Face Music - Old Believer
  • Old Believer - Raskolniks




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- next new album
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- tour projects
- Concerts
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 04-2014


more information: Old Believer in German

- Reform of the Church

In 1667 the conservative faithfuls, who rejected church reforms, were declared heretics by the Russian Orthodox Church. Persecuted conservatives were brought to the region of the Don Cossacks, and there they established some retreats in the 70's and 80's, especially at the river Medveditsa. Soon a major part of the cossacks was seized by the conservatives' propaganda campaign. Plans for a revolt in favour of the old belief arose; connections to the Yaik-Cossacks in the Ural area were knotted. By means of troups from Moscow, sent to the Don in 1688, Ataman Frol Minayev put an end to these plans. The conservative cossacks were expulsed. May of them were banished to the Siberian area. A part of them attempted to settle to the sovereign territory of the Polish-Lithuanian Kingdom (Belarussia, Central Ukraine and Carpathians). Another part of them moved on the Crimean area under protection of the Tartarian Khan, or onto the area of Kuban; on their way, however, they were exhausted by the south Caucasian Tcherkesses; others found a refuge at the Terek (north Caucasus). In consequence of these turmoils, the cossacks lost the right to vote for the local clergyman. The religious life in their force communities was no longer under the rule of a patriarch, but of the bishop.

The church reforms initiated by Tsar Peter could be continued under Alexei I., the Quiet One (1645-1676). Patriarch Nikon (1605-1681) had tried to clear the lithurgy from infiltrated contradiction and and to re-integrate rites of the Byzantine Church, which was met by strong resistance on the side of the Old Believers, the "Raskolniks". Thus the tasks Peter I had to face were not chosen arbitrarily, they were rather based on history and pre-designed in its development since the Russians got free of oppression by the Tatars and since their appearance in Europe as a superpower. It was, however, unusual how extremely consistently and unconditionally Peter I, the Great, pursued his aims.


- Upheaval in Russia under Tsar Peter I, the Great


Enthusiastic European friends from Nemézkaja Sloboda, a district in Moscow, very soon, actually when he was only twenty years old, gave Tsar Peter I the epithet "the Great". When they put him so enthusiasticly on a pedestal, this was partly because they had been excluded from the Russian society as heretics and considered him who maintained free and frequent contact with them to be one of their fellows; the other reason was that they admired the thirst for knowledge with which the Tsar tried to penetrate into European culture, science and technology. He was praised by his admirerers but, on the other hand, strongly condemned by his enemies, the representants of the old, Greek-Orthodox Russia. They saw him as antichrist who abolished the holy traditions of the church, who made fun of the respect for the clergy, who cleared the way for the destructive influence of Western ideas and who preferred secular endeavours to religion. Also future generations were divided into two parties in regard of the evaluation of Peter the Great: one group sees him as the original creator of Russian culture, whereas the others make him responsible for the destruction of it. Peter, nevertheless, definitely was responsible for the fact that under his rule Russia did undergo a considerable change.

His victories would not have been possible without the complete re-organisation of army and administration according to European examples. Peter pushed his reforms through with the greatest ruthlessness and despotism possible so that the people who had been exhausted under his reign by wars, their preparations and forced deportations became rather discontented. Especially the poorer classes grumbled about the reviver who wanted to change their way of living ruthlessly. The fight against the old Russian traditional costume, the caftan and the beard, which had been introduced by Peter in 1700, constituted only a symbol of the harsh intervention into daily life in Russia. The long sleeves and the impractical design of the caftan required a slow and immobile behaviour, when Peter attempted to abolish the traditional costume directly after his visit in Western Europe, he intended to turn his subjects into a working population in the sense of a nation. The bitter battle his enemies fought for the traditionall way of dressing was not futile at all: everywhere in cultural history it is documented that the eradiction of local costumes finally results in the extinction of the traditional way of thinking and local mentality. It shows a lack of historical understanding when Peter made fun of the representatives of caftan and beards. The old Russian costumes constituted an effective symbol of orthodoxy for them.

Peter, on the other side, would be understood wrongly if his attempts were compared to the standards set up today. As a human being of the 17th century, he had no sense of the organic element of historical development. He destroyed those who opposed him. He weakened the Orthodox Church, the strongest opponent of new elements, by abolishing the patriarch office (1721) and substituting it by the "most holy synode", an assembly of the highest church dignitaries. He lured his own son Alexei back home from abroad, took him to court under invalid pretext and had him executed without mercy, as he was a defender of the old system.

PageTop

Face Music - Altgläubige
  • Altgläubige - Raskolniks




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


more information: Old Believer - Altgläubige in German

-
Die Kirchenreform

1667 erklärte die russisch-orthodoxische Kirche die Altgläubigen, welche die Kirchenreform ablehnten, zu Ketzern. Verfolgte Altgläubige flüchteten auch in das Gebiet der Don-Kosaken und gründeten dort in den 70-er und 80-er Jahren einige Klausen, hauptsächlich dabei am Fluss Medwediza. Ihre Propaganda erfasste bald einen grossen Teil der dort lebenden Kosakengemeinschaften. Es entstanden Pläne eines Aufstandes für den alten Glauben, und man knüpfte Beziehungen zu den Jaik-Kosaken im Ural. 1688 machte aber Ataman Frol Minajew mit Zarentreuen Kosaken und mit Hilfe an den Don gesandter Truppen aus Moskau diesen Plänen ein Ende. Die Altgläubigen wurden vertrieben. Viele wurden in den Sibirischen Raum verbannt. Ein Teil versuchte sich unter dem Schutz des tatarischen Khans auf der Krim neu anzusiedeln: Ein Teil übersiedelte ins Hoheitsgebiet des polnisch-litauischen Königreichs (Weissrussland, die Zentralukraine und Karpaten). Einige versuchten ins Kuban-Gebiet zu gelangen, wurden jedoch unterwegs vom südkaukasischen Heer der Tscherkessen aufgerieben. Weitere fanden am Terek Fluss Zuflucht (Nordkaukasus). In der Folge dieser Wirren verloren sie das Recht, die lokale Geistlichkeit selbst zu wählen. Das geistliche Leben in ihren Gemeinschaften unterstand nicht mehr direkt dem Patriarchen, sondern einem Bischof.

Zar Peters Kirchenreformen konnten unter dem sogenannten Sanften Zaren Alexei I. (1645-1676) anknüpfen. Der Patriarch Nikon (1605-1681) hatte versucht, die Lithurgie von eingedrungenen Widersprüchen zu reinigen und auf die Riten der byzantinischen Kirche zurückzugreifen, was auf heftigen Widerstand vieler Altgläubiger "Raskolniks" gestossen war. So waren denn die Aufgaben, die sich Peter I. "der Grosse" stellte, nicht willkürlich gewählt, sie waren vielmehr geschichtlich bedingt und in der Entwicklung vorgezeichnet seit der Abschüttelung des Tatarenjoches durch die Russen und seit derem Eintritt in die Geschichte Europas als Grossmacht. Ungewöhnlich war allerdings die eiserne Folgerichtigkeit und die Unbedingtheit, mit der Peter I. "der Grosse" seine Ziele verfolgte.


-
Umbruch in Russland unter dem Zar Peter I., dem Grossen

Begeisterte europäische Freunde aus der Nemézkaja Sloboda, dem Moskauer Viertel, gaben dem Zaren Peter I. schon sehr früh, nämlich als er erst zwanzig Jahre alt war, den Beinamen "der Grosse". Als sie den jungen Monarchen so enthusiastisch auf einen Sockel hoben, so geschah es zum Teil, weil sie, die von der russischen Gesellschaft als Ketzer ferngehalten wurden, in ihm, der frei und häufig mit ihnen verkehrte, einen der ihren sahen; zum Teil aber, weil sie den Lerneifer bewunderten, mit dem der Zar in die europäische Kultur, Wissenschaft und Technik einzudringen versuchte. So hoch aber Peter von seinen Anhängern gepriesen wurde, so heftig verdammten ihn seine Feinde, die Vertreter des alten, griechisch-orthodoxen Russlands. Sie sahen in ihm den Antichristen, der die geheiligten Bräuche der Kirche abschaffte, die Ehrfurcht vor den Geistlichen ins Lächerliche zog, den zersetzenden Einflüssen des Westens Tür und Tor öffnete und an Stelle der Religion weltlichen Bestrebungen Vorschub leistete. Auch die Nachwelt hat sich in der Beurteilung Peters stets in zwei Parteien geteilt, wovon die eine in ihm den eigentlichen Schöpfer einer russischen Kultur sieht, die andere gerade umgekehrt ihren Zerstörer. Eines muss man Peter dem Grossen auf alle Fälle zubilligen: Unter seiner Herrschaft, von ihm veranlasst, hat sich in Russland eine Wandlung vollzogen.

Seine Siege wären ohne völlige Umgestaltung des Heeres und der Verwaltung nach europäischem Muster unmöglich gewesen. In seinem Reformwerk ging Peter rücksichtslos und despotisch bis aufs äusserste vor, so dass in den letzten Jahren das durch Kriege, deren Vorbereitung und durch Zwangseinquartierungen erschöpfte Volk unter seiner Herrschaft schwer seufzte. Gerade die ärmeren Schichten murrten gegen den Erneuerer, der ihre Lebensweise erbarmungslos ändern wollte. Der Kampf gegen die alte russische Tracht, den Kaftan und den Bart, den Peter 1700 einleitete, war nur sinnbildlich für einen einschneidenden Eingriff ins tägliche Leben der Russen. Die langen Ärmel und der unpraktische Schnitt des Kaftans hatten ein beschauliches, unbewegliches Dasein geradezu zur Voraussetzung; als Peter nach der Rückkehr von seiner Reise nach Westeuropa als erstes diese Tracht abzuschaffen strebte, so beseelte ihn dabei die Absicht, aus seinen Untertanen eine werktätige Bevölkerung im Sinne einer Nation zu bilden. Der erbitterte Kampf der Gegenseite für die überlieferte Kleidung war keineswegs sinnlos: Überall in der Kulturgeschichte zeigt sich, dass die Preisgabe der einheimischen Tracht schliesslich das Aussterben der überkommenen Denkart zur Folge hatte. Es zeugt deshalb von geringem historischem Verständnis, die Verteidiger von Kaftan und Bärten ins Lächerliche zu ziehen. Die altrussische Kleidung war für sie ein wirksames Symbol der Orthodoxie.

Peter anderseits würde man Unrecht tun, wollte man sein Vorgehen an heutigen Massstäben messen. Als Mensch des 17. Jahrhunderts hatte er keinen Sinn für das Organische in der geschichtlichen Entwicklung. Wer sich seinem Willen entgegenstellte, den zerschmetterte er. Die orthodoxe Kirche, den stärksten Wall gegen Neuerungen, schwächte er, indem er die Patriarchenwürde aufhob (1721) und durch den "Allerheiligsten Synod" ersetzte, eine Versammlung der höchsten kirchlichen Würdenträger. Seinen eigenen Sohn, Alexei, lockte er aus dem Ausland zurück, liess ihn unter nichtigen Vorwänden vor Gericht stellen und erbarmungslos hinrichten, da er Anhänger des Alten war.

PageTop