mask dances in Mongolia and abroad. Later the Ensemble Temuzhin, the Mongolian State Folk Song and Dance Ensemble, the Jamukha Ensemble were established. The monks from the Mandshir Monastery of the Tuv aimag have started to create masks and costumes, and they have initiated new performances.

At the end of 1990 Tsam has also began to be performed again in monasteries. The Ikh Khuree Tsam was performed for the first time on 15-04-1999. Since that, Khuree Tsam has been performed every year in religious and traditional rituals. In order to create the masks and costumes and for the cheography, there have participated Khamba Danzan, Gesgui Sereeter and some other lamas and also some artists of the Duinkhar Datsan monastery in the production. Today in Mongolia efforts are being made to revive the tradition, with elderly monks who survived persecution teaching young monks the rituals and choreography of Tsam. Now Mongolian's Tsam takes its place again in the Buddhists' religion and traditional rituals. Tsam masks of Mongolian production, for example, are exceptionally large and have an artistic expressiveness and are only rarely matched in other countries.

Amarbayasgalant Monastery started again to perform its famous Tsam in 2002: the dance of "Dharmaraja" (Yama) or "Kalarupa" (Lord of Death, King of the Dharma).

- more information see brief History of Tsam in Mongolia

   
back to the Index – Projects Mongolia

PageTop

Face Music – FM Suisse

 

Tsam in der Mongolei – Maskentanz revival




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


Text in German


Der Maskentanz erlebt einen neuen Aufschwung

Zu Beginn wurden Tsam-Zeremonien abgehalten, um das Böse auszutreiben. In Tibet (cham = Maskentanz) wies das Tsam einen erzählerischen Inhalt auf, und es wurde in Tibet, Ladakh, Nepal, Sikkim, Bhutan, China und der Mongolei aufgeführt. Aber nur in Ladakh und im Bhutan sowie in einigen schwer erreichbaren Klöstern war das Tsam vor den zerstörerischen Politiken und den Einflüssen der westlichen Zivilisation geschützt. Die Feierlichkeiten fielen skrupellosen Regierungen zum Opfer.

Die Darbietung mit Masken und Tanz begann ihren erneuten Aufschwung als ein Ergebnis von Touristenattraktionen und nicht religiöser Tradition und deren Ritualen.

1990 gaben mongolische Museen neue Ausstellungen mit Masken und Kostümen auf der Basis alter Dokumente frei (die streng der buddhistischen Ikonographie folgen).

Seit 1989 wurden im Auftrag der Juulchinn Firma D. Batbold, N. Gankhuyag, Ulaankhuu und Kh. Buuveibaatar auf Grundlage der Lehren von Lama Danzan, Lama Sereeter und mithilfe von Künstlern wie Chamban Darambarar und Tsend neue Masken und Tsam-Kostüme erzeugt. Sie alle hatten an solchen Zeremonien teilgenommen und Tsam-Tänze im Kloster von Bogdo Gegen ("Living Buddha") aufgeführt. In derselben Zeit wurde auch das "Ensemble Tumen Erkh" gegründet, das damit begann, Maskentänze in der Mongolei und im Ausland aufzuführen. Später wurden das Ensemble Temuzhin, das Mongolian State Folk Song and Dance Ensemble und das Jamukha Ensemble gegründet. Die Mönche aus dem Mandshir Kloster im Tuv aimag haben damit begonnen, Masken und Kostüme zu erzeugen, weiters haben sie neue Darbietungen initiiert.

Zu Beginn der 1990-er wurde das Tsam auch wieder in Klöstern aufgeführt. Das Ikh Khuree Tsam wurde erstmals am 15. April 1999 aufgeführt. Seit diesem Zeitpunkt wurde das Khuree Tsam jedes Jahr in religiösen und traditionellen Ritualen dargeboten. Um die Masken und Kostüme herzustellen und für die Choreographie nahmen Khamba Danzan, Gesgui Sereeter und einige andere Lamas und auch einige Künstler des Duinkhar Datsan Klosters an dieser Produktion teil. Heute gibt es in der Mongolei Bemühungen, die Tradition wieder aufleben zu lassen, wobei ältere Mönche, die der Verfolgung entfliehen konnten, junge Mönche die Rituale und Choreographie des Tsams lehrten. Nunmehr nimmt das mongolische Tsam erneut seinen Platz in der buddhistischen Religion und in den traditionellen Ritualen ein. Tsam-Masken dieser mongolischen Produktion sind z.B. aussergewöhnlich gross und besitzen eine künstlerische Ausdruckskraft, die sich nur sehr selten in anderen Ländern wiederfindet.

2002 begann das Kloster Amarbayasgalant erneut mit Aufführungen seines berühmten Tsams: dem Tanz "Dharmaraja" oder "Kalarupa" (Lord of Death, King of the Dharma).

- mehr Information siehe kurze Geschichte des Tsams in der Mongolei



   
back to the Index – Projects Mongolia

PageTop