Face Music - Mongolian traditional costumes
  • Mongolian traditional (national) costumes




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- next new album
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- tour projects
- Concerts
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 11-2014


Text in German


The traditional dress of the Mongols has a rich history spanning many centuries. It is closely connected with the Mongolian way of life and the country. The costumes are used in different situations; somebody rides on horseback over the steppe, he sits at home in his ger (yurt - round felt tent), or he dances at a national festival. The conditions of climate excert influence on the kind of dress, the costumes for the seasons of the year. In summer the Mongols wear a light coat or frock, the "Terleg" (deel - summer coat), in spring, autumn and winter a wadded coat (row cotton), the "Khovontei Deel", or a lambskin coat, the "Khurgan Dotortoi Deel", in winter they wear a sheepskin dress reminding of a fur coat, the "Tsagaan Nekhii Deel".

The Mongolian national costume is a robelike garment called a deel, that, like the Tibetan robe, has no pockets. The deel is worn with a thin silk sash several yards long tightly wound around the waist. Attached to the sash are essential objects such as the eating set, tinder pouch, snuff bottle, and tobacco and pipe pouches. Mongols, like the nomadic Tibetans and Manchurians, use an ingeniously designed eating set incorporating a sharp knife and a pair of chopsticks, and sometimes also includes a toothpick, ear scratcher, and a tweezer. They are made of precious metals and embellished with semi-precious stones.

The dress reflects the age of the wearer. The costumes of elderly people are, as a rule, modest and plain. The female dress shows differences between the attire of the girls and that of married women. The latter is decorated and adorned more splendidly with ornaments and jewellery. The design of the garments, the combination of colours as well as the decorative ornaments speak of an old tradition. The national costumes were mostly brown and dark blue. The Mongols wear the coat with the oblique border, the "Tashuu Engertei Deel", and the coat with the rectangular border, the "Durvuljin Engertei Deel". The materials from which the dresses were sewn were either produced by the people themselves, such as "leather, wool, and fur", or dresses have been made from silk, cotton, wool, and brocades and were richly decorated with jewellery and ornaments of gold, silver, corals, pearls, and precious stones. Every nationality has its own headdress (i.g. the "Toortsog", "Yuden", and "Zharantai"), hence there are many different kinds of caps and boots. The master (male or female) was able to glue, quilt, and stuff with wadding; he knew the symbolism of the ornaments used on the dresses, the symbolism of the colours and their combination.


- see more about Ornaments - Ornaments of the Turk-Mongolian tribe

The largest group, the Khalkha, lives in Central and Eastern Mongolia; the Bayad, the Durvud, the Khoton, the Altai-Uriankhai, the Torguud, the Uuld, the Zakhchin and the Myangad live in the West; in Eastern Mongolia live the Dariganga, the Barga, the Uzemchin, the Buryat and the Khamnigan, and in the North the Khotgoid, the Darkhad, the Khuvsgul-Uriankhai, the Tsaatan and the Khakhar. Also the Kazakhs, who are Muslims, live in the Altai.

There are more than 20 tribes of Mongol or Turk origin living in Mongolia !

Below you find enlargements of map sections – do click on these and enjoy the view!
© Ganna & Albi - Bi-Bid & Face Music 2006


Kazakh

West Mongolia
High Altai


Winter


Summer


Zakhchin (Dzakhchin),

South-West Mongolia
Gobi Altai
Oirad tribe


Winter


Winter


Altai Uriankhai
(Altai Uryankhai)

West Mongolia
Oirad tribe



Winter


Winter


Summer


Myangat (Mingat)

West Mongolia
Gobi Altai
Oirad tribe


Winter


Bayad, Torguud (Torgut)

North-West Mongolia
Oirad tribe


Bayad


Bayad

Bayad


Bayad
Summer


Bayad
Summer


Torguud
Summer


Torguud
Summer


Khoton (Khotan)

North-West Mongolia
Turk tribe (Uighur)


Summer

Summer


Durvud (Dörvöd)

North-West Mongolia
Oirad tribe


Summer


Uuld (Ölöt)

West Mongolia
Oirad tribe




Khuvsgul-Uriankhai
(Chöwsgöl-Uryankhai)

North Mongolia


Tsaatan

Noth Mongolia
Turk tribe


Buryat (Buriad)

North Mongolia
North-
East Mongolia


Winter


Summer


Summer


Summer


Summer


Winter


Winter


Winter

Kalkha

Central Mongolia


Summer


Winter


Winter








Toortsog (Tortsog)
(Winter)

Yuden
(Winter)


Zharantai / Jarantai
Winter


Üzemchin, Dariganga,
Darkhad (Darkhat)

East Mongolia
and Inner Mongolia


Üzemchin

Üzemchin
Summer


Darkhad
Winter

Dariganga
Summer


Dariganga
Summer


Dariganga
Winter


Barga,

South-East Mongolia
and Inner Mongolia


Barga
Winter


Bogdo Gegeen
Khan Bogd
Khüree

Ulaanbaatar has had numerous names in its history. From 1706–1911
as Ikh Khüree.
Its Chinese name was Kulun.

Women
Khüree


Women
Khüree


Lama
Khüree


Civil servant
Khüree


Prince
Khüree


Prince
Khüree


Civil servant
Khüree


Civil servant
Khüree


Lkham - Käli
(tsam)

Lkham - Käli

Jamsran (tsam)

Bökh (wrestler)
Zodog shuudag
(Dsodok)
(wrestlerjacket.shorts
and boot)


PageTop

Face Music - Mongolian traditional costumes
  • Traditionelle (nationale) mongolische Trachten
  Text in German
   




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2017


Es gibt mehr als 20 Stämme mongolischen oder Turk-Ursprungs, die in der Mongolei leben !

Die traditionelle Bekleidung der Mongolen hat eine Jahrhunderte alte Geschichte. Sie ist sehr eng mit dem Lebensstil und dem Land der Mongolen verbunden. Die Trachten kommen in unterschiedlichen Situationen zum Einsatz: jemand reitet auf dem Pferderücken über die Steppe, er sitzt zu Hause in seinem Ger (Jurte - rundes Filzzelt), oder er tanzt bei einem nationalen Festival. Die Klimabedingungen üben ebenfalls Einfluss auf die Art der Bekleidung, die Kostüme für die Jahreszeiten, aus. Im Sommer tragen die Mongolen einen leichten Mantel oder Kittel, den "Terleg" (Deel - Sommermantel), im Frühling, Herbst und Winter tragen sie einen wattierten Mantel, den "Chöwöntei Deel", oder einen Mantel aus Schafleder, den "Churgan Dotortoi Deel", im Winter tragen sie auch eine Schafwollbekleidung, die an einen Pelzmantel erinnert und als "Tsagaan Nechii Deel" bezeichnet wird.

Die Nationaltracht der Mongolen ist ein robenartiges Kleidungsstück, das als Deel bezeichnet wird und das, ähnlich der Tracht der Tibeter, keine Taschen hat. Das Deel wird mit einer meterlangen Seidenschärpe getragen, die eng um die Taille herum gewickelt wird. An der Schärpe sind wichtige Gegenstände, so etwa das Essgeschirr, der Pulverbeutel, die Schnupftabakdose sowie der Tabak- und Pfeifenbeutel, befestigt. Nomaden wie die Mongolen, Tibeter oder Mandschuren verwenden ein genial konzipiertes Essgeschirr, das ein scharfes Messer und ein Paar Stäbchen umfasst; manchmal sind auch ein Zahnstocher, Ohrenkratzer und eine Pinzette beinhaltet. Diese Gegenstände sind aus wertvollen Metallen gefertigt und mit Halbedelsteinen verziert.

Auch das Alter des Trägers spiegelt sich in der Kleidung wider. Die Bekleidung der älteren Menschen ist im Allgemeinen einfach und bescheiden gehalten. Die Kleidung der Frauen unterscheidet zwischen jener für Mädchen und jener für verheiratete Frauen. Letztere ist verziert und prächtiger mit Ornamenten und Schmuck versehen. Das Design der Kleidungsstücke, die Farbkombination wie auch die dekorativen Ornamente erzählen von einer sehr alten Tradition. Die traditionellen Kostüme waren meistens braun und dunkelblau. Die Mongolen tragen einen Mantel mit schräger Bordüre, der "Taschuu Engertei Deel", und einen Mantel mit rechteckiger Bordüre, der "Durvulijn Engertei Deel". Die Materialien, aus denen die Kleidungsstücke genäht wurden, wurden entweder von den Menschen selbst erzeugt, so etwa "Leder, Wolle und Pelz", oder die Bekleidung wurde aus Seide, Baumwolle, Wolle und Brokatgeweben hergestellt und reichhaltig mit Schmuck und Ornamenten aus Gold, Silber, Korallen, Perlen und Edelsteinen verziert. Jede Nationalität besitzt ihre eigene Tracht der Kopfbedeckung (z.B. die "Toortsog", "Yuden" und "Zharantai"), und somit gibt es viele verschiedene Arten von Kappen und Schuhen. Die Meister (ob nun männlich oder weiblich) konnten die Kleidungsstücke kleben, absteppen und mit Wattierung ausstopfen; sie wussten über die Symbolik der auf den Kleidungsstücken verwendeten Ornamente, die Symbolik der Farben und deren Kombination Bescheid.


- mehr Informationen unter: Ornaments of the Turk-Mongolian tribe - in German

Die grösste Gruppe, die Chalcha, leben in der Zentral- und Ostmongolei, im Westen leben die Baiad, Dörwöd, Choton, Altai-Urianchai, Torgot, Ölöd, Dzachchin und Miangad, im Osten der Mongolei die Dariganga, Barga, Üzemchin, Buriad, und Chamnigan, im Norden die Chotgoid, Darchat, Chöwsgöl-Urianchai, Zaatan und Zakhar. Im Altai leben auch Kasachen, die Muslime sind.

Unten finden sie grössere Kartenausschnitte – klicken Sie auf diese und geniessen Sie den Anblick !

© Ganna & Albi - Bi-Bid & Face Music 2006 – © Original drawings by Yadamsuren Urjne


Kasachen



West-Mongolei
Hoch-Altai


Winter

Sommer


Tsachtschchin




Süd-West-Mongolei
- Gobi-Altai- Oirad Stamm


Winter


Winter


Altai Urianchai

West-Mongolei
Oirad Stamm



Winter


Winter)


Sommer

  Altai Urianchai

Miangad



West-Mongolei
Gobi Altai - Oirad Stamm


Winter


Baiad, Torguud

Nord-West-Mongolei
Oirad Stamm


Baiad


Baiad

Baiad


Baiad
Sommer


Baiad
Sommer


Baiad

Torguud
Sommer


Torguud
Sommer


Choton

Nord-West-Mongolei
Turk Stamm (Uighur)


Sommer


Sommer


Dörwöd



Nord-West-Mongolei
Oirad Stamm


Sommer


Ölöd


West-Mongolei
Oirad Stamm




Chöwsgöl-Urianchai

Nord-Mongolei


Zaatan




Nord-Mongolei
Turk Stamm


Buryat


Nord-Mongolei
Nord-Ost-Mongolei


Winter


Sommer


Sommer


Sommer


Sommer


Winter


Winter


Winter

Chalch


Zentral-Mongolei


Sommer


Winter


Winter









Toortsog
Winter

Yuden
Winter


Zharantai / Jarantai
Winter


Ütsemtschin, Dariganga,
Darchat

Ost-Mongolei
Innere Mongolei


Ütsemtschin

Ütsemtschin
Sommer


Darchat
Winter

Dariganga
Sommer


Dariganga
Sommer


Dariganga
Winter


Barga



Süd-Ost-Mongolei
Innere Mongolei


Winter


Bogdo Gegeen
King Bogd
Chüree

Ulaanbaatar ist in der Geschichte unter vielen verschiedenen Namen bekannt. Von 1706–1911
als Ikh Khüree.
Der chinesische Name
für diese Stadt lautete Kulun.

Tracht der Frau
Chüree


Tracht der Frau
Chüree


Lama
Chüree

Tracht der Herren
Beamte
Chüree


Tracht der Fürsten
Chüree


Tracht der Fürsten
Chüree


Tracht der Herren
Beamte
Chüree


Tracht der Herren
Beamte
Chüree


Lkham - Käli
(tsam)

Lkham - Käli

Jamsran (tsam)

Böch (Ringer)
Tsodog schuudag
(Dsodok)
(Ringerjacke, kurze Hose und Stiefel)

 

- Karte der Verbreitung der Mongolischen Sprachen
- weitere Informationen zu den Reiternomaden sind zu finden unter: Nomad – Horsmen  
- weiter Informationen zu den südlichen Völkern in Sibirien sind zu finden unter: südlichen Völker  

- weitereInformationen zu den Altaiern sind zu finden unter: Altaivölker

 

- weitere Informationen zu den Chakassiern sind zu finden unter: Chakasier

 
- weitere Informationen zu den Oiraten sind zu finden unter: Wikipedia  

- Weitere Informationen über die Buriaten sind zu finden unter: Nomaden – Horsmen oder Buriaten

   
back to the Index – Projects Mongolia


PageTop