Albis Photo-Gallery
    • High Altai - Yurte - Ger - Tshum - Summerhouse




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


Text in German

  • Below you can see great examples - click on an icon - Enjoy! © Albi - Face Musc 2004

Tshum

Tshum

Tshum

Burjathouse

Summerhouse

Summerhouse

Summerhouse

Summerhouse

- see more information about - Monuments of Altaian peasant architecture
Development of nomadic dwellings

- first two rows:
- Tshum of the Tungus * (Tshum, a tent of nomadic peoples which can be quickly assembled and taken down and which can be easily transported; in former times it was coated with the bark of a tree, nowadays it is covered with animal skins).
- half-tshum
- Early nomadic period, approx. 6th century after Christ (with a filt coating made of sheep's wool).
- lowest row
- Modern construction of yurts = round tent or Mongolian = ger (dwelling or home of the nomads. A dwelling with a filt coating made from sheep's wool which can be quickly assembled and taken down and which can be easily transported). These traditional dwellings are not only typical for the Mongolian population, they are also used by all nomadic tribes in the entire area of Central Asia, in Southern Siberia and in the area up to the Great Wall. Since Modern Age, there have also existed summer houses that have been erected from wood by Turk tribes who have settled in Southern Siberia in the High-Altai area.
- *Tungus is an archaic name for the Evenks and, in part, for the Evenks; it denominates in general all peoples speaking the Manchurian-Tungusic language. It is, however, also a comprehensive term for all peoples, ethnic groups and groups of peoples whose ancestors used this language. They live in regionals groups or clans here and there in the Siberian Taiga (woodland) and the Tundra (treeless steppe beyond the Arctic treeline), and they are also called "the little people" in Siberia. They live from reindeer breeding, fishing and hunting. Also in Mongolia and in the People's Republic of China, there are some descendants of those Tungus people speaking the Manchurian-Tungusic language. Some of this nomads are still involved in reindeer breeding. In the Middle Siberian part of the grass land and in the mountain regions, the people even at that time pursued horse and cattle breeding.
The Evenks and the Tungus, respectively, populated great parts of Siberia in the 11th and 12th century.
Today their autonomous area is restricted to the tributary of the River Jenissey near the Rivers Lower Tunguska and the Stony Tunguska, a mountainous and sparcely populated mountain area in Central Siberia. Their religion is, apart from Buddhism, also strongly dominated by shamanism, the rites of which are nowadays in practice again. Here, the form of the shamanistic animism, this is, the belief in animate nature, hence the existence of spiritual beings, is cultivated. Contact with these beings is established by means of drums and speech songs.
Seating arrangement

Furniture


A Iron oven with outlet pipe
B Wooden chest for arming
C Low table for eating
D Stool
E Beds
F Storage chests
G Storage chest with altar thereon
H Cradle board for cooking utensils
I Water tank
J Leather bag for airag
K Rack for saddles

Interior design of a Kazakh ger - far right a "Kiis-Uj" - Kosh-Agach High-Altai


Construction elements of a Mongolian ger


Shell with worm fence

Pole for roof cornice

Stool

Door always to face South

Table

Buddhist shrine

Chest

- Mongolian ger impressions in the Czech Republic

Tungus Tshum (Urts)

up:
Seran - Poles, Framework of a tshum
below::
1. Togoo - Fire place (golomti) with transverse pole and attachment device (Ikeptun) for cauldron (toogois)
2. Malu - Seat of honour of the owner and his guests
3. Be - Place for family members
4. Tchona - Place for tools and devices
5. Urkh - Entrance, door opening
Kazakh Kiis-Uj

1. Upper ring, roof cornice
2. Detail of the support and ordering strips
3. Detail of the transverse strips to the cornice strips
4. Pattern of the upper ring for cover
5. Pattern of the ring to the order stripe
6. Pattern of the filt for side cover
7. Pattern of the upper cove
8. Shell of a "Kiis-Uj" - Yurt
9. General plan
Mongolian Ger

1. Upper ring, roof cornice (tonoo)
2. Brace to the roof cornice
3. Worm fence made from pliable wood
4. Door, always facing South
5. Bottom support for roof cornice
6. Floor made from wood or carpet
7. Upper cover, often several felt layers, according to weather, in winter up to four layers
8. Side cover
9. Cover of the upper aperture wreath
10.
Belt made from yak or camel hair
11. General plan
Further nomadic dwellings
Kohta - Cota - Sami tent. This is a round and transportable tent, the Lapp reindeer nomads use as site-independent dwelling. There are cotas for summer and for winter, respectively. They differ from each other in their use of materials, this is use of reindeer skins in summer and mud or stone in winter.
Tipi - Tent of the Red Indians in Northern America.
The Sacred Circle and the Ger (in Tengerism - Shamanism)

The ger (the original Mongolian term), or the yurt (in Russian), is the traditional dwelling of the Mongols and, in general, that of nomadic people in Central Asia. It is constructed of a framework made of poles (uni) radiating from a center smoke hole ring (toono), which is lashed on top of a circular latticework wall. Many Siberian tribes like the Tsataan, the Altai-Uryankhai and the Tungus (Evenks) are reindeer nomads who live in tshum, which is similar to the tipis or hooghan of the Navaho people in Southwestern North America. Anyway, orientation and symbolism of the ger are valid for all Mongolian groups. gers and tipis (yurts) are designed as to be easily assembled or taken down as the nomadic owner resumes his travel; the imagery and meaning of the ger, however, stays the same, no matter where it is being erected.

The ger is not only the center of the universe but also a microcosm within it. In fact, it is a map of the universe at large, and the vault of heaven is reflected in the arched shape of the interior of the ger roof.
The entrance is always to face South, since that is the front of the ger. The North side, also called the hoimor and located behind the fire, is the most honourable spot in the ger (place of the shrines - altars). It is here that the sacred objects, ongon spirit dwellings and other religious images are placed on a table or chest. The sitting place next to the hoimor is the most honoured place, and it is occupied by elders, chiefs, shamans, or other respected guests. The Western side on the right is the male side, and thus it constitutes the sitting place for men and storage place for men’s tools, saddles, bows, and guns. The left and Eastern side is the sitting place for the women, and it comprehends the storage area for cooking utensils, cradleboards, and other women’s objects. Since the Southern side is the least honoured spot, young people are usually seated on the Southern part of the left and right sides.

Movement is "sunwise", i.e. in a clockwise direction. The reason why this is regarded as the path of the sun becomes readily apparent if one watches the track traced by the circular patch of sunlight entering through the smokehole through the day. Whenever moving inside the ger, one must always move in a sunwise direction. This same movement is also required in shamanic dances, worship, and ritual.

The center of the ger is the most sacred place of all, the gal golomt, the place of the fire. It is the dwelling place of the daughter of Father Heaven, Golomt, and it is to be treated with utmost respect. As the ger is the center of the world, so the place of the fire is the center of the universe represented by the ger itself. The vertical axis represented by the column of smoke rising from the gal golomt also represents the World Tree which shamans ascend to the upper world, the smoke ring (toono) corresponds to the gateway to the upper world. In some shaman rituals, such as the initiation of shamans, a tree will actually be erected extending from beside the gal golomt to beyond the smokehole. As the shaman ascends the tree in his ecstatic state, he describes his journey to the upper world. Also, even in the absence of the toroo tree (birch or willow), the shaman will still travel to other worlds after exiting through the smoke hole, often after his spirit has metamorphosed into a bird.

The ger, therefore, can be seen as a parallel to the Native American medicine wheel, a physical representation of the sacred circle with a definite orientation towards the four directions and the universe at large. The circular pattern and alignment towards the four directions is also retained in outdoor shamanist ceremonies, such as the walking and dancing around the sacred ovoo (hill) cairns erected for the mountain spirits, or the yokhor dance (circle dance) around a toroo tree by means of which the dancers raise a spiral of energy to carry the shaman to the Heavens. Sunwise circular movement is also used in the dallaga blessing ceremony and in all types of shamanistic dances performed by the shaman.

- see more information about: Shamanism in Mongolia (Tengerism)
- see more information about yurts - project.yourtent.com
- see information about yurts in Scotland - highland yurts

PageTop

Albis Photo-Gallery
    • Hoch Altai - Jurte - Ger - Tschum - Sommerhaus




- Catalog (in stock)
- Back-Catalog
- Mail Order
- Online Order
- about Artists
- Sounds
- Workshops
- Instruments
- Projects
- History Face
- ten years 87-97
- Review Face

- Photos - Artists
- our friends
- Albis Face
- Albis - Photos
- Albis Work
- Links

- Home

- Contact

- Profil MySpace
- Profil YouTube
- Overton Network

P & C December 1998
- Face Music / Albi

- last update 03-2016


Text in German

  • Unten finden Sie grossartige Beispiele - Klicken Sie auf ein Icon - Geniessen Sie den Anblick! © Albi - Face Musc 2004

Tschum

Tschum

Tschum

Buriadhaus

Sommerhaus

Sommerhaus

Sommerhaus

Sommerhaus

- siehe Informationen über - Monuments of Altaian peasant architecture
Entwicklung der Nomadenbehausungen

erste zwei Reihen:
- Tschum der Tungusen* (Tschum, ein rasch auf- und abbaubares, leicht zu transportierendes Zelt der Nomadenvoelker, früher mit Baumrinde und heute mit Tierfellen überzogen).
- Halbtschum
- Frühnomadische Periode ca. 6. Jh. n. Chr.(mit Filzüberzug aus Schafwolle).
unterste Reihe:
- Neuzeitliche Konstruktion von Jurten = Rundzelt oder mongolisch = Ger (Heim oder Heimat der Nomaden. Eine rasch auf- und abbaubare und leicht transportierbare Behausung mit Filzüberzug aus Schafwolle). Diese traditionellen Behausungen werden nicht nur von den Mongolen, sondern von allen nomadisch lebenden Stämmen in ganz Mittleasien, in Südsibirien und bis zur Grossen Mauer verwendet. Seit der Neuzeit gibt es auch Sommerhäuser, die wie oben von sesshaft gewordenen Turkstämmen im südlichen Sibirien im Hoch-Altai aus Holz errichtet wurden.
- * Tungusen wird heute als eine veraltete Bezeichnung für die Ewenken und zum Teil der Ewenen verwendet, oder der Begriff bezeichnet allgemein alle Mandschu-Tungusich sprechenden Völker. Es ist auch eine zusammenfassende Bezeichnung für alle Völker, Ethnien und Völkergruppen bei denen diese Sprache in gebrauch gewesen war. Sie leben in regionalen Gruppen oder Clans verstreut in der sibirischen Taiga (Waldgebiet) und der Tundra (baumlose Steppe jenseits der Arktischen Baumgrenze) und werden in Sibirien "das kleines Volk" genannt. Man lebt von Rentierzucht, Fischfang und Jagd. Es gibt auch in der Mongolei und in der Volksrepublik China solche Mandschu-Tungusisch sprechende Nachkommen dieser Tungusen. Einige dieser nomadisch lebenden betreiben heute noch Rentierzucht. Im mittelsibirischen Teil im Grasland und in den Bergregionen betrieb man damals schon Pferde- und Viehzucht.
Die Ewenken bzw. Tungusen besiedelten einst im 11. und 12. Jahhundert weite Teile Sibiriens.
Heute ist ihr Autonomer Kreis auf die Nebenflüsse am Jenissey an der Unteren Tunguska und der Steinige Tunguska beschränkt. Ein gebirgiges dünn besiedeltes Bergland in Mittelsibirien. Ihre Religion ist neben Buddhismus auch stark vom Schamanismus geprägt, deren Rituale heute wieder praktiziert werden. Die Form des schamanischen Animismus, dem Glauben an eine beselte Natur, also an die Existenz von geistlichen Wesen, Der Kontakt zu ihnen wird durch Trommeln und Sprechgesang hervorgerufen.
Sitzordnung

Einrichtung


A Eisenofen mit Abzugsrohr
B Holzkiste zum Rüsten
C Niedriger Tisch zum Essen
D Hocker
E Betten
F Vorratstruhen
G Vorratstruhe mit Altar darauf
H Gestell für Küchengeräte
I Wasserkessel
J Ledersack für Airag
K Sattelständer

Innenaustattung eines Kasachischen Ger - ganz rechts ein "Kiis-Uj" - Kosch-Agasch Hoch Altai


Ausstattung eines Mongolischen Ger


Rohbau mit Scherengitter

Stütze für Dachkranz

Hocker

Türe immer gegen
Süden ausgerichtet

Tisch

Buddhist shrine (Altar)

Schrank / Truhe

- Eindrücke zum Aufbau der mongolischen Ger in der Tschechei

Tungusische Tschum (Urts)

oben:
Seran - Stangen, Gerippe eines Tschum
unten:
1. Togoo - Feuerstelle (Golomti) mit Querstange, bzw. Aufhängevorrichtung (Ikeptun) für Kessel (Togoois)
2. Malu - Ehrenplatz des Besitzers und seiner Gäste
3. Be - Platze für Mitglieder der Familie
4. Tschona - Platz für Werkzeug und Geräte
5. Urch - Eingang, Türöffnung
Kasachisches Kiis-Uj

1. oberer Ring, Dachkranz
2. Detail zur Stütz- und Ordnungsleisten
3. Detail der Querleisten zu Kranzstützen
4. Muster des oberen Ring zur Bedeckung
5. Muster des Reifen zur Ordnungsstüzte
6. Muster des Filz der Seitenbedeckung
7. Muster der obere Bedeckung
8. Rohbau eines "Kiis-Uj" - Jurte
9. allgemeine Ansicht
Mongolisches Ger

1. oberer Ring, Dachkranz (Tonoo)
2. Streben zum Dachkranz
3. Scherengitter aus biegsamen Holz
4. Türe, immer nach Süden ausgerichtet
5. Bodenstütze für Dachkranz
6. Fussboden aus Holz oder Teppiche
7. obere Bedeckung, oft mehrere Filzlagen,
je
nach Witterung, im Winter bis zu vier
Lagen
8. Seitenbedeckung
9. Bedeckung der oberen Oeffnungskranz
10.
Rieme aus, Yaks oder Kamelhaar
11. allgemeine Ansicht
Weitere Nomadenbehausungen
Kohta - Cota - Samische Zelt. Es handelt sich um ein rundes, transporfähiges Zelt, welches bei den Rentiernomaden Lapplands als standortunabhängige Behausung dient. Es gibt Sommer- und Wintercotas. Diese unterscheiden sich in der Verwendung der Materialien, als im Sommer Rentierfelle und im Winter Lehm oder Stein verwendet wird.
Tipi - Indianerzelt in Nordamerika
Der Heilige Kreis und das Ger (im Tengerismus - Schamanismus)

Die Ger (die ursprüngliche mongolische Bezeichnung), oder die Jurte (Russisch), ist die traditionelle Behausung der Mongolen und im Allgemeinen die Wohnung der Nomaden in Mittelasien. Sie besteht aus einem aus Pfählen (uni) gebildeten Rahmenwerk, das sich strahlenförmig von einem mittigen Rauchlochring (toono) erstreckt, der oben auf einer kreisförmigen Gitterwand festgezurrt ist. Viele sibirischen Stämme wie die Zataan, die Altai-Urianchai und die Tungusen (Ewenken) sind Rentiernomaden, die in einem Tschum, das dem Tipi oder Hooghan der Navahos im südwestlichen Nordamerika ähnlich ist, leben. Auf jeden Fall ist die Ausrichtung und Symbolik der Gers in allen mongolischen Gruppen dasselbe. Die Gers und Tipis (Jurten) sind so konzipiert, dass sie leicht zusammen- und abgebaut werden können, wenn die nomadischen Besitzer ihre Reise fortsetzen; die Metaphorik und Bedeutung der Gers bleibt aber immer gleich, egal, wo dieses aufgestellt wird.

Die Ger ist nicht nur das Zentrum des Universums sondern gleichzeitig auch ein Mikrokosmos darin. Tatsächlich ist die Ger eine Landkarte des Universums in der Gesamtheit, und das Himmelsgewölbe spiegelt sich in der gewölbten Form des inneren Gerdaches wider.

Der Eingang ist immer nach Süden ausgerichtet, da dieser in der Vorderseite der Gers liegt. Die Nordseite, die als hoimor bezeichnet wird und hinter der Feuerstelle liegt, ist der heiligste Platz im gesamten Ger (hier wird der Schrein - Altar aufgebaut). Hier werden die heiligen Gegenstände, ongon Geistbehausungen und andere religiöse Bilder auf einem Tisch oder eine Truhe aufgestellt. Der Sitzplatz neben der hoimor stellt den Ehrenplatz dar und steht den Älteren, Anführern, Schamanen und anderen Ehrengästen zur Verfügung. Der westliche Raum auf der rechten Seite ist die sogenannte männliche Seite: hier befindet sich der Sitzplatz für die Männer und die Lagerstätte für das Werkzeug der Männer, die Sättel, Bögen und Waffen. Die linke und östliche Seite ist der Sitzplatz für die Frauen, wozu auch die Lagerstätte für Kochutensilien, Hängegestelle und andere Gegenstände der Frauen gehört. Da die südliche Seite die am wenigsten ehrenwerte Stelle ist, nehmen die jungen Leute gewöhnlich ihren Sitzplatz im südlichen Teil der linken und rechten Seite ein.

Die Bewegung erfolgt im "Sonnenverlauf"; d.h. im Uhrzeigersinn. Der Grund, warum dies als Sonnenverlauf angesehen wird, wird offensichtlich, wenn man die Bahn verfolgt, die das Sonnenlicht, das durch das Rauchloch eintritt, während des Tages durchläuft. Bewegt man sich innerhalb des Gers, so muss die Bewegung immer in der Richtung des Sonnenverlaufs erfolgen. Die gleiche Bewegung ist auch in schamanistischen Tänzen, Gebeten und Ritualen zu befolgen, oder rund um den Owoo.

Die Germitte ist der heiligste Platz überhaupt, es ist dies der Platz des Feuers und wird als gal golomt bezeichnet. Es handelt sich hierbei um die Wohnstätte der Tochter des Vaterhimmels, Golomt, and muss mit grösstem Respekt behandelt werden. Da die Ger das Zentrum der Welt ist, stellt die Feuerstelle das Zentrum des durch das Ger selbst dargestellten Universums dar. Die durch die Rauchsäule, die vom gal golomt aufsteigt, gebildete vertikale Achse steht auch für den Weltenbaum, auf welchem Schamanen in die Oberwelt aufsteigen, während der Rauchring (toono) jenem Tor entspricht, das zur Oberwelt führt. In einigen Ritualen der Schamanen, so etwa in ihren Initiationsriten, wird tatsächlich ein Baum errichtet, der sich von der Seite nächst dem gal golomt über das Rauchloch hinweg erstreckt. Erklettert der Schamane in seinem Zustand der Ekstase den Baum, so beschreibt er damit seine Reise in die Oberwelt. Auch wenn es keinen toroo-Baum (Birke oder Weide) gibt, reist der Schamane dennoch in die anderen Welten, nachdem er durch das Rauchloch ausgetreten ist, oftmals nachdem sein Geist sich in einen Vogel verwandelt hat.

Die Ger kann somit als ein Parallelum zum Medizinrad der Ureinwohner Amerikas angesehen werden, es handelt sich dabei um eine bildliche Darstellung des geheiligten Kreises mit einer bestimmten Ausrichtung in die vier Himmelsrichtung und das Universum insgesamt. Das kreisförmige Muster und die Ausrichtung in die vier Himmelsrichtungen wird auch in schamanistischen Zeremonien im Freien beibehalten, wozu etwa das Gehen und Tanzen um die heiligen Steine Owoo (Hügel) herum, gehört, die für die Berggeister errichtet wurden, oder der yochor-Tanz (Kreistanz) um einen toroo-Baum, wodurch die Tänzer eine Energiespirale erzeugen, um den Schamanen in die Himmel zu heben. Die kreisförmige Bewegung im Sonnenverlauf wird auch in der Dallage-Segnungszeremonie sowie in allen Arten von Schamanentänzen des Schamanen eingesetzt.

- siehe mehr Informationen über: Shamanism in Mongolia (Tengerism)

PageTop